We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Went here in July for a friends birthday! Best dinner I have had in a long time. Everything was fabulous!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cachagua General Store

Cachagua General Store
18840 Cachagua Road, Carmel Valley, CA 93924
831.659.1857
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 25 Restaurants in Carmel Valley
Price range: $8 - $24
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Monterey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Went here in July for a friends birthday! Best dinner I have had in a long time. Everything was fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Just went here in July for a friends birthday! Best dinner I have had in a long time. Everything was fabulous. Very rustic and only opened Monday night for dinner but fantastic fare.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    3
    1
    2
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Monterey Bay
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Mr. Jones”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

It had been awhile since we journeyed out to the Store...too long. Just another incredible meal to savor and reflect upon. We shared an appetizer of Pumpkin Squash Ableskivers on a bed of sautéed spinach, trumpet mushrooms, and a few other harmonious ingredients...delicious!
Main courses were wagyu flap steak and lamb shank, both prepared perfectly with complimentary sides...dessert was bread pudding with caramel and vanilla ice cream...
I do not know how or why Michael Jones continues to labor with such focus and passion to produce his Monday nite weekly food extravaganzas, but it is a treasure for our area. Michael and his dedicated cooking and serving crew continue to bedazzle every week at a fraction of the cost similar quality food would cost on the Peninsula...plus, not an ounce of pretense in the air, and great music to listen to while dining....thank you to all of you who work out at The Store.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paso Robles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Mountain Goodness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

This is a wonderful hidden gem in the mountains of Carmel Valley. My husband and I go every chance we get during the Summer. Check any pretentiousness at the door. This place has paper curtain, guitars and a pup or two to greet the guests! I had baby back ribs last Monday paired with a Morgan Pinot Noir. Outstanding! This Monday I believe I will start with the beet salad and follow it with a steak. Once again, I will get the Morgan wine because it was delicious! A 5 star restaurant indeed!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory, North Carolina
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“OMG”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Don't want to reveal this hidden gem! This place is like a dream! Really...a country store in the middle of nowhere...with a gourmet Chef and crew that show up on Mondays and put on.."a moveable feast" that is beyond your wildest dreams! With two settings only..terser actions required! David and Pat bang out some serious music on the Congo Drums..and Amazing Guitar! The music alone is worth the drive! The drive is not for the faint of heart...but if you decide to make the track...Michael will not disappoint! The first time I ate there...I didn't even read the menu...when I saw the plate of Bone Marrow go by..that was it..I was in! The most Amazing thing you ever want to put in your mouth! The oysters...the beet salad...the deserts....I can't even begging to describe this crazy place where the dogs are welcome..the food is outta this world..and the music moves you to another's place and time!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A Special Evening . . .”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

It's been a while, but I felt compelled to throw in my 2 cents after reading some of the reviews here. My friend and I drove from Santa Cruz to a Monday night dinner last summer. It's certainly not a drive I would undertake every week, but it was most definitely worth it. We were seated promptly, received great service, good food, and wonderful music to accompany it all.

Yes, it's different, and I guess not for all, but some of the complaints remind me of people who would go the 150 year-old Cold Spring Tavern in the mountains above Santa Barbara and complain that the ceilings were too low!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cachagua General Store also viewed

Carmel Valley, CA
Carmel Valley, CA
 
 

Been to Cachagua General Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cachagua General Store, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.