We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of the Best at Bernardus” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bernardus Lodge & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Bernardus Lodge & Spa to your Saves list
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   415 West Carmel Valley Road, Carmel Valley, CA 93924   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th night free
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Carmel Valley
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Jackson, MS
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best of the Best at Bernardus”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Had a most pleasant stay at Bernardus Lodge in Carmel Valley. Top drawer in every respect. Wish I could live there! Spa was exceptional...all staff most helpful, pleasant and friendly. Room was large with gas fireplace and complimentary mini-bar including some Bernardus wine. Lovely deck off room was perfect place to sit outside overlooking pool and drink wine Grounds are lovely. A truly exceptional place...worth every penny! I hope to be back many, many times!

Room Tip: We loved our room which I think was a St. Lucia, but every room I saw was great. No bad rooms here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    64
    26
    13
    9
See reviews for
56
223
11
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Very welcoming, great hospitality and personalised service. Very beautiful rooms/cottages with fireplace. Excellent sleeping comfort, Beautiful spa and pool area. Restaurant is the best there is in the direct surrounding. Very nice surrounding Carmen Valley.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

The bones of the hotel are good, but the experience is marred by dated decor, some of it truly ugly (I'm talking window treatments, shower curtain frou-frou,etc.). Our room was spacious and well-proportioned, but tired. The plantings by our outdoor hot tub were just pathetic, and the faded signs by the hot tub (which date from another millenium) were full of typos. At these prices, details matter. Somebody needs to pay attention; a cosmetic upgrade is overdue.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights and had a fabulous, very relaxing time. The rooms are well appointed and we had a spacious, airy suite with a large, shady balcony. The public areas are very attractive and extremely well maintained. At teh time of our visit the occupancy seemed rather low so the pool was nice and quiet. The hotel has quite a diverse staff and they are all very friendly as highly professional. The spa is fabulous and the treatments were excellent.
We had lunch and dinner at Wickets. The lunch was great with very good food and faultless service but the dinner was mildly disappointing....the service was quite slow and not quite as attentive as lunch and the shaved truffle pizza was not well cooked for the price and came without some of the ingredients. Room service breakfast was awesome.
Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely be back.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I booked a room the day before arrival and tried on the phone to book a dinner/stay package and co-ordinate with dinner reservations. The reservations person said the package was unavailable, so I said thank you, hung up and checked on-line again, and lo and behold, I could book the package for that night, even with the short notice.

The room was lovely (don’t expect ultra-modern) – but it was quiet, clean, and very comfortable! We were only there for one night this time, but I’d be pleased to stay there again on our next trip to Carmel Valley.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Family of four stayed at Bernardus Lodge for one night and, whilst room was nice, the amenities and services were not as expected for a "luxury" hotel, especially the lack of reception space/relaxing seats at night; the bar is basic to say the least and a part of the restaurant area.

The hotel is overpriced and, although the receptionist was very welcoming, many of the staff seemed uninterested and more interested in soliciting tips despite an "all inclusive" resort fee. These resort fees are an increasing part of hotel pricing but tips still expected - why?

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotts Valley, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a 1 night stay at Bernardus. I can't believe we have lived in the area for 20 years and have never been there. From the moment we arrived we were treated exceptional. Tim from valet greeted us with a smile and remembered our name the following day. We loved the attention to details they took at the hotel. Our only regret was not staying 2 nights.

Room-The bed was very comfortable. Loved all the amenities in the room. We enjoyed the complementary wine and cheese. The view of the Carmel Valley was beautiful.

Check In- Very personal. Greeted us with a smile. They offer you a glass of wine right when you walk in. They showed us around the property and walked us to our room.

Spa-Very nice!! One of the best massages we have ever had. Every amenity in the spa you can think of. Visiting the spa is a must!

Gym-small but nice. They had a little of everything, including headphones and bottles of water.

Pool area- We didn't have time to use it, but it looked nice. Large pool, lots of lounge chairs, cabanas & bar.

Food- Marinus was closed. We did enjoy Wickets for breakfast and a afternoon snack. Very delicious. For dinner we ate in town at a restaurant called, Corkscrew. We LOVED it!! Great food & service. Make sure to try the lemon meyer pizza.

Grounds-Very beautiful! Nice fire place to have a drink by. Large grass area to play croquet and bocce ball on.

WE HIGHLY RECOMMEND BERNARDUS. WE WILL DEFINITELY WE BE RETURNING SOON!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bernardus Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bernardus Lodge & Spa

Address: 415 West Carmel Valley Road, Carmel Valley, CA 93924
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carmel Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Carmel Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bernardus Lodge & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Majestic, pastoral and artistic, there's no place like Carmel Valley. And there's no better way to tap into the small-town charms than at Bernardus Lodge & Spa-an indulgent 28-acre escape. Tucked away among rolling vineyards and gardens, Bernardus invites you to savor the intimacy of a boutique resort with an epicurean spirit and a soothing soul. Retreat to the warmth of an old friend's rustic-chic ranch estate, where high-touch service welcomes you home. Here's your chance to unplug, unwind and savor time well spent, whether it's pursuing a new interest or perfecting the art of basking in the warm Carmel Valley sun. Stroll our organic chef's garden and watch a true garden-to-table experience. Grab a gourmet basket and find a picnic-perfect spot with your partner. Share a glass of Pinot. Dabble in Carmel Valley's endless pursuits, all curated by our local staff for the ultimate insider's experience. Then sink into the cozy furnishings of a redesigned guestroom open to the outdoors. Relax, reflect, rejuvenate and breathe deep. Bernardus captures the magic of Carmel-and the memories that matter most. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Bernardus Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bernardus Hotel Carmel Valley
Bernardus Carmel Lodge Valley
Bernardus Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bernardus Lodge & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.