We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Love Hate Relationship with Bernardus Lodge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bernardus Lodge & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Bernardus Lodge & Spa to your Saves list
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   415 West Carmel Valley Road, Carmel Valley, CA 93924   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Breakfast for two
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Carmel Valley
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“My Love Hate Relationship with Bernardus Lodge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I have been a steady "resident" of Bernardus Lodge since it opened many years ago. Each room is beautiful and the pool and spa area are relaxing and peaceful. Both restaurants are fabulous and food is delicious and consistent. The grounds surrounding the resort are immaculate and the staff are caring and friendly. My love has been explained- My hate is their rates and their cancellation policy. The rates flux from the sublime to the ridiculous. In the summer when they are inundated by Hollywood visitors- rooms soar to over 1200 per night-in the fall when the simple folk return the rates return to a still hefty 500-600 night rate plus resort taxes. I still return since I am in love with this place and like with all love affairs-they are ups and downs in the relationships. BTW Room service is divine!

Room Tip: Get a room away from the pool if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    61
    27
    10
    8
See reviews for
52
215
9
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We pulled up in the driveway to be greeted warmly, after obtaining a tag for the car we were advised to proceed to reception up the stairs, upon entering the building we were greeted and welcomed again warmly and offered a glass of "champagne" to drink while sitting, once ready, the staff showed us to our room and finished the check in process.

A tour of the property was offered and was very helpful in settling in.

The room was excellent, great fit out, very clean, good sized bathroom with a large separate bath. the extras were a very nice touch as other people have listed.

The pool area was nice. great steam room and sauna.

Lunch and breakfast in the courtyard area was delightful.

The stand out if I can even say that was the restaurant, the service from the moment you walked in to the quality of the food was outstanding.

The previous night we had dinner at the "French Laundry" in the Napa Valley, I know which restaurant deserves the "3 Michelin stars".

I can honestly say that this resort met and exceeded every thing we had hoped for.

In all our travels rarely have I found a property that has delivered in all aspects.

This property achieved a rare thing; great staff, clean and beautiful rooms and an in house restaurant that was beautiful to be in and delivered on every part of a dinner experience.

Thanks for being there, when we are next in the States you will be on our must do list.

Room Tip: We had a room to the side upstairs at the front, great view of the mountains and trees, very handy t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

My wife and I have enjoyed Bernardus several times. It never fails to relax us. from the moment you arrive you are well taken care of. The beauty of this location is the fact you are in the Carmel Valley away from the tourist in Carmel. There are great golfing opportunities just down the road. Who doesn't like room service - its quite good and prompt. Marinus Restaurant does live up to its reputation as being the best restaurant in Carmel. Well worth the cost - especially if you are staying at the lodge. Golf, swim, nap, get ready for dinner and walk 100 feet to a great dinning experience. We will go back - probably several more times - just doesn't get old.

Room Tip: the rooms bordering the croquet court are very nice and great people watching.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hungary
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

this hotel is so peaceful and relaxing, with very comfortable rooms and was much nicer than we expected and set in lovely grounds. There is a complimentary 'wine grotto' in the room, which includes wine, goats cheese, crackers, popcorn brownies, chips, etc. Spa quality toiletries. Beautiful spa and excellent food. There is a lovely outdoor fireplace to relax by after dinner, or petanqe if you feel more energetic. The staff are very warm and welcoming. We wouldn't heisitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and I had the pleasure to stay here during Labor Day Weekend. The service was top notch. They give you a glass of wine when you check in. Since it was our first time here, they give you a tour before escorting you to your room. I love when hotels do the check in procedures in the comforts of your room. We stayed in the luxury room which was overlooking the croquet lawn. We got lucky because it was a beautiful sunny weekend in Carmel Valley. The room was large with a gas fireplace. Also, we enjoyed the complimentary mini-bar which included 3 half-bottles of their wines. My husband and I plan to stay here again when we feel like just getting away. We booked a package for our room that came with breakfast. It was amazing how quick room service was. I also recommend dining at Marinus. It is an exceptional experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Stayed here with family and had a great time. Lovely atmosphere and good food and wine. The place is perhaps a fraction dated but the welcome and ambience made it hardly matter. Would definitely return and against the odds it was the favourite hotel of my 6 year old son on our recent trip....

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

My 13 year old son and I stayed at the Bernardus Lodge. It was a spontaneous trip. Other hotels not available. The setting is beautiful. The service was amazing and the room we had was great. I am a vegan. The chef at the lodge not only accommodated me but gave me my own special menu with various vegan options. It is a 5 star resort and it did live up to what you would expect from a luxurious resort. My only negative comment about the resort is the fitness center. It is small with very limited equipment. Not up to the standards of the rest of the hotel. There were a few other families at the hotel, while my son and I had a great time I would REALLY recommend Bernardus for adults. Highly recommend for a romantic getaway. Would not recommend for families.

Room Tip: If you want to splurge. Ask for the room with the hot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bernardus Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bernardus Lodge & Spa

Address: 415 West Carmel Valley Road, Carmel Valley, CA 93924
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carmel Valley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Carmel Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bernardus Lodge & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodge is widely recognized as one of the top winemaking estates in California. Founded by celebrated winemaker Bernardus Pon, the Lodge resembles a classic European country inn, with 57 suites, a luxurious spa, award-winning restaurant and the Bernardus Winery and Vineyard. For a relaxing getaway, an off-site retreat, or romantic wedding, discover why Bernardus has become the luxurious heart of Carmel Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, T4B, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Bernardus Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bernardus Hotel Carmel Valley
Bernardus Carmel Lodge Valley
Bernardus Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bernardus Lodge & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.