We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poodle Dressing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of French Poodle Restaurant - CLOSED

French Poodle Restaurant
Junipero Ave AT 5th Ave, Carmel, CA 93921
(831) 624-8643
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
La Jolla, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Poodle Dressing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

NO ONE can beat their fabulous (secret recipe) salad dressing. We've been buying it for years as have our friends and family and we've all tried to figure out what's in it! If you can't be there in person, you may also order it on line!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    3
    2
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Circling the drain”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

The place was empty at 740pm when the town was on a complete wait. Gun snapping maitre'd/server was very rude and explained that now of the wines on the first pages were available but he pitched 2010 Sonoma Cutrer about 8 times. That he would sell for the 2003 price on the menu. The menus were soiled and torn. The did have one order of the artichoke "who wants it?" Of course goose liver is not available but same goes for the escargot, etc. asked about one speciality sauce, "oh that is just mayonnaise and mustard. ". We walked out which was the first for both families. It is sad to see the end is near but worse that irrelevant five year old reviews caught our eye. The most recent reviews are similar to our experience.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“An old favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This restaurant never disappoints. The only problem is deciding what to order from their many excellent choices. Try the artichoke with their house made mayo. Or the champagne crab legs. Veal with morel mushrooms is divine. They have fresh abalone every day and it is outstanding. Be sure to call for a reservation because their hours seem to vary.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“This Grand Ol’ Dame has Seen Better Days”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

My mother, brother, his wife and I went to this restaurant to celebrate his birthday. It was a Thursday evening, and only one other couple was in the restaurant the entire time. We quickly discovered why. After being seated, I noticed that some of the decorating was in very shabby shape. For example, some decorative mirrors were missing, the rugs were worn and the curtains were dirty. They had the lighting down low, but it could not hide the fact that the restaurant had seen better days. Even the menus were worn and torn. We had various entrees, including lamb, duck, scallops and prawns. My brother said that his duck was good, but my prawns were over cooked and mom’s scallops seemed old. The wine was very pricey and the bread was dry. Day old French bread at a French restaurant is NOT a good sign. The entrees were $30-35 each and included an over-dressed, slightly out-of-balance vinaigrette. For these prices, we expected a terrific dining experience. And although the service was good, I would not return.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Sad decline”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Once was one of our favorite restuarants in Carmel. Seems to be on the downside. Many menu items not available. One server answered phone, served wine. took order, bussed tables, served food. Not efficient for more than two tables. Food was average.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed French Poodle Restaurant also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage French Poodle Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.