We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“long week getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bernardus Lodge

Save Saved
You added Bernardus Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bernardus Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   415 West Carmel Valley Road, Carmel Valley, CA 93924   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
3rd Night FREE
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Carmel Valley
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“long week getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

My wife and I have enjoyed Bernardus several times. It never fails to relax us. from the moment you arrive you are well taken care of. The beauty of this location is the fact you are in the Carmel Valley away from the tourist in Carmel. There are great golfing opportunities just down the road. Who doesn't like room service - its quite good and prompt. Marinus Restaurant does live up to its reputation as being the best restaurant in Carmel. Well worth the cost - especially if you are staying at the lodge. Golf, swim, nap, get ready for dinner and walk 100 feet to a great dinning experience. We will go back - probably several more times - just doesn't get old.

Room Tip: the rooms bordering the croquet court are very nice and great people watching.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    256
    56
    23
    9
    7
See reviews for
50
200
8
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hungary
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

this hotel is so peaceful and relaxing, with very comfortable rooms and was much nicer than we expected and set in lovely grounds. There is a complimentary 'wine grotto' in the room, which includes wine, goats cheese, crackers, popcorn brownies, chips, etc. Spa quality toiletries. Beautiful spa and excellent food. There is a lovely outdoor fireplace to relax by after dinner, or petanqe if you feel more energetic. The staff are very warm and welcoming. We wouldn't heisitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and I had the pleasure to stay here during Labor Day Weekend. The service was top notch. They give you a glass of wine when you check in. Since it was our first time here, they give you a tour before escorting you to your room. I love when hotels do the check in procedures in the comforts of your room. We stayed in the luxury room which was overlooking the croquet lawn. We got lucky because it was a beautiful sunny weekend in Carmel Valley. The room was large with a gas fireplace. Also, we enjoyed the complimentary mini-bar which included 3 half-bottles of their wines. My husband and I plan to stay here again when we feel like just getting away. We booked a package for our room that came with breakfast. It was amazing how quick room service was. I also recommend dining at Marinus. It is an exceptional experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Stayed here with family and had a great time. Lovely atmosphere and good food and wine. The place is perhaps a fraction dated but the welcome and ambience made it hardly matter. Would definitely return and against the odds it was the favourite hotel of my 6 year old son on our recent trip....

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

My 13 year old son and I stayed at the Bernardus Lodge. It was a spontaneous trip. Other hotels not available. The setting is beautiful. The service was amazing and the room we had was great. I am a vegan. The chef at the lodge not only accommodated me but gave me my own special menu with various vegan options. It is a 5 star resort and it did live up to what you would expect from a luxurious resort. My only negative comment about the resort is the fitness center. It is small with very limited equipment. Not up to the standards of the rest of the hotel. There were a few other families at the hotel, while my son and I had a great time I would REALLY recommend Bernardus for adults. Highly recommend for a romantic getaway. Would not recommend for families.

Room Tip: If you want to splurge. Ask for the room with the hot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, MS
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Had a most pleasant stay at Bernardus Lodge in Carmel Valley. Top drawer in every respect. Wish I could live there! Spa was exceptional...all staff most helpful, pleasant and friendly. Room was large with gas fireplace and complimentary mini-bar including some Bernardus wine. Lovely deck off room was perfect place to sit outside overlooking pool and drink wine Grounds are lovely. A truly exceptional place...worth every penny! I hope to be back many, many times!

Room Tip: We loved our room which I think was a St. Lucia, but every room I saw was great. No bad rooms here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Very welcoming, great hospitality and personalised service. Very beautiful rooms/cottages with fireplace. Excellent sleeping comfort, Beautiful spa and pool area. Restaurant is the best there is in the direct surrounding. Very nice surrounding Carmen Valley.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bernardus Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bernardus Lodge

Address: 415 West Carmel Valley Road, Carmel Valley, CA 93924
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carmel Valley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Carmel Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bernardus Lodge 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodge is widely recognized as one of the top winemaking estates in California. Founded by celebrated winemaker Bernardus Pon, the Lodge resembles a classic European country inn, with 57 suites, a luxurious spa, award-winning restaurant and the Bernardus Winery and Vineyard. For a relaxing getaway, an off-site retreat, or romantic wedding, discover why Bernardus has become the luxurious heart of Carmel Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LHW, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Bernardus Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bernardus Hotel Carmel Valley
Bernardus Carmel Lodge Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bernardus Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.