We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Stunning.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bernardus Lodge

Save Saved
You added Bernardus Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bernardus Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   415 West Carmel Valley Road, Carmel Valley, CA 93924   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
3rd Night FREE
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Carmel Valley
Boise, Idaho
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Absolutely Stunning.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Just came back from a lovely stay on the Monterey Peninsula. Bernardus being one of our stops. We went for a wedding. We went with a dear friend who was a part of the team that designed it. So we were able to learn all the back stories about why they chose e-v-e-r-y little detail. Fascinating. We enjoyed every aspect of the place. The staff and amenities were equally amazing. Wedding was stunning. I recommend when you come here to remember it is to relax. You need to stay on the resort to get the whole experience. Marinus has won too many awards to mention and deserve their high Zagat score. Wine collection off the charts. The rooms are very tasteful and good in size. There were 3 different Bernardus wine bottle for free as well as gourmet goodies and camembert cheese and crackers in our room as well as fresh fruit and waters, juices and sodas. They do not nickle and dime you here. A fire place and huge soaker tub that fills up in 40 seconds. Like I said, it's the details in this place. Apparently, we just missed Bradley Cooper and Leonardo DiCaprio is a regular.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    57
    25
    9
    7
See reviews for
50
205
8
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Although I live at the mouth of Carmel Valley, not far from the Bernardus Resort, I had the opportunity to stay at the hotel the night my niece had her wedding reception there in May 2013. The staff and facilities are excellent....loved the amenities included as well as the quality of the room's furnishings and linens. Wonderful food and wine and the wedding coordinator and her staff did an excellent job as the function went off without any problems that I could see. Loved how the servers came out in a line, surrounded one table at a time and then placed the plates in unison......fabulous!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

What can I say except that this is the place to go if you are looking for exceptional service and food. Once you get to your hotel there was a basket of goodies already waiting for use compliments of the hotel. Service was great, everyone was very friendly and helpful. Valet there is great! The guys Tim and Rich always remember our name. Food here is out of this world, very clean and fresh. I don't think there is one bad thing on the menu at all and I tried everything. Very pet friendly as well. The only downside was the bed, wish it was more comfortable, Bernadus Lodge you guys should check out Four Seasons bed!

Room Tip: Pet friendly, 54 rooms, heated pool, 10 minutes up hill from Carmel-by-the-Sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

My wife an myself spent only 2 nights at the fantastic Bernardus Lodge from April, 22nd to April 24 th 2013.

At first we were a little disappointed as we thought the Hotel would be located in Carmel. But at a second sight we really enjoyed the calm of Carmel Valley. Whe Carmel itself comes to a foggy small town around 4 PM - you stull can go back to Carmel Valley - 15 minutes by car - an install youselt next to the pool an enjoy the rest of the day.

The welcome to the Hotel was charming - the guys from the valet service were fantastic. Breakfast was great- We did not eat at the lodge preferring to gou out to Carmel village. But the menu looked great an accordingly to what other guests said the food et the lodge was fantastic.

If I ever go back to CA the lodge is an adress I will not miss.

Room Tip: room 17 ist great an located just adjacent to the cricket field
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma,CA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This was our second time at Bernardus and we had a wondrful time. We booked a romantic weekend package and it was great, started with a wine and rose pedal bath on arrival and a couples spa treatment on Saturday. The massages were fantastic!! We will be back again soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, NC
Top Contributor
286 reviews 286 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I booked room six at the Bernardus Lodge as a surprise for my wife on our two week vacation of Northern California. This room is absolutley beautiful. It has a King bed, large seating area, beautiful bathroom with two person shower and two person soaking tub. It has a fireplace and the room comes stocked with wine and snacks as part of the rate. However, the coolest thing about this suite is that it has a beautiful outdoor private patio and garden with an in-ground hot tub. We stayed here for two nights and we didn't want to leave the room / hot tub. When we did leave the room, the employees were out of this world friendly and helpful.

On our first day, we enjoyed an 80 minute couples massage which was great. The spa, while a little small is very well appointed, with a warming pool, a nice waiting area with fireplace and nice amenities. A little later, nod-nod, wink-wink, my wife and I dined in Marinus, the fine dining restaurant. We enjoyed the tasting menu paired with wine. It was amazing. I would place it just a hair below the French Laundry, where we dined last week. However, the price was a third of the French Laundry.

During our stay, we ate lunch and breakfast at the casual restaurant-Wickets and both were great. We worked out in the fitness center both mornings and it was adequate for us but small. If crowded, we never would have been able to get on the equipment. The pool area is nice and they also have Bocce and croquet.

This was ana amzing property and we will stay again.

Room Tip: Choose room six!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringwood, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

This property is a hidden gem. A very small, 57 rooms, hotel that is quiet and relaxing. A short ride to Pebble Beach or downtown Carmel. Rooms were beautiful and nicely decorated. The staff was friendly and at your disposal for anything you would need. We had dinner and it was very good and different. Not your normal menu but a variety of different dishes you would not normally see. Not a place for kids which makes it extra nice if you are there to rest and enjoy peace and quiet.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bernardus Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bernardus Lodge

Address: 415 West Carmel Valley Road, Carmel Valley, CA 93924
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carmel Valley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Carmel Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bernardus Lodge 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodge is widely recognized as one of the top winemaking estates in California. Founded by celebrated winemaker Bernardus Pon, the Lodge resembles a classic European country inn, with 57 suites, a luxurious spa, award-winning restaurant and the Bernardus Winery and Vineyard. For a relaxing getaway, an off-site retreat, or romantic wedding, discover why Bernardus has become the luxurious heart of Carmel Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LHW, Jetsetter, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Bernardus Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bernardus Hotel Carmel Valley
Bernardus Carmel Lodge Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bernardus Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;