We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good mid-week lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nico Restaurant

Nico Restaurant
San Carlos & Ocean Ave, Carmel, CA 93921
831-624-6545
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #78 of 150 Restaurants in Carmel
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Olympia, WA
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“A good mid-week lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

My wife had a Tuesday afternoon late lunch here. We had The Aegean appetizer of Ouzo meat ball, feta cheese olives and Spanikopita, which was very good and two personal pizzas, one cheese and the other sausage. Both very good.

The service was very good and we liked the atmosphere. They have a nice outdoor eating area, but we ate inside.

This is a nice place for lunch.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    22
    11
    6
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Red Bluff, California, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Seafood Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

on Feb 28 we went to Nico Resaturant in Carmel, Ca. and had one of the best meals ever and the service was over the top. My wife loved the dip for the bread so much that we asked if we could purchase it and we did. My meal was outstanding had scallops, prawns and clams over pasta wow what flavor. The house wine was fantastic, we will be back every chance we get.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Wonderful lunch and service splurge in Carmel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

I had a Penne Portofino, which is melange of shellfish over penne pasta with a delicious light Marsala sauce. My wife had the Crab Ravioli, which used generous chunks of crab (not imitation), in a champagne cream sauce. We split a generous field greens salad.

The service is attentive without being intrusive. We chose a street-side window seat, but have sat by their fireplace, and outside, in previous visits. Note: our tab came to $66, which seems high -- but remember you're in Carmel. That's why you'd visit Carmel and eat there. If that's a problem for you, try a McDonalds in Sand City.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic Italian Foof”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

We had our office Christmas party here and the food and service was exceptional. Our group was about 409 people and the evening was perfect. Friendly staff and spot on service.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesboro,indiana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Service was very ,very good and personal.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

My wife and I stumbled onto this place five years ago on our anniversary and wanted to return this trip for sentimental reasons. This time we came for dinner instead of lunch and we were very happy we did. We both decided to have the personal sized pizza's, my wife had the veggie and I had the seafood...most refreshing and very ,very good The pizza's are made on a flatbread style crust so it was not too heavy...I had the arugula and pear salad which was great..I had a glass of Cabernet and it was very good..The Service was the best we had in our week in Carmel. Very pleasant and fast took care of our every need before we knew we needed it.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nico Restaurant also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Nico Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nico Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.