We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it -- great weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bernardus Lodge

Save Saved
You added Bernardus Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bernardus Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   415 West Carmel Valley Road, Carmel Valley, CA 93924   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
3rd Night FREE
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Carmel Valley
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Loved it -- great weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Was in town for a wedding in Carmel and had a great stay at Bernardus. Very much enjoyed the room, service, complimentary wine and snacks in the room, spa, workout and hot tub area and eating at Marinus. Very peaceful and also close to a few nice tasting rooms.

Room Tip: Expensive but worth the extra $$
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    253
    55
    20
    8
    5
See reviews for
46
194
8
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grapevine, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

The Bernardus is amazing. It really is as good as it gets.
The grounds are amazing. The vineyards greet you as you drive in. Lavender is planted everywhere giving the grounds a subtle but really nice aroma. The bocce and croquet courts are alot of fun.
Everything is top notch. The service was out of this world. The spa is really nice. The food is delicious. The rooms quiet and comfortable.
How many hotels do you visit where the concierge greets you by name when you arrive, pours you a glass of wine, and then gives you a tour of the property while the valet is taking everything to your room for you? Service is really their thing.
I definitely want to go back. A truly great place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We booked over Thanksgiving to get away from it all and explore the area. Bernardus fit the bill in terms of location and we got a nice deal on the room.

Pros: The room! We had a standard room with a fireplace (it's gas so more for show than heat) and a super comfy bed. It was so glorious to sleep for ages... some of the best sleep I've ever had. The housekeeping was so prompt and efficient - we had turn down service and our room made up quickly every day. The bathtub could also fit about 4 people. Fabulous for unwinding! Also, the service from the concierge was helpful and friendly.

Cons: the food. I had wished for so much more and better... but it disappointed at every turn. Service was slow (I mean, slllloooowwwww), not attentive to details (we sat for 45 mins during the $75pp buffet with no water) and disappointing. And, the food did not make up for it. It was average at best. We ate some dinners in the valley and in Carmel by the Sea and were very pleased.

Basically - I loved everything about the place except the meals. Just go out to eat and it likely would've gotten 5 stars by me!

Tip: avoid the $150 Leaders Club pitch. Internet is provided for free and breakfast credit is not worth it.

Tip #2: free parking was a plus!

Room Tip: get a "top" floor - really only two stories in the bigger buildings - as you can hear ever...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Every year one of the consultant's my wife works with has a two day retreat at the Bernardus, and almost every year we are able to attend. The Bernardus Lodge is elegant and rustic at the same time, with beautiful rooms, incredible grounds, outstanding food and highly attentive staff. And tips are all included and they fill your room with a collection of goodies that are all included and you can take home whatever you want. And last year they started taking small dogs and our little Havanese finally got to check out one of our favorite hotels. And they pampered him just like they do with us. An outstanding hotel!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This is our second stay at Bernardus and we just love it here. Everyone is very friendly and relaxed here. Keep your eye out for specials they offer periodically. We were able to take advantage of the third night is free offer which made it even more enjoyable for us. It's one the finest country lodges we have had the occasion to stay and enjoy. The restaurants are also exceptional. Marinus of course is fine dining with a great tasting menu. Wickets is also very popular and has great food too.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

What a wonderful place! We arrived on a cold, rainy night and were greeted with a friendly welcome and offer for a glass of their vintage wine. How civilized! The lodge feels and smells like a quaint mountain ski lodge, with aromatic woods on the fire and lots of lavendar about the grounds. They offer a grounds tour when you arrive or at your convenience. There is also a vineyard tour.
The grounds consist of pools, bocce and croquet fields, flower and vegetable gardens and the vineyards. This was a business trip, but spouses were mostly there also. What a great time!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This is an amazing property about 10 miles from the village. The rooms are spectacular -- spacious, luxurious, thoughtfully appointed. The beds are wonderful, the natural gas fireplace is cozy. We also had a private hot tub, which was a nice treat. However, you pay for all this luxury! As nice as it is, I don't think it is worth the cost. Housekeeping was a bit spotty -- at one point they took one of our two coffee cups and it never returned. They also never replenished the in-room coffee. I'm sure we could have called the front desk and it would have appeared at our door in less than five minutes, but should we really have to?? Also, the food and service in Wickets Restaurant was only average. The portions were over-sized and so were the prices.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bernardus Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bernardus Lodge

Address: 415 West Carmel Valley Road, Carmel Valley, CA 93924
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carmel Valley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Carmel Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bernardus Lodge 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodge is widely recognized as one of the top winemaking estates in California. Founded by celebrated winemaker Bernardus Pon, the Lodge resembles a classic European country inn, with 57 suites, a luxurious spa, award-winning restaurant and the Bernardus Winery and Vineyard. For a relaxing getaway, an off-site retreat, or romantic wedding, discover why Bernardus has become the luxurious heart of Carmel Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LHW, Booking.com, Jetsetter, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Bernardus Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bernardus Hotel Carmel Valley
Bernardus Carmel Lodge Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bernardus Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.