We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great relaxed atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Valley Kitchen

Valley Kitchen
One Old Ranch Road, Camel Valley Ranch, Carmel Valley, CA 93923
+1 831-625-2599
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Valley Kitchen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Carmel Valley Road
Description: Executive Chef Tim Wood's culinary exploits-many involving fruits and vegetables from The Ranch's Organic Garden-are on full display for breakfast, lunch and dinner in our Lodge Restaurant. Indoor, outdoor and lounge seating are all available.
Carmel, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great relaxed atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We went there twice last month and enjoyed both instances.

Overall service was excellent and the food was delicious.

One visit was on a Sunday while watching the World Cup and drinking copious quantities of iced and AP tea. The himmus appetizer was great as were the chocolate chip cookies.

The second visit was during the week and much more quiet, different energy but service was great. Love the setting overlooking the course while casually enjoying food, drinks and desert.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Thank Silvertiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Rating summary
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hillsborough, California
Level Contributor
101 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great Gathering spot for the Lodge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We stayed at Carmel Valley Lodge and found the restaurant a pleasantly good surprise. We ended up having a meal or two there each day including breakfast, lunch and/or a dinner over the 3-4 days we stayed at the hotel. It was able to handle a variety of dinning experiences with more formal and less formal tables inside and out. We liked that staying at the hotel and being able to either pick up a quick meal and/or have a special more formal dinner one night. It had a pretty good menu with unique items focusing on local faire. We loved the creative appetizers and do try the french fries and soups. The kids loved each of those. Wait staff was good and prompt and accommodating. Now, before I say the next good thing, remember this is a very dog friendly hotel and they also have their own bull-dog mascot. SO, we had a puppy with us and took walks often and when we walked back for lunches or meals, they were fabulous to allow well mannered dogs to stay at your feet or on our dog pillow during our meal. Of course, they only allowed this outside the main dining room or on the really casual tables and I found this really accommodating. I am not one of those "take your dog everywhere annoying owners" either but it just seemed to work at this property and it was really nice. We also saw this restaurant handle romantic couple meals, families with kids, special event dinners and even a few prom night dates which was fun. It is a really good option to have even aside from being on-site to this wonderful hotel.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Thank Christopher D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Good food, service, atmosphere ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Reasonably priced restaurant. Excellent service and good hearty food. Home from home cooking to satisfy. Service was polite, friendly and attentive without being over bearing. Eaten here twice now and equally pleased with all aspects. Ask for a table in the conservatory if you want a view through the trees down the valley. Carlos at the bar is good/best at making any cocktails.

Thank AlitNorthamptonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
47 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Food and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

My mom lives in Carmel Valley and went here for he first time in February 2014. We have been back several times since and it was just as great. Highly recommended!!

Thank DuckMagee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Average to Poor”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Because I like Carmel Valley Ranch so much, I'm inclined to offer three stars here. The cuisine, however, is average to poor. They bungled my wife's birthday cake so badly, that my experience honestly deserves less than one star. In fairness, however, the food is passable, though very far from notable. I would highly suggest a short drive into Carmel for one of the many outstanding choices located there.

Visited June 2013
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Valley Kitchen also viewed


Been to Valley Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing