We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bernardus Lodge

Save Saved
You added Bernardus Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bernardus Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   415 West Carmel Valley Road, Carmel Valley, CA 93924   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
3rd Night FREE
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Carmel Valley
Pacific Grove, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Just home from a wonderful stay at Bernardus Lodge. We were guests at a beautiful wedding of friends. Everything was perfect.
Our room was large and comfortable. Had a treatment at the spa, (Michael gave a great deep tissue massage). Had dinner at Marinus Restaurant the food was fabulous the service great, plus excellent wine list.
Enjoyed sitting by the outside fireplace, after the wedding, with friends I had not seen in awhile.
Overall a very enjoyable stay and all 30 minutes from home:)

Room Tip: Room 28 overlooking the pool was great. Coffee on the balcony in the morning, lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex O, Manager at Bernardus Lodge, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful experience. Bernardus Lodge provides such a romantic venue for the wedding of your dreams and then the many anniversaries to follow. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the restaurant and spa during your visit. Being only 30 minutes away, you are a perfect candidate for a ‘Stay-Cation’. Join us again soon, the weather has been is AMAZING!

With a smile,
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    255
    56
    21
    9
    6
See reviews for
49
197
8
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We spent two nights at Bernardus as part of a trip giveaway my wife won on www.authenticluxurytravel.com. Everything about Bernardus is relaxing, from the entrance and greeting area, to the grounds and the room itself.

We stayed in Suite 16, overlooking the bocce lawn. Our room had a king bed, cafe table, sitting area with a fireplace, and a very large bathroom. It also had a very nice outdoor sitting area which was raised slightly above the lawn. Our room was probably a standard room, maybe a little higher, but it was wonderful. It came came stocked with a variety of snacks and several half bottles of wine, plus soft drinks and a carafe of drinking water.

Our package included dinner at Marinus, the upscale of the two restaurants on the grounds. Dinner was terrific; in fact, we never saw a menu. We were simply fed a selection of the chef's choice which included a crabmeat and beet salad, roasted duck breast, and a dessert. There were also a couple of amuse bouche between courses. While our dinner was included, we opted for the wine pairings which were $45 per person, but well worth it. The sommelier poured a different wine with each course, and explained each one. We enjoy wine, but never would've selected the wines or the pairings, yet we enjoyed them all.

On the day we left to return home, my wife and I each had massages at the Berandus spa. The massage was excellent, as was the spa itself. Before our appointments we were able to lounge in the heated pool, and were able to enjoy a sauna as well.

Bernardus is not inexpensive, but it a wonderful place to relax for a couple of days. It is also a nice change of pace from the also terrific village of Carmel-by-the-Sea.

Room Tip: We really liked the room overlooking the bocce lawn. For a little more privacy, ask for a room at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex O, Manager at Bernardus Lodge, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
What a great prize to win! I am happy that you enjoyed your stay. Our Premium Croquet rooms are the standard room, but very special as they offer the vaulted ceilings and sundrenched patio’s. They are a bit more social, but I enjoy them for it. I am very happy that you were able to enjoy the Chef’s tasting menu. Chef Cal really knows how to amaze our guests with the best ingredients the Monterey Peninsula has to offer and the most creative kitchen to support him. The massages on the day of departure is like a cherry on top, you really know how to travel!

Thank you for joining us,
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I have been a steady "resident" of Bernardus Lodge since it opened many years ago. Each room is beautiful and the pool and spa area are relaxing and peaceful. Both restaurants are fabulous and food is delicious and consistent. The grounds surrounding the resort are immaculate and the staff are caring and friendly. My love has been explained- My hate is their rates and their cancellation policy. The rates flux from the sublime to the ridiculous. In the summer when they are inundated by Hollywood visitors- rooms soar to over 1200 per night-in the fall when the simple folk return the rates return to a still hefty 500-600 night rate plus resort taxes. I still return since I am in love with this place and like with all love affairs-they are ups and downs in the relationships. BTW Room service is divine!

Room Tip: Get a room away from the pool if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We pulled up in the driveway to be greeted warmly, after obtaining a tag for the car we were advised to proceed to reception up the stairs, upon entering the building we were greeted and welcomed again warmly and offered a glass of "champagne" to drink while sitting, once ready, the staff showed us to our room and finished the check in process.

A tour of the property was offered and was very helpful in settling in.

The room was excellent, great fit out, very clean, good sized bathroom with a large separate bath. the extras were a very nice touch as other people have listed.

The pool area was nice. great steam room and sauna.

Lunch and breakfast in the courtyard area was delightful.

The stand out if I can even say that was the restaurant, the service from the moment you walked in to the quality of the food was outstanding.

The previous night we had dinner at the "French Laundry" in the Napa Valley, I know which restaurant deserves the "3 Michelin stars".

I can honestly say that this resort met and exceeded every thing we had hoped for.

In all our travels rarely have I found a property that has delivered in all aspects.

This property achieved a rare thing; great staff, clean and beautiful rooms and an in house restaurant that was beautiful to be in and delivered on every part of a dinner experience.

Thanks for being there, when we are next in the States you will be on our must do list.

Room Tip: We had a room to the side upstairs at the front, great view of the mountains and trees, very handy t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

My wife and I have enjoyed Bernardus several times. It never fails to relax us. from the moment you arrive you are well taken care of. The beauty of this location is the fact you are in the Carmel Valley away from the tourist in Carmel. There are great golfing opportunities just down the road. Who doesn't like room service - its quite good and prompt. Marinus Restaurant does live up to its reputation as being the best restaurant in Carmel. Well worth the cost - especially if you are staying at the lodge. Golf, swim, nap, get ready for dinner and walk 100 feet to a great dinning experience. We will go back - probably several more times - just doesn't get old.

Room Tip: the rooms bordering the croquet court are very nice and great people watching.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hungary
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

this hotel is so peaceful and relaxing, with very comfortable rooms and was much nicer than we expected and set in lovely grounds. There is a complimentary 'wine grotto' in the room, which includes wine, goats cheese, crackers, popcorn brownies, chips, etc. Spa quality toiletries. Beautiful spa and excellent food. There is a lovely outdoor fireplace to relax by after dinner, or petanqe if you feel more energetic. The staff are very warm and welcoming. We wouldn't heisitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and I had the pleasure to stay here during Labor Day Weekend. The service was top notch. They give you a glass of wine when you check in. Since it was our first time here, they give you a tour before escorting you to your room. I love when hotels do the check in procedures in the comforts of your room. We stayed in the luxury room which was overlooking the croquet lawn. We got lucky because it was a beautiful sunny weekend in Carmel Valley. The room was large with a gas fireplace. Also, we enjoyed the complimentary mini-bar which included 3 half-bottles of their wines. My husband and I plan to stay here again when we feel like just getting away. We booked a package for our room that came with breakfast. It was amazing how quick room service was. I also recommend dining at Marinus. It is an exceptional experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bernardus Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bernardus Lodge

Address: 415 West Carmel Valley Road, Carmel Valley, CA 93924
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carmel Valley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Carmel Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bernardus Lodge 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodge is widely recognized as one of the top winemaking estates in California. Founded by celebrated winemaker Bernardus Pon, the Lodge resembles a classic European country inn, with 57 suites, a luxurious spa, award-winning restaurant and the Bernardus Winery and Vineyard. For a relaxing getaway, an off-site retreat, or romantic wedding, discover why Bernardus has become the luxurious heart of Carmel Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LHW, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Bernardus Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bernardus Hotel Carmel Valley
Bernardus Carmel Lodge Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bernardus Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.