We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic and Now they take Dogs!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bernardus Lodge

Save Saved
You added Bernardus Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bernardus Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   415 West Carmel Valley Road, Carmel Valley, CA 93924   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
3rd Night FREE
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Carmel Valley
Santa Barbara, California
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Fantastic and Now they take Dogs!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Every year one of the consultant's my wife works with has a two day retreat at the Bernardus, and almost every year we are able to attend. The Bernardus Lodge is elegant and rustic at the same time, with beautiful rooms, incredible grounds, outstanding food and highly attentive staff. And tips are all included and they fill your room with a collection of goodies that are all included and you can take home whatever you want. And last year they started taking small dogs and our little Havanese finally got to check out one of our favorite hotels. And they pampered him just like they do with us. An outstanding hotel!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    253
    55
    20
    8
    5
See reviews for
46
194
8
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This is our second stay at Bernardus and we just love it here. Everyone is very friendly and relaxed here. Keep your eye out for specials they offer periodically. We were able to take advantage of the third night is free offer which made it even more enjoyable for us. It's one the finest country lodges we have had the occasion to stay and enjoy. The restaurants are also exceptional. Marinus of course is fine dining with a great tasting menu. Wickets is also very popular and has great food too.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

What a wonderful place! We arrived on a cold, rainy night and were greeted with a friendly welcome and offer for a glass of their vintage wine. How civilized! The lodge feels and smells like a quaint mountain ski lodge, with aromatic woods on the fire and lots of lavendar about the grounds. They offer a grounds tour when you arrive or at your convenience. There is also a vineyard tour.
The grounds consist of pools, bocce and croquet fields, flower and vegetable gardens and the vineyards. This was a business trip, but spouses were mostly there also. What a great time!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This is an amazing property about 10 miles from the village. The rooms are spectacular -- spacious, luxurious, thoughtfully appointed. The beds are wonderful, the natural gas fireplace is cozy. We also had a private hot tub, which was a nice treat. However, you pay for all this luxury! As nice as it is, I don't think it is worth the cost. Housekeeping was a bit spotty -- at one point they took one of our two coffee cups and it never returned. They also never replenished the in-room coffee. I'm sure we could have called the front desk and it would have appeared at our door in less than five minutes, but should we really have to?? Also, the food and service in Wickets Restaurant was only average. The portions were over-sized and so were the prices.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I adored the Bernardus Lodge! What a spectacular location and tranquil setting, yet so close to Monterey and Carmel. I had been searching for a "splurge" hotel for a romantic stay with my boyfriend and had ruled out the Post Ranch Inn, due to the insane expense. I came across Bernardus in Fodor's and other top review listings of luxury properties. Would completely disagree with Kime465 on the property not being "romantic." The rooms are set back from the main reception area and are very private, with exquisite appointments. The staff is highly considerate and doesn't intrude. Depending, of course, on the room you select, you would more or less luxurious amenities. In our room, the bathtub was large enough for us to share a bath and the bed was superb...high quality bedding and lovely decor. I can't say enough and would absolutely return to this property.

Room Tip: Pay a little more for a nicer room here - with some hotels, that can be a mistake because there is b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

The moment you arrive, every detail is taken care of for you. Everyone knows who you are right away, they offer you a glass of wine and the check in process is completely painless and quick- which makes it even more surprising that by the time you are escorted to your guest room, your luggage is already there waiting for you. Their spa, though a bit overpriced, is a sea of tranquility and their staff is superb. You can use their steam room and hot pool even if you do not book a service. Their food is outstanding, although I only had breakfast, the portions were generous and delicious. There are so many little touches that make this place one of my favorites, turn down service includes a lavender calming lotion to put in the corner of your pillow to help you sleep. Wine and food in the room are complimentary- 3 mini bottles of wine, home made crackers, home made brownies, goat cheese , soft drinks. Everything is so luxurious. And don't miss a walk in their vineyards, with the valley as the backdrop, you will never want to leave this place. the one thing to notice, is that this is a good 12 miles from Carmel-by-the-Sea, so going back and forth is not as convenient as staying right by Ocean AVenue. The advantage though, is you are guaranteed sun even when Carmel is completely fogged in.

Room Tip: Their rooms overlooking the croquet lawn are my favorite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I cannot rave highly enough about the Bernardus Lodge. From the first phone call to inquire about the property to the last interaction with the valet staff as we were leaving, we were treated spectacularly by everyone. We chose the resort because it was dog friendly and were so surprised by the beauty once we got there. Typically "beautiful" and "dog friendly" don't go in the same sentence when describing a hotel.
The spa was clean, relaxing, and romantic, the rooms were comfortably luxurious, and every staff member we encountered looked us directly in the eyes and greeted us with a smile. They even gave us the name of a pet sitter to watch our pup so we could venture out!
We will definitely be returning to the property and recommending it to everyone!

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room with a great little patio....perfect for coffee in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bernardus Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bernardus Lodge

Address: 415 West Carmel Valley Road, Carmel Valley, CA 93924
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carmel Valley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Carmel Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bernardus Lodge 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodge is widely recognized as one of the top winemaking estates in California. Founded by celebrated winemaker Bernardus Pon, the Lodge resembles a classic European country inn, with 57 suites, a luxurious spa, award-winning restaurant and the Bernardus Winery and Vineyard. For a relaxing getaway, an off-site retreat, or romantic wedding, discover why Bernardus has become the luxurious heart of Carmel Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LHW, Booking.com, Jetsetter, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Bernardus Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bernardus Hotel Carmel Valley
Bernardus Carmel Lodge Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bernardus Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;