We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the Best Sushi Restaurants in Northern California” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Akaoni

Akaoni
Mission St. & 6th Av., Carmel, CA 93923-9348
(831) 620-1516
Improve this listing
Ranked #43 of 151 Restaurants in Carmel
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“One of the Best Sushi Restaurants in Northern California”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The restaurant is very small so you absolutely need to make a reservation. The best bet is to sit at the sushi bar and watch a master at work. The food is exceptional and you will not be disappointed. They have a nice sake list with a couple of really good choices.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    11
    1
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Excellent Sushi and Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I ate dinner here recently on a business trip after having the restaurant recommended to me. This is a small and authentic Japanese restaurant that seats about 20 people. Service is excellent as is the food. The variety is large with an additional number of specials based on whatever seafood is fresh and available locally. Quality seems to be very high and I enjoyed everything. The fried tofu was great as an appetizer with a wonderful texture and flavor. The fish was plentiful and fresh. Everything is prepared individually so don't expect extreme speed, but do expect a very nice experience. Reservations are essentially mandatory - at least in the evening.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fallbrook, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Don't Skip This!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

It was my first visit to Carmel and I did a little Trip Advisor research and found this restaurant. We love sushi and always try to find the best sushi in each town we visit. We care much more about the quality of the fish than the decor of the restaurant, but this little place doesn't fail in either category. First, you MUST make a reservation as the seating is really limited. It's obviously a local favorite, so just assume that it will be packed. We sat at the sushi bar and found the service to be just excellent. Our food was fantastic and there was a great sake selection. This will be saved as one of my favorites!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
1,758 reviews 1,758 reviews
694 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 332 cities Reviews in 332 cities
913 helpful votes 913 helpful votes
“Best sushi ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

Tip: reservations are strongly encouraged, the space is very limited

Pros: delicious food, very fresh and quality fish, authentic Japanese, perfeccionist chef (it takes some time to prepare but the result is amazing), exquisite, lovely decor and dish ware

We had the sashimi platter chef choice, sushi platter and shrimp/ veggies tempura (check my pics)

It was a great experience, the best one so far.
A few years ago when I started to eat sushi I had no idea about the difference about an all you can eat place and a restaurant like the Akaoni. Now I refuse myself to go to "ordinary" places.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best sushi on the peninsula”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

Fabulous sushi. It is small and simple but also simply awesome food. Love it!!! Homemade tofu was wonderful -- had it as part of seaweed/tofu salad that was delicious. Each piece of sushi was better then the last. Just incredible quality and freshness.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Akaoni also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Akaoni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Akaoni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.