We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite resort in a lovely setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bernardus Lodge & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Bernardus Lodge & Spa to your Saves list
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   415 West Carmel Valley Road, Carmel Valley, CA 93924   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Breakfast for two
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Carmel Valley
Falls Church, VA
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Exquisite resort in a lovely setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

If you want to pamper yourself or a loved one, this is the place! As soon as you enter the grounds, everything is taken care of by the friendly, efficient and unobtrusive staff. Your car and luggage disappear, only to reappear when you want them; a glass of excellent chilled wine is presented as you enter the warm and welcoming lobby. The guest rooms are spacious and comfortable, with gas fireplaces and luxurious baths, and ample sitting areas, both indoors and out. The spa includes a large outdoor heated pool and soaking tub, saunas, steam rooms and a comfortable sitting area complete with wood fire and light nibbles. The main dining room is a beautiful Mexican colonial style with large fireplace and views over the gardens. There are also outdoor areas for dining, croquet and bocce. A wonderful alternative to congested, over-built Carmel, and only a few miles away!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    61
    27
    10
    8
See reviews for
51
215
9
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed for 2 days in February. The hotel is laid out in multiple small blocks of rooms. There is a central block with reception and two restaurants, the best of which is really fantastic. The rooms were excellent and the service was superb. The only important thing to know is that Bernadus is approximately 10 miles inland from Carmel/Monterey. This is not too much of a problem as everyone has cars but it adds to every day's travel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We've been to Carmel Valley many times previously but we have never had the pleasure of staying at such a great establishment. From the moment we arrived all of our cares went to the wind. As we were escorted to the lobby, we were greeted with a refreshing glass of white wine. After relaxing in the lobby for a few minutes, Sydney offered to take us on a tour of the resort and our final destination being our luxurious room.

Throughout the property tour Sydney was very informative, gracious, and sincere. She explained all of the amenities on property. When we reached the room Sydney discussed all of the room items and informed us that all of the items in the wine grotto were complimentary. Which is a PLUS!!! There were 3 half bottles of wine (pinot noir, chardonnay, and their Marinus), also many treats to snack on. There was even lavender bath salts in the room. They have truly thought of everything.

The first night we stayed on property and dined at Wickets, which is delicious by the way. We were disappointed that Marinus was closed, but Wickets was perfect for the night. The following we wanted to dine in town. Sydney had recommended Cantinetta Luca in Carmel by the sea, she took care of our reservation - everything was seamless.

Overall we had an amazing escape from our busy day to day lives. This truly is a refuge for anyone in need of relaxation. The staff is amazing and truly caters to your every need, especially Sydney.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa barbara
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Second time staying here and it was as good as the first. Our suite had a patio with jacuzzi, great sitting area, very comfortable bed and great bathroom. Service was excellant. Did not use the spa this time but did use the gym which was basic but good. If I could eat their french fries every single day... I would be happy and dead within a year. They are that good. The grounds are beautiful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayucos California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We have been staying at Bernardus Lodge for at least 8 years and alway's enjoy our stay! From check in to check out our experience has been great! I own a Triple AAA 4 Diamond Bed and Breakfast on the central coast and love to stay at properties of the caliber and love it so much that it is my husband and I's secret getaway or so I want to think it is a secret but cannot be kept so because it is to fabulous to not share with others! When you are in the business of pampering it is so nice to be pampered back! Thank you so much for taking such good care of us all these years!

Room Tip: We like the upstairs rooms or if you are inclined to really splurge the 200 rooms with outdoor jacuz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Having stayed at this lodge a few years ago, I`d almost forgot how special and classy it is until returning recently. The rooms are exquisitely appointed and supplied with quality amenities that are not usually found in high end resorts. The foyer has a copper covered bar with a spacious under the counter refrigerator stocked with cheese, white wine and fruit juices. Filtered water and 2 bottles of red wines with wine glasses are on the counter along with bags of potato chips, popcorn and sweets, al complimentary. The bathrooms are large with double sinks, a large jacuzzi tub, separate shower area and separate toilet. The bathroom amenities are of the highest quality. The large bedroom/ living room area has a fireplace, seating area with a sofa and swivel chair, flat screen TV and a table for 2 with fresh fruit. Their is an outside private patio with wooden chairs and tables. Quality robes and slippers are also provided.
It does not get much better than this and there is more. The lodge itself is classy, has wines, fruit and comfy seating areas. The staff is very friendly and service minded. The dinning areas both inside and out are perfect settings for the quality dinning offered from a top chef, Cal Stamenov who is as good as they come.
The lawn has croquet set up and their is a tennis court. Hiking is also an option.
Located in the quiet and peaceful Carmel Valley 11 miles from Carmel, this is a retreat for those desiring to have a class, country romantic experience.

Room Tip: There are different configurations of the many units, some one ground level and some on bi-levels...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We have just returned from a three night stay and had a great time! The weather was perfect and even allowed for lounging by the pool.

our room could have used a refresh...but was comfortable and spacious. The food is expensive but good especially the mushroom pizza - the best! The fire on the lobby is so welcoming and cozy.

Yes this place is expensive but look for special deals that make the nightly rate much more reasonable. Ask when you make your reservation.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bernardus Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bernardus Lodge & Spa

Address: 415 West Carmel Valley Road, Carmel Valley, CA 93924
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carmel Valley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Carmel Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bernardus Lodge & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodge is widely recognized as one of the top winemaking estates in California. Founded by celebrated winemaker Bernardus Pon, the Lodge resembles a classic European country inn, with 57 suites, a luxurious spa, award-winning restaurant and the Bernardus Winery and Vineyard. For a relaxing getaway, an off-site retreat, or romantic wedding, discover why Bernardus has become the luxurious heart of Carmel Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Bernardus Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bernardus Hotel Carmel Valley
Bernardus Carmel Lodge Valley
Bernardus Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bernardus Lodge & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.