We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wine tasting in beautiful outdoor patio.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bernardus Winery and Vineyard

Bernardus Winery and Vineyard
5 West Carmel Valley Road, Carmel Valley, CA 93924
800-223-2533
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Wineries, Food & Drink
Attraction details
Davis, California, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Wine tasting in beautiful outdoor patio.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Enjoyed tasting on outdoor patio. Seating was comfitable. Very relaxing. Weather was beautiful, wines were good. Snacks can be purchased to enjoy with the wine.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    6
    3
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Anaheim, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Tasty Whites”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We tasted the wines from Bernardus when we took the Wine Trolley last October and had to come back for a few bottles while in the area. We actually came up a day early just so that we could take the time to swing by.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Nice wine and average service.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We visited the Bernardus tasting room in Carmel Valley after visiting two smaller tasting rooms in the area and were a little disappointed. The tasting cost $12 (plus tax) for 4 wines plus a bonus pour. The wine was nice but forgettable, which I put down to the tasting experience rather than the quality of the wine. If I'd enjoyed the overall experience more I'm sure the wines themselves would have been more memorable. The staff were friendly but not as knowledgeable or passionate about the wines as we had experienced in some of the smaller tasting rooms. My partner asked about one of their wines which had a very small percentage of a particular grape, as he wondered whether such a small percentage had an impact of the taste, the response from the server was "yeah, apparently so"...he was looking for a little more insight than that! The tasting room wasn't particularly busy when we arrived, just one other couple, but that couple were in the wine business and both servers were clearly more interested in chatting to them rather than us. It felt like we had been rushed through the tasting. We hadn't even finished sampling the last wine but as soon as they realised that we wouldn't be buying anything our bill was brought over immediately. Bernadus is clearly one of the larger producers in the area and it seemed like they didn't think that they needed to make an effort with customers.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell, CA
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Best Wine and Tasting Room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Bernardus Winery and Tasting Room is one of my favorite places to visit. The servers are so knowledgeable about wine, as well as being informative, funny and friendly. It feels as if we are coming "home" and family has been waiting for us to return. And, oh, the wine. My favorites are the Chardonnay, but the reds are fantastic as well, especially the Marinus. Bernardus offers food pairing parties which are delicious and original. It's a lovely drive from our home in Campbell, and well worth the trip.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Hills, Kansas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Good Wine, Good Woman and Bad Bean Towner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

The wine tasting guy aka bad bean towner was disorganized and very rude. Thankfully, a very good woman working with him stepped in and made our wine tasting experience very enjoyable with her great attitude and solid knowledge!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bernardus Winery and Vineyard also viewed

 

Been to Bernardus Winery and Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bernardus Winery and Vineyard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.