We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Bicyclette

La Bicyclette
7th Ave at Dolores St, Carmel, CA 93923
(831) 622-9899
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 152 restaurants in Carmel
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
SLO
1 review
“Fun !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Several people recommended this restaurant to my husband and I. We were here several times for dinner. We found the decor charming, the menu healthy yet creative, and the food very good. Service was attentive one of the visits and the other not so much. The restaurant is small and it gets very busy, making it difficult for the staff to move around with ease.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    194
    145
    42
    17
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pebble Beach, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Don't Miss La Bicyclette!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

This charming and quirky venue is an absolute delight! Crossing the threshold, one has an immediate sense the experience will not be ordinary. Heavenly aromas from the wood burning oven prevail, while the savvy staff and music keep it fresh, upbeat and fun. We celebrated with a small group and had the opportunity to experience many amazing dishes. Artfully paired with exceptional wines, it was perfect! The escargot, done with hazelnuts and garlic in the wood burning oven, served with an assortment of fresh warm breads and a glass of Cab is an amazing memory that calls to me. Cannot wait to return!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Popular place to eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We had breakfast in La Bicyclette on a Saturday and the place was heaving. The food was excellent and I would recommend this - Didnt eat here in the evening but it was packed so its probably good .

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, CA
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Yummy Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

My hubby and I stopped here for breakfast during our Christmas getaway.
It's a very cute restaurant, with obvious European flair. (Love the wood oven!)
Service was fair. The food had exceptional flavor. And - as is the case in this area - a bit on the pricey side. The coffee was good but oh so petite! A few swallows and it was gone.
We'd come back. Might have to give the pizzas a try next time!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Great food,great price,great ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We originally ate at Bicyclette just after it had opened a few years ago and it was good then.

The format has now changed and the food has got even better. I discovered that they have a new chef there and his love of fresh local produce and good cooking is clearly apparent. Two of us had normal food which was flavoursome and delicious. My daughter had a Pizza and all the people who rave about them in other revues are absolutely correct. She lived in Rome for a year and had to admit that the Pizza here was one of the best she had ever eaten.

The service was friendly and efficient. We ate 2 completely different meals there during the week ( one on July 4th) and both were excellent and good value for money. Absolutely worth a visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Bicyclette also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula

Been to La Bicyclette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Bicyclette, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.