We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clubby and family friendly with good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel Valley Ranch Lodge Restaurant

Carmel Valley Ranch Lodge Restaurant
One Old Ranch Road, Carmel Valley, CA 93923
+1 831-625-2599
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Carmel Valley Ranch Lodge Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Carmel Valley Road
Description: Executive Chef Tim Wood's culinary exploits-many involving fruits and vegetables from The Ranch's Organic Garden-are on full display for breakfast, lunch and dinner in our Lodge Restaurant. Indoor, outdoor and lounge seating are all available.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
84 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Clubby and family friendly with good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Our dinner at the lodge was very, very good. The room felt like a country club, with a casual tone. My crab cake was one of the best I've ever tasted. My husband's steak was perfectly done, and he loved it. The folks there provided the makings for som'ores to take to the fire to create dessert. A very nice evening.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    19
    11
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not en par with high-end resort”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Visited Ranch 3 times in 2014...not at all impressed with the restaurant on site. Had to eat there on several occasions (only option in the valley). Food and service were decent but nothing to write home about. Lot's of room for improvement here. We have taken the approach of minimizing our on site meals as much as possible.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marin County, California
Level Contributor
104 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Food was good but service spotty over several meals. They need to spend more time checking in and ensuring that the meal is progressing well.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Lodge at CVR”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We have been to this wonderful intimate boutique hotel several times now for dinner. It is a true farm to table offering sourced from local farms, land, and sea. Both breakfast and dinner have been wonderful, with creative combinations offered across the menu's. Great wine selections, with accommodating service in an upscale, yet casual environment. A great option about 15 minutes from the Carmel village. Highly recommended.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Best romantic brunch spot in Carmel. Not to be missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I have been here twice for brunch and sat outside both times. Great atmosphere, loved looking out on the ranch while leisurely sampling the buffet and dessert options. Warm heat lamps made it possible to enjoy even on a cold foggy day. Very romantic spot. We'll be sure to come back again on future trips, next time we'll try the dinner menu.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carmel Valley Ranch Lodge Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Carmel Valley Ranch Lodge Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmel Valley Ranch Lodge Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.