We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food half price wine Wednesday!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of L'escargot

L'escargot
Mission St AT 4th Ave, Carmel, CA 93921
831-620-1942
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
L'escargot is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #85 of 152 Restaurants in Carmel
Cuisines: French, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: L'Escargot is a French restaurant in Carmel, California with a warm, romantic dining room area and with plenty of space between tables.
New Zealand
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Good food half price wine Wednesday!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

My husband ate frogs legs in Paris last month but the ones served at L'escargot were far superior he said! I had delicious fish. We dined with 4 other people and everyone enjoyed their meal except the chap who had the 3 course special. (His main of roast lamb was a bit overcooked and on the small side) Our meals however were great. We all enjoyed our wine too! We had an excellent waiter who was attentive and knowledgeable.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    11
    5
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“How have we missed this gem?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

After many years of coming to Carmel we finally chose L'escargot for dinner tonight. What a delight. We tried a couple of the escargo appetizers to start and found them very good. Our son had the pate and gave it five stars. All of our meals, rabbit, sand dabs and sea bass were delicious and the sauces were well prepared. We all found the portions satisfying. The restaurant is quiet and subdued which is perfect for dinner conversation. Finally our waiter was friendly and informed and attentive without being at all intrusive. This we all appreciated.
We will return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great little French restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Stumbled on this tiny little restaurant while walking thru downtown Carmel. Had a great meal - outstanding Sea Bass & Veal. Oddly enough the only disappointment was my escargot appetizer - tough and not very tasty - only thing keeping me from giving it 5 stars.
Would definitely return.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Sweet little venue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

A little hidden treasure of Old Carmel. The service is good and the duck is amazing. O enjoyed my French Onion soup. Excellent wine list

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Top Contributor
279 reviews 279 reviews
198 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Delightful French”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our dining experience here. Wednesday is half price wine list night. Good thing we showed up on Wednesday, as the wine list is a bit pricey here. At 50% off, the Darioush Cabernet was excellent! Dino, our waiter, is great - friendly service, really took care of us. We met the Chef, a down-to-earth gentleman who really knows how to create a lovely dining experience. The atmosphere is very quaint, lovely and warm. The French Onion Soup is excellent. The veal sweetbreads are superb! We shared the rabbit special - OMG - incredible. The apple tarte tatin is light and perfect. Everytime we come to this area, we chose to dine here. it is simply a "hidden gem" although we noticed very table is now reserved. If you are traveling to Carmel, please do not hesitate to dine here. Dino treats everyone special - locals, visitors alike. The Chef and his staff know how to run a bistro! Casual upscale dining at its best. The menu even offered braised goat along with many classic preparations......something on this menu for everyone. The table next to us ordered a beautiful rack of lamb and petrole sole - they looked fantastic too. Highly recommend this restaurant in Carmel.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'escargot also viewed

 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to L'escargot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'escargot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.