We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little French restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of L'escargot

L'escargot
Mission St AT 4th Ave, Carmel, CA 93921
831-620-1942
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
L'escargot is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #81 of 151 Restaurants in Carmel
Cuisines: French, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: L'Escargot is a French restaurant in Carmel, California with a warm, romantic dining room area and with plenty of space between tables.
Lakeland, Florida
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great little French restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Stumbled on this tiny little restaurant while walking thru downtown Carmel. Had a great meal - outstanding Sea Bass & Veal. Oddly enough the only disappointment was my escargot appetizer - tough and not very tasty - only thing keeping me from giving it 5 stars.
Would definitely return.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    11
    5
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Sweet little venue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

A little hidden treasure of Old Carmel. The service is good and the duck is amazing. O enjoyed my French Onion soup. Excellent wine list

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Top Contributor
286 reviews 286 reviews
204 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Delightful French”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our dining experience here. Wednesday is half price wine list night. Good thing we showed up on Wednesday, as the wine list is a bit pricey here. At 50% off, the Darioush Cabernet was excellent! Dino, our waiter, is great - friendly service, really took care of us. We met the Chef, a down-to-earth gentleman who really knows how to create a lovely dining experience. The atmosphere is very quaint, lovely and warm. The French Onion Soup is excellent. The veal sweetbreads are superb! We shared the rabbit special - OMG - incredible. The apple tarte tatin is light and perfect. Everytime we come to this area, we chose to dine here. it is simply a "hidden gem" although we noticed very table is now reserved. If you are traveling to Carmel, please do not hesitate to dine here. Dino treats everyone special - locals, visitors alike. The Chef and his staff know how to run a bistro! Casual upscale dining at its best. The menu even offered braised goat along with many classic preparations......something on this menu for everyone. The table next to us ordered a beautiful rack of lamb and petrole sole - they looked fantastic too. Highly recommend this restaurant in Carmel.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“rediscovering an old favorite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We had sort of forgotten about this restaurant for a few years. We went back and had a basically pleasant experience. Upon entering there was a rather unpleasant smell (food spilled on the carpet smell?) but we soon became accustomed to it and didn't notice it. Service was very good.
The food was generally good but not what was posted on their web site. I was disappointed that they didn't have what I had pre-planned to order. Rib eye steak was very fatty, but the sole was excellent.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tarzana ca
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“everything great about France with Cali influences”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Everything from the French Californian Caesar salad down to the Salmon with pepito seeds was wonderful. You walk into a french country side restaurant that welcomes you in the best of home town feelings, with a wait staff that is highly trained and also extremely welcoming. It is the best of French cuisine with a truly Californian twist that will please the french gourmet to the Californian foody. It is 100% apparent that the ever humble and amazingly talented Chef Kerry knows what he is doing and how to happily encourage his staff to follow his direction.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'escargot also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to L'escargot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'escargot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.