We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food; good service!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Iolis' Pizzeria

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Iolis' Pizzeria
307 Mid Valley Center, Carmel Valley Road, Carmel Valley, CA
(831) 622-9463
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 25 Restaurants in Carmel Valley
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Restaurant details
Eugene, Oregon
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Good food; good service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

The pizza is good, but there are many more offerings on the menu, and the choices are great! The setting is relaxed and inviting. So many eateries today are overwhelmingly noisy, with televisions and stereo systems blasting out of every orifice, but at Ioli's the atmosphere invites conversation in a colorful, tastefully decorated environment. The service is good; the hostess is gracious and attentive. Prices are appropriate, servings are generous. This is a great place to enjoy a meal!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    8
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carmel Valley, California
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Above average Pizzeria”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Good pizza, reasonably priced (by the, huge, slice) or whole. Tucked away in the corner of Mid-Valley shopping center.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Pizza by the Slice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

This is our daughter's favorite pizzeria in Carmel. She loves the Cheese Pizza (which she can never finish because the slice is massive). We have enjoyed their made to order pizzas as well. It's an out of the way place that you could easily miss if you blinked, but definitely worth checking out if in the Mid Valley Shopping Center

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice Italian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Great little spot for mid-valley residents looking for a casual spot with great salads, pasta and pizza. Go as you are...very comfortable spot with outdoor seating.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gearhart, Oregon
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Just ok if you don't feel like cooking dinner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

My husband and I went here for dinner last night and we're split on how we feel about it. He thought it was fine but not awesome, I thought it was less so. It seems like people especially out in the Valley really like this place (maybe for a lack of choice), but I just don't get it.

We started with the Italian salad which was just ok. THE BAD: average, Costco Italian dressing on romaine, a little too heavily dressed. THE GOOD: a very large portion, easily split by two and probably three people.

Next, we received an order of "garlic bread" which was really cheese bread. THE BAD: WAY too much flavorless, processed, greasy mozzarella cheese on flavorless bread. THE GOOD: marinara had good flavor and the portion was huge- enough for probably five or six people to split.

Next, the pizza. THE BAD: again, flavorless bread drowning in greasy cheese. THE GOOD: a huge portion for a medium and the sauce was good.

Suggestions for the owner: Stop wasting money on oversized portions and spend it on better quality ingredients instead. For example, throw some provolone or romano into the cheese blend to give it some flavor. Come up with a great homemade dressing recipe instead of using pre-bottled junk. I can buy that myself and make a cheap salad at home with it. If I go out, I want something different and delicious. For the garlic bread, buy fresh italian bread from a local bakery every day, spread it with a little homemade garlic butter, toss a handful (not a bucket) of cheese on it, put it under the broiler for a couple of minutes and it'll be amazing- just give enough for 2-3 people, not for 5-6. Work on the crust recipe so that it has some flavor, too. It was just so bland.

I much prefer Pizza My Heart or homemade to this place. On the upside, we were seated quickly, our food came quickly, and the server was super friendly.

One more issue to mention... I couldn't help but notice that the wall next to our little booth was filthy. I tried hard not to look at it and wonder what all of that was- it needs a wipe down badly as did the door/windows covered in handprints. The place just looks a little tired and could use some care and freshening up.

I really appreciate little local places trying to do something good and special so I hate to slam something like this, but it's important for owners and managers to know what people think.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Iolis' Pizzeria also viewed

 
Carmel Valley, CA
 

Been to Iolis' Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iolis' Pizzeria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.