We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“okay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Nico Restaurant

Nico Restaurant
San Carlos & Ocean Ave, Carmel, CA 93921
831-624-6545
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #80 of 152 restaurants in Carmel
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Outdoor seating, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

The reason why I gave it an "average" is because I have found this place to be a hit-and-miss... sometimes the food and service has been great... and other times, it has been just so-so.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

67% Recommend
    38
    16
    8
    6
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Poor service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

The atmosphere was nice as were the bussers, but those were the only positives about this restaurant. The food was below average - the baked goat cheese salad had only a mere smear of goat cheese, the pasta was overcooked. The waiter brought a glass of with floating bits in it, which we sent back. When we ordered coffee at the end of the meal, the cream ALSO had floating bits and when we asked for a new jug of cream we were informed that they had run out and someone was buying more from the store. We asked to see a dessert menu but nobody ended bringing one over. 10 minutes later, we had been served the bill but the cream still had not yet arrived! The server was so indifferent it was annoying. There were no apologies for the wine or cream incidents. I heard a customer at another table complaining about the salmon. This restaurant is not recommended.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good location but nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We had a meal at Nico's, everything was simply average! Not great but not bad. If you want the Greek food experience, it is worth a visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden Valley, Minnesota
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Intimate Delicious Dining Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Upon arrival we were warmly greeted by the owner and given our choice of places to sit. Since the weather was a bit on the cool side we sat next to the fireplace and had a birds eye view of the entire restaurant. We loved the intimate and beautiful setting.

We wished that the appetizer portion of the grilled portabella would have been larger, but only because it was so mouth-watering. I've had linguini with clams at a number of other restaurants but this was by far the best. Maybe the difference was that it was made with whole wheat linguini or that they also put in sun-dried tomatoes. My family ordered entrees of paella, salmon with risotto and the filet mignon - all received rave reviews.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Terrific Lunch in Carmel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Had a fantastic lunch with friends at this quaint restaurant in Carmel by the Sea. Choosing something to eat was difficult for everyone as the menu (while only one page) is loaded with things that sound amazing. In the end the food was awesome and we got to sit outside in the small patio area out back. It was so peaceful and beautiful. Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nico Restaurant also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Nico Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nico Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.