We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“carmel stop over” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel Valley Ranch Lodge Restaurant

Carmel Valley Ranch Lodge Restaurant
One Old Ranch Road, Carmel Valley, CA 93923
+1 831-625-2599
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Carmel Valley Ranch Lodge Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Carmel Valley Road
Description: Executive Chef Tim Wood's culinary exploits-many involving fruits and vegetables from The Ranch's Organic Garden-are on full display for breakfast, lunch and dinner in our Lodge Restaurant. Indoor, outdoor and lounge seating are all available.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“carmel stop over”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

We stayed at Carmel Valley Ranch for three days and had the most amazing culinary experience at the Ranch restaurant

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    33
    15
    9
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cary, NC
Top Contributor
240 reviews 240 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Goof Food, Slow Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We had a breakfast and dinner here while staying at the resort. In general, the food was very good, but the service was not as prompt and attentive as you would expect at a property of this type. The beet salad, salmon and short ribs all tasted great. There is a nice selection of wines by the glass. If none of the desserts appeal to you, don't forget that there are smores served out by the fire pits near the pool.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upland, California, United States
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful site, not so beautiful service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Waiting for a friend. Took a looooong time to get someone to come over to our table and take an order.

Even AFTER going back to the hostess and ASKING for service.

Reasonable wine list. But overpriced.

Did NOT follow our order for an appetizer.

But VERY nice view from the outside terrace and fire pit.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Clubby and family friendly with good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Our dinner at the lodge was very, very good. The room felt like a country club, with a casual tone. My crab cake was one of the best I've ever tasted. My husband's steak was perfectly done, and he loved it. The folks there provided the makings for som'ores to take to the fire to create dessert. A very nice evening.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not en par with high-end resort”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Visited Ranch 3 times in 2014...not at all impressed with the restaurant on site. Had to eat there on several occasions (only option in the valley). Food and service were decent but nothing to write home about. Lot's of room for improvement here. We have taken the approach of minimizing our on site meals as much as possible.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carmel Valley Ranch Lodge Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Carmel Valley Ranch Lodge Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmel Valley Ranch Lodge Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.