We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury and more” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bernardus Lodge

Save Saved
You added Bernardus Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bernardus Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   415 West Carmel Valley Road, Carmel Valley, CA 93924   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
3rd Night FREE
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Carmel Valley
California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Luxury and more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

This place is the ideal place if you want to get away and unplug for the weekend or more. From the moment you arrive to the when you leave you are taken care of. Our car was always a step away, the room was always clean and stocked. Their staff was friendly and service was excellent. I love their spa room!!!!! Can't complain about anything except I wish the bed was like the Four Season. Would recommend for relaxation, couples retreat, wedding and more.

Room Tip: $150.00 deposit if you want to bring your pet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    57
    25
    9
    7
See reviews for
50
205
8
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

I stayed here during a business trip so I couldn't take advantage of the amenities as much as I would have liked. For me, some of the highlights included:
* Complementary wine and snacks in the room.
* The warm fireplace.
* The huge tub.
* Free and fast wi-fi.

Overall, it was very nice.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

We stayed here with our 2 children (ages 6/7) over Martin Luther King Jr. weekend and had an absolutely wonderful experience.

The resort is absolutely gorgeous - elegant, understated and beautiful. The service was great and I love that you are not nickled and dimed to death - water, newspaper, snacks, valet parking, etc. are all included in the room rate. The snacks provided are lovely - homemade brownies, toasted baguette with a beautiful goat cheese, popcorn, chips, sodas, wine (half bottles of red AND white), etc. Really a great spread and something for everyone.

They had plentiful staff for such a small hotel - we never had to wait for our car, our room was always clean upon our return to it, we NEVER had housekeepers knocking on our door to see if they could come into clean (my biggest pet peeve) - instead, I noticed housekeepers quietly loitering to see if guests were emerging from their rooms before going in. Our turndown was complete each night while we were out for dinner, etc. The pool is heated to 80 degrees so our kids used it twice - a little cold for my taste, but wonderful that it could be enjoyed in January!!

If I HAD to complain about one thing, it would be the featherbed on top of the mattress. The feathers were prickly - not sure what the problem was.... low thread count on the sheets? Low quality down that had prickly ends? Who knows? It wasn't a major problem and certainly wouldn't deter me from returning but it did affect my sleep.

Overall, a wonderful resort - luxurious and elegant. A must for anyone visiting the Carmel Valley.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

The personal service and understated luxury here reminded us of our splurge holidays in Europe. This is the first time we found it in the US. From the time we stepped out of our car on arrival, to the time that we (very reluctantly) had to leave, we felt like we were the most important people staying here. The staff are warm, friendly, generous and eager to accomodate and help you in any way possible.

The rolling green hills, vineyards and laid back beauty of Carmel Valley make it the perfect spot to escape to. It's quiet and feels like you are a world away from the tourist spots of Monterey. The spa is open to everyone, whether you book services or not, and we spent several hours enjoying the warming pool, eucalytus steam room, the sauna and the huge round fireplace in the spa warming room, where we sat and read or gazed at the fire. We also made excellent use of the fireplace in our room, indulging in hours of talking or reading, all the while sipping Bernardus wine. What a lovely time we had!

If You Go Here Are Some Specifics:

1) We asked for the feathertop bed to be removed and replaced by foam; not because we have allergies but because we like a firm bed. We slept very well both nights and found the bed comfy, but my husband still found it a bit too soft.

2) Ask for a room away from the pool or bocce/croquet areas so your patio or balcony looks onto gardens or trees. We had room 48 which was perfectly located - not too far from the spa but also a very private balcony and view.

3) Friday night there was a wine tasting which was hosted by Phillip, who also works at the Bernardus tasting room. Go! We had a great time learning about the wines of the Valley and its history and really enjoyed Phillip.

4) If you plan on using the sauna/steam room, etc. of the spa, you don't have to go in your room robe...each locker is equipped with sandals and a clean, folded robe for your use that day. It was not uncommon to see couples strolling to and from the spa in their robes so the choice is yours.

5) Bernardus accepts pets (dogs) so if you have any allergies, request as I did, a room that hasn't had any pets in it recently. This was a precaution I took even though I was told each room is thoroughly cleaned after pets stay there. Our room was very clean and I am picky about that...no overwhleming fragrances...just a very clean room and bathroom.

6) We brought cheeses, a bottle of wine, and other munchies to have in our room. The rooms are fully stocked when you arrive, so we really didn't eat all that we brought. We didn't even open the wine as we already had Bernardus wine in the room and was given a complimentary bottle of champage and two flutes to celebrate my birthday. This was unexpected and simply wonderful ~ we had come to Bernardus to celebrate my birthday and I had mentioned that when we checked in. All the goodies in the room- wonderful goat cheese with fennel, chips and fruits, Bernardus wine, sweets, coffee, even cream in the refrigerator were a great surprise and we were impressed with the selection and quality.

7) Our concierge was Troy, who was so welcoming and made us feel like we could ask him anything and he would take care of it. If you are lucky enough to have Troy during your stay, he'll do everything possible to insure you have a wonderful experience during your stay.

8) We ate at Cafe Rustica and the Corkscrew Cafe and recommend both. They are in the little downtown section and take all of 7 minutes to get to from Bernardus.

Room Tip: Rooms not facing pool area or bocce/croquet lawn are more private and quiet. We had room 48 which w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

I don't normally give out 5 stars reviews, but I will give this resort a 5 star. Here is a quick summary:

Things that we liked:
* The staff are super nice and friendly. Also they provided roller bed and microwave oven for free (well you can argue that it's included with the $26 resort fee but it's still very nice and friendly). The service was also VERY nice.
* They did a wonderful wonderful job to upkeep the whole resort and the facilities. We used the swimming pool (outdoor and heated), and it was spotless clean and crystal clear. You also feel that you are in Italy or somewhere, and really give you that luxurious feeling.
* In the room they also provided a bottle of wine, lots of snacks and so forth FOR FREE. Again this is not like traditional hotel that everything that you eat they will charge you. They really make us feel welcoming.
* The highlights in the guest room is of course, the deep soaking tub, and the one-button fireplace. I just have to say that it's very nice.
* The deco and the furniture are very Italy and very nice. They also hve iHome for iPod/iPhone connection (which is almost a must-have these days).

Things that we didn't like so much (and some suggestions):
* The room seems to be on the smaller side, considering the hotel rating and the luxurious feeling that they want to create.
* The swimming pool can probably be a bit warmer (especially during winter).
* Yes as another reviewer mentioned, unless your room is facing the courtyard or the swimming pool. For the regular rooms, I was hoping to see more flowers outside of our small backyard.
* The door can use a bit better weather stripping. During the night we felt that there was cold air coming in from the door (our room is #9).
* The LCD TV doesn't have HDMI input and seems to be on the smaller side (27" maybe?)
* The location seems to be kinda remote, so if you arrive here late, your dining option is probably using its own restaurant.

Again we really enjoyed our stay here. And we probably will visit back here some time in the future!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012 via mobile

We've traveled a lot in Europe because we lived overseas for nearly three years in the recent past.

Bernardus was the nicest resort we've ever stayed at in the US. We loved it. It was the perfect place to celebrate twenty years of marriage.

Carmel Valley is a beautiful unspoiled location. We were amazed by that. Of course the week after Christmas is off-season and that worked well for us. No crowds anywhere. Reasonable weather and sunshine; quite lovely compared to our Chicagoland...

We had room 14 I believe. I'd requested a view of the winery or mountains. The room looked out on the mountains and we could even see a smidge of the vines... Beautiful view! Breathtaking.

Our room was plenty big even though it wasn't a suite. It was stocked with complimentary snacks, goat cheese, and wine! The bathroom was designed wonderfully. The bedroom incorporated a table for dining as well as a sitting area with a romantic gas fireplace. There was a lovely balcony with seating. Too bad it was a little too cold to really use.

Our bed had a view from the window which we were pleasantly surprised to find we could view the sunrise from! We did just that. What a lovely start to a morning.

We like romance and we prefer to sleep in a cold room. We turned the heat really low and turned on the fireplace and let it burn all night long each night.

The first night we were tired from a
day of travel from IL to CA. We were hungry but not ravished; thought we could go for some "ravishing" and a light snack.

We didn't care for the particular cheese in our mini fridge and didn't want a complete meal. We chose to walk to the restaurant, not far away in the main building. We just asked the hostess of the restaurant (the fancier one in the same location was not open this day of the week) if it would be possible to get a cheese plate and some melon sent to our room. She complied.

Back in the room I decided to shower while we waited. Upon finishing my shower, our meal had just arrived. I'll say that it was pricey but it was delightful. The
cheese plate included delicious nuts! The melon was perfectly fresh.

On the day of checkout it was a gorgeous day in the 50s or 60s. We had made an apoinent for the spa and were waiting for that. We chose to sit in the sun outside the main building. I ordered hot tea and a cola for my husband. Service was polite and prompt.

The staff was well trained. Unobtrusive but present when needed. The resort was impeccably clean and well designed with a peaceful and romantic lodge-like ambience.

It was near enough for us to visit Bug Sur State Park (waterfall) and Julia Pfeiffer's waterfall also. Beautiful!! Worth the time and effort.

There's a lovely breakfast restaurant near Bernardus called Toast. We hoped to return a second morning but they weren't open.

I hope to stay at Bernardus again if we ever revisit the Carmel Valley area. Nothing else would please me after staying there.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sao paulo
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012 via mobile

We just checked out from Bernardus Logde and have to say that we were amazed with the place.

At check in, we didn't stop in any desk. We were taken to our very nice room and that was it.

In mini bar, everything was complimentary including Bernardus Winery red and white wine and goat cheese. After consumption, items were replaced without asking.

The Spa is also a great experience. Staff was very professional with good technics.

When we stayed there, the main restaurant was closed but Wickets did a very great job. They could only take it easy on the salt.

We definitely intend to go back to BL, as soon as we can.

If you go there, be sure to do the 17 Mile Dr which is breathtaking!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bernardus Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bernardus Lodge

Address: 415 West Carmel Valley Road, Carmel Valley, CA 93924
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carmel Valley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Carmel Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bernardus Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodge is widely recognized as one of the top winemaking estates in California. Founded by celebrated winemaker Bernardus Pon, the Lodge resembles a classic European country inn, with 57 suites, a luxurious spa, award-winning restaurant and the Bernardus Winery and Vineyard. For a relaxing getaway, an off-site retreat, or romantic wedding, discover why Bernardus has become the luxurious heart of Carmel Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LHW, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Bernardus Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bernardus Hotel Carmel Valley
Bernardus Carmel Lodge Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bernardus Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.