We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a pleasure....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bernardus Lodge & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Bernardus Lodge & Spa to your Saves list
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   415 West Carmel Valley Road, Carmel Valley, CA 93924   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Carmel Valley
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Always a pleasure....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

Nestled in a wine valley in scenic Carmel, this hide-away retreat is one of my favorite places. Its calm atmosphere, healthy environment, quality food - not forgetting- it offers generous sized rooms with fireplaces & spacious bathrooms - that will make you realize you have not booked your stay long enough. If you like to pamper yourself in the onsite spa - be sure to utilize the steam/sauna rooms and if you venture for a massage be sure to ask for michael (with 20 years experience -and my experiences in health & body work) - I can tell you he will know exactly how to find the right spot(s) to help you unwind. I recommend that you book this on your first night.

If you can get up early go for a walk along Carmel Beach & take your tennis racquet, gym kit, swim attire, croquet & bocce skills, there's golf in the neighboring areas - you will want to do it all before you curl up in front of your warm fireplace in your bedroom.

They seem to be members of "The Leading Hotels of the World" whatever that means, but you will feel like you have just walked out of one.

Don't go there if you are seeking unending views or if you prefer modern hotels with staff hanging around you all the time. B Lodge is simply exceptionally charming, understated & the staff will give you space to relax.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    71
    28
    14
    9
See reviews for
62
259
12
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
palm springs
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

We spent one night in this beautiful place and were sorry to leave. The professionalism of the staff, the happy atmosphere, gorgeous views and landscaping and great comfort and planning that has gone into the rooms and bathrooms were simply the best. Lovely fireplaces and a great breakfast in bed! Carmel Valley is fabulous. Sadly the big restaurant was closed for renovations in Jan but we ate very well at Will's Fargo down the road.

Room Tip: they all looked pretty good to me!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

We stayed for a few romantic days during the week before Christmas. The place was very quiet and we liked that. We had a room with a garden view and the view was very nice and this was the cheapest room available. The designer really spent significant effort to make the garden look good and interesting even in the middle of winter.

Do not expect a room with a big flat screen for entertainment, this resort is more about the environment and spending quality time together and it does it very well.

The pool and the fitness center are on the smallish side, but are no excuse to not get your workout in and there is a park close by for running and hiking. The best thing about the place is the staff though; attentive, nice, efficient and effective and not intrusive. One of the best if not the best I have experienced. (and that was not just the glass of wine that you get when you arrive talking)

A nice thing about the resort is that you pay a resort fee, which takes care of all the tipping. (if you feel like it, you can still tip a little extra, but it is not expected) The room has complementary wine and some soda and munchies. Nice touch, when you consider the prices a lot of places charge for their minibar items.

The food at the restaurant was very good, but a little rich for me. The wine list was excellent and I definitely recommend a visit!

Please keep in mind that we visited when there were few people and no children around. During a summer day that may be different.

Room Tip: The rooms with a garden view are probably quieter and I thought the garden looks nicer than the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pismo Beach, California
Level Contributor
139 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

Went here for a mid-winter birthday retreat. Lovely place, lovely staff, lovely grounds, lovely location. The room was perfect, wine and snacks are complimentary. We ate at the on-site bistro each night, weird, because I loathe hotel dining. Dave was our waiter, funny, engaging, personable, thoughtful, and oh yes, the food was great and fairly priced. Go for the oysters, stay for the steak, and the vanilla creme brulet was the best I've ever had, and I don't even like creme brunet. (My wife agreed, so there, its objective, right?). Owned by former racer Ben Pon, the place has warmth of welcome, class and style, you really are a guest here. I would love to come back for a week. The most amazing relaxing place. Now one of the top 3 in the world I have stayed at. And, I have stayed at a lot, all over. Its quiet, its peaceful, its stylish and secluded.

Room Tip: Are there any bad ones?
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento area
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

This was our second visit to Bernardus Lodge after a several-year gap. We liked this visit better than before, partly because the weather this time was absolutely perfect. Early December in this area can be spectacular, as it was this visit, or it can be foggy and damp.

The property is located several miles from Carmel-By-The-Sea in the relatively secluded and picturesque Carmel Valley. The property is far enough off the road so that even the occasional car isn't likely to disturb you.

This couple was part of a company Christmas party where our stay included lodging, food and spa treatments. For the most part everything was top shelf, particularly our dinner in a private room. Everyone enjoyed the Chef's Tasting Menu that was accompanied by ample wine pairings and interesting notes from the sommelier about each wine. Courses arrived on time and were correctly and promptly served for the most part. We didn't feel rushed at all by the staff and spent about four hours altogether for dinner. I should add that the lodge was not anywhere near capacity this early December, as we have found at other venues.

Our room (#16) was comfortable and well-appointed with a very realistic gas fireplace which we used liberally. The bed was very comfortable (We remembered this feature from our previous visit.).

There is plenty of room here to wander around, including a vineyard on the property and walking paths. The separation between guest and maintenance areas was not defined well, however, so it was easy to wander into utility areas unintentionally.

Only a couple of minor flaws marred this otherwise terrific weekend. We ate breakfast at Wickets, the in-house restaurant/bar. The food was tasty, portions were good, but the food took longer than it should have to arrive. In addition our toast was barely warm and the too-cold butter sat on the toast mostly intact. Water was provided only after we asked for it, but it seemed that most other tables were receiving water right after they were seated.

Another flaw: My wife scheduled a spa treatment for mid-morning. Upon her arrival at the venue, she was informed that her provider had failed to arrive. She was offered the same treatment two hours later with another provider, which she accepted, but for someone on a tight schedule (We were not.), this might have been a bigger disappointment.

Overall this was a very pleasant experience, but a little inattention to detail here and there marred it for us.

Room Tip: Some rooms are much closer to the main building than others, so if walking is a problem, ask about t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

We loved everything about the Bernardus Lodge. Not only is it a beautiful property with well appointed rooms, but the staff couldn't do enough for us. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and will definitely go back when we are in the area again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

We came here on our honeymoon 3 years ago, and came back to celebrate our anniversary. Couldn't have been a better trip. The service is really top notch. From someone walking you to your room upon check-in (along w/ a glass of wine), to the valet putting bottles of water in your car for you when they get your car, they really think of everything. The grounds are beautiful - we enjoyed a game of bocce ball one morning. We prefer Carmel Valley to Carmel by the sea, so this is the perfect location for us. The room isn't over the top, but its nice and cozy. They stock the mini-bar with small bottles of wine, water, snacks, cookies - and it is all complimentary. They also include tips in the $20/day resort charge, which is really nice. Not only is the hotel great, but they have some of the most amazing wine. We belong to the wine club, and have it shipped every few months! Have recommended this hotel to many family and friends, and will continue to do so.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carmel Valley
10.2 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 469 reviews
9.0 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#11 of 23 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,290 reviews
5.8 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
18.9 mi away
Ventana Inn & Spa
Ventana Inn & Spa
#2 of 8 in Big Sur
4.5 of 5 stars 840 reviews
2.8 mi away
Carmel Valley Ranch
Carmel Valley Ranch
#3 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bernardus Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bernardus Lodge & Spa

Address: 415 West Carmel Valley Road, Carmel Valley, CA 93924
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carmel Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Carmel Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bernardus Lodge & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Majestic, pastoral and artistic, there's no place like Carmel Valley. And there's no better way to tap into the small-town charms than at Bernardus Lodge & Spa-an indulgent 28-acre escape. Tucked away among rolling vineyards and gardens, Bernardus invites you to savor the intimacy of a boutique resort with an epicurean spirit and a soothing soul. Retreat to the warmth of an old friend's rustic-chic ranch estate, where high-touch service welcomes you home. Here's your chance to unplug, unwind and savor time well spent, whether it's pursuing a new interest or perfecting the art of basking in the warm Carmel Valley sun. Stroll our organic chef's garden and watch a true garden-to-table experience. Grab a gourmet basket and find a picnic-perfect spot with your partner. Share a glass of Pinot. Dabble in Carmel Valley's endless pursuits, all curated by our local staff for the ultimate insider's experience. Then sink into the cozy furnishings of a redesigned guestroom open to the outdoors. Relax, reflect, rejuvenate and breathe deep. Bernardus captures the magic of Carmel-and the memories that matter most. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Orbitz, Odigeo, Otel, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Bernardus Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bernardus Hotel Carmel Valley
Bernardus Carmel Lodge Valley
Bernardus Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bernardus Lodge & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.