We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit of local color.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Sky Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Sky Lodge to your Saves list
Blue Sky Lodge
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   10 Flight Road, Carmel Valley, CA 93924   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    19
    9
    4
    3
See reviews for
14
17
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Found this hotel on Trip Advisor as were planning to see the BIg Sur and didn't want to stay in Carmel by the Sea. This Hotel is a wee gem. The rooms aren't % star but they have a charm that is very inviting. Lovely pool area. Very quiet location. The village itself has a lot of restaurant s and bars within walking distance. Would happily stay again if we come back to Central Coastal California.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I spent one night at the Blue Sky Lodge. In its own way, it was perfect: old-school CA ranch-style hotel. I enjoyed it very much. The pool and hot tub were great. The house cats were friendly and entertaining. The people were friendly. And Carmel Valley Village is a short and pleasant stroll. I look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Me and my fiancée stayed here for one night before we headed off to SF for our 4th of July and we absolutely loved it. The property is beautiful and the staff is so friendly and helpful. Our room was extremely spacious,clean and we had a wonderful patio! We also enjoyed their heated pool and hot tub! We will definetly be back to stay!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Great pool and a comfoy room with a patio. I wish we could have stayed another day. We walked into the town and had a lovely breakfast and in the evening you are walking distance to Robert Talbot vineyards.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

The location and setting of this retro lodge is amazing. You can really get a sense of what this place was like in the 50s and 60s. While the room and bathroom were small they were clean and well maintained. The pool and hot tub were a great addition and we enjoyed using both during each night of our stay here. If your looking for a very basic place to snooze this would be a good choice. The inn keepers do not put any emphasis on welcoming you or acknowledging you during your visit which made it feel a little cold. We would have loved to hear suggestions about town or even hear about the amazing mid century lodge they are running.

Stayed April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

While we frequently have friends and business associates visit us and recommend them to the Carmel Valley Ranch we recently had our house fumigated and needed a local hotel to repair to. While the two day tab at CV Ranch would have left little change from a thousand dollar bill we decided, upon the recommendation of several friends, to try the Blue Sky Lodge at around 20% the tab! We've driven by this 1950's built hotel many times but never really explored it or sent people there. That has changed with our recent 2 day stay. From now on all our out-of-towner guests will be sent to the Blue Sky Lodge. Playing tourist in our own town was a fantastic experience and the Carmel Valley Village location of the Blue Sky Lodge was perfect for that. We simply parked our car in a giant parking lot (so much room that everyone parked at least 5' from the nearest car and this is the one time I didn't worry about door dings on my Mercedes) and walked every where in the surrounding village. The Lodge is simple in design but is completely well maintained - everything in the room and bathroom was spotless. We lazed around the very large heated pool and indulged in wine and cheese while in the adjacent hot tub. Great common area with well manicured lawn, massive oak trees and a large living room for the guests with a fireplace, huge library filled with books and magazines going back to the turn of the century (19th to 20th that is). Even a piano if you are so inclined to do so. While we dine frequently in Carmel we really don't spend that much time in the Carmel Valley Village. Big mistake as we found out based on the owners' restaurant recommendations. Great breakfasts and lunches at TOAST, fantastic dinners at CAFE RUSTICA, live music at PLAZA LINDA (though the Mexican food is far superior at the TAQUERIA DEL VALLE - try their pitch perfect Chile Rellenos), baked goods at the WILD PLUM CAFE - good mochas there too, a real blast back to the past at the RUNNING IRON ( a true cowboy bar and grill with an almost perfect burger loaded with whatever toppings you choose - bacon, cheddar, jalapenos and lettuce and tomato were my choice with a side of onion rings - reasonable too) and then there are the wine tasting rooms. Carmel Valley Village has changed over the past 5 years. Where once were sundry stores and small boutiques there are now local winery tasting rooms. We always enjoy local wine and here was our chance to try over a dozen different ones. From Talbott to Joyce to Bernardus to Georgis to Cowgirl Winery we tried them all. Yes, this is another reason the Mercedes stayed parked all weekend. We walked everywhere from the Blue Sky Lodge. The Lodge is located at the east end of the Village and after a very short walk down the hill there we were at the 8 block long Village. Everything is there in easy walking distance so we sent from wine tasting rooms to restaurants (and yes some great art galleries and boutiques) both days. When our tasting adventure began to have an impact on our ability to walk in a straight line we hopped on the wine wagon - an old hayride style wagon with seats for passengers towed by an authentic crusty old cowboy driving a tractor. A great way to travel. And Saturday night after a day of wine tasting and dinner at Cafe Rustica he even drove us up the hill to our room. The best word to describe this entire "vacation" is friendly. Carmel Valley Village is like the Blue Sky Lodge - everyone enjoys being there and what they are doing and it shows in the amazing customer service. We have to single out Roger and his wife Sally and their daughter Stephanie for exemplary service, great recommendations - they made us feel like friends we've known for decades and were welcoming us to their home as honored guests. And for out of town people this is a perfect place for trips to Carmel (25 minutes) Laguna Seca (20 minutes) Big Sur (55 minutes and Pebble Beach (35 minutes)...but once you get here out beyond the fog line you'll enjoy just staying here. No, you won't find the ultra luxury of Bernardus or CV Ranch but you'll be out exploring and enjoying the local area. And the rooms are large, clean and have great privacy and views. Thanks to WI-FI I was able to keep in touch with the "outside" world but once you check in you will probably resist this. It's a great home base for a unique vacation. Carmel Valley Village and the Blue Sky Lodge are a winning vacation destination.

Room Tip: We had a sun deck room and it was large, quiet and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Sky Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Sky Lodge

Address: 10 Flight Road, Carmel Valley, CA 93924
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carmel Valley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Blue Sky Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient Accommodations in the Village of Carmel Valley Whether you're visiting sunny Carmel Valley for business, leisure or a bit of both, rest assured your stay will be comfortable, convenient and blissful at Blue Sky Lodge. Treat yourself to a relaxing get-away and enjoy the comforts and convenience of Blue Sky Lodge. The peaceful setting of Blue Sky Lodge is nestled in the charming village of Carmel Valley; just steps away from 20 wine tasting rooms, fine dining, antique shops and art galleries. Our Carmel Valley hotel rooms offer: private patios or sundecks, complimentary Wi-Fi, gardens, an outdoor pool and much more. Make Blue Sky Lodge home while you experience the sunny village of Carmel Valley. Located only twelve miles inland from Carmel-by-the-sea and fifteen miles from Monterey, Blue Sky Lodge is just minutes from the Central Coast's top attractions. Explore the premier wineries of Carmel Valley; enjoy the shops of Carmel, or visit the world famous Monterey Aquarium, and Fisherman's Wharf. Make your upcoming vacation to Carmel Valley relaxing, memorable and stress-free by staying with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Blue Sky Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Sky Hotel Carmel Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Sky Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.