We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it -- great weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bernardus Lodge & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Bernardus Lodge & Spa to your Saves list
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   415 West Carmel Valley Road, Carmel Valley, CA 93924   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Carmel Valley
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved it -- great weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Was in town for a wedding in Carmel and had a great stay at Bernardus. Very much enjoyed the room, service, complimentary wine and snacks in the room, spa, workout and hot tub area and eating at Marinus. Very peaceful and also close to a few nice tasting rooms.

Room Tip: Expensive but worth the extra $$
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    71
    28
    14
    9
See reviews for
62
259
12
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grapevine, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

The Bernardus is amazing. It really is as good as it gets.
The grounds are amazing. The vineyards greet you as you drive in. Lavender is planted everywhere giving the grounds a subtle but really nice aroma. The bocce and croquet courts are alot of fun.
Everything is top notch. The service was out of this world. The spa is really nice. The food is delicious. The rooms quiet and comfortable.
How many hotels do you visit where the concierge greets you by name when you arrive, pours you a glass of wine, and then gives you a tour of the property while the valet is taking everything to your room for you? Service is really their thing.
I definitely want to go back. A truly great place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We booked over Thanksgiving to get away from it all and explore the area. Bernardus fit the bill in terms of location and we got a nice deal on the room.

Pros: The room! We had a standard room with a fireplace (it's gas so more for show than heat) and a super comfy bed. It was so glorious to sleep for ages... some of the best sleep I've ever had. The housekeeping was so prompt and efficient - we had turn down service and our room made up quickly every day. The bathtub could also fit about 4 people. Fabulous for unwinding! Also, the service from the concierge was helpful and friendly.

Cons: the food. I had wished for so much more and better... but it disappointed at every turn. Service was slow (I mean, slllloooowwwww), not attentive to details (we sat for 45 mins during the $75pp buffet with no water) and disappointing. And, the food did not make up for it. It was average at best. We ate some dinners in the valley and in Carmel by the Sea and were very pleased.

Basically - I loved everything about the place except the meals. Just go out to eat and it likely would've gotten 5 stars by me!

Tip: avoid the $150 Leaders Club pitch. Internet is provided for free and breakfast credit is not worth it.

Tip #2: free parking was a plus!

Room Tip: get a "top" floor - really only two stories in the bigger buildings - as you can hear ever...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
85 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Every year one of the consultant's my wife works with has a two day retreat at the Bernardus, and almost every year we are able to attend. The Bernardus Lodge is elegant and rustic at the same time, with beautiful rooms, incredible grounds, outstanding food and highly attentive staff. And tips are all included and they fill your room with a collection of goodies that are all included and you can take home whatever you want. And last year they started taking small dogs and our little Havanese finally got to check out one of our favorite hotels. And they pampered him just like they do with us. An outstanding hotel!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This is our second stay at Bernardus and we just love it here. Everyone is very friendly and relaxed here. Keep your eye out for specials they offer periodically. We were able to take advantage of the third night is free offer which made it even more enjoyable for us. It's one the finest country lodges we have had the occasion to stay and enjoy. The restaurants are also exceptional. Marinus of course is fine dining with a great tasting menu. Wickets is also very popular and has great food too.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
318 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

What a wonderful place! We arrived on a cold, rainy night and were greeted with a friendly welcome and offer for a glass of their vintage wine. How civilized! The lodge feels and smells like a quaint mountain ski lodge, with aromatic woods on the fire and lots of lavendar about the grounds. They offer a grounds tour when you arrive or at your convenience. There is also a vineyard tour.
The grounds consist of pools, bocce and croquet fields, flower and vegetable gardens and the vineyards. This was a business trip, but spouses were mostly there also. What a great time!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This is an amazing property about 10 miles from the village. The rooms are spectacular -- spacious, luxurious, thoughtfully appointed. The beds are wonderful, the natural gas fireplace is cozy. We also had a private hot tub, which was a nice treat. However, you pay for all this luxury! As nice as it is, I don't think it is worth the cost. Housekeeping was a bit spotty -- at one point they took one of our two coffee cups and it never returned. They also never replenished the in-room coffee. I'm sure we could have called the front desk and it would have appeared at our door in less than five minutes, but should we really have to?? Also, the food and service in Wickets Restaurant was only average. The portions were over-sized and so were the prices.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carmel Valley
10.2 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 467 reviews
9.0 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#11 of 23 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,289 reviews
5.8 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
18.9 mi away
Ventana Inn & Spa
Ventana Inn & Spa
#2 of 8 in Big Sur
4.5 of 5 stars 839 reviews
2.8 mi away
Carmel Valley Ranch
Carmel Valley Ranch
#3 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bernardus Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bernardus Lodge & Spa

Address: 415 West Carmel Valley Road, Carmel Valley, CA 93924
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carmel Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Carmel Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bernardus Lodge & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Majestic, pastoral and artistic, there's no place like Carmel Valley. And there's no better way to tap into the small-town charms than at Bernardus Lodge & Spa-an indulgent 28-acre escape. Tucked away among rolling vineyards and gardens, Bernardus invites you to savor the intimacy of a boutique resort with an epicurean spirit and a soothing soul. Retreat to the warmth of an old friend's rustic-chic ranch estate, where high-touch service welcomes you home. Here's your chance to unplug, unwind and savor time well spent, whether it's pursuing a new interest or perfecting the art of basking in the warm Carmel Valley sun. Stroll our organic chef's garden and watch a true garden-to-table experience. Grab a gourmet basket and find a picnic-perfect spot with your partner. Share a glass of Pinot. Dabble in Carmel Valley's endless pursuits, all curated by our local staff for the ultimate insider's experience. Then sink into the cozy furnishings of a redesigned guestroom open to the outdoors. Relax, reflect, rejuvenate and breathe deep. Bernardus captures the magic of Carmel-and the memories that matter most. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Orbitz, Odigeo, Otel, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Bernardus Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bernardus Hotel Carmel Valley
Bernardus Carmel Lodge Valley
Bernardus Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bernardus Lodge & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.