We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but nothing special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Nico Restaurant

Nico Restaurant
San Carlos & Ocean Ave, Carmel, CA 93921
831-624-6545
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #89 of 152 Restaurants in Carmel
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Outdoor seating, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good location but nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We had a meal at Nico's, everything was simply average! Not great but not bad. If you want the Greek food experience, it is worth a visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    19
    11
    6
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Golden Valley, Minnesota
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Intimate Delicious Dining Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Upon arrival we were warmly greeted by the owner and given our choice of places to sit. Since the weather was a bit on the cool side we sat next to the fireplace and had a birds eye view of the entire restaurant. We loved the intimate and beautiful setting.

We wished that the appetizer portion of the grilled portabella would have been larger, but only because it was so mouth-watering. I've had linguini with clams at a number of other restaurants but this was by far the best. Maybe the difference was that it was made with whole wheat linguini or that they also put in sun-dried tomatoes. My family ordered entrees of paella, salmon with risotto and the filet mignon - all received rave reviews.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Terrific Lunch in Carmel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Had a fantastic lunch with friends at this quaint restaurant in Carmel by the Sea. Choosing something to eat was difficult for everyone as the menu (while only one page) is loaded with things that sound amazing. In the end the food was awesome and we got to sit outside in the small patio area out back. It was so peaceful and beautiful. Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Looks are deceiving”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

This place looks great, small intimate white table Cloths, etc. however we were turned off b/ c we were turned away when we asked to use the lavatory. A shame, we considered eating here but what a jerk we encountered.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, MD
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“A charming mix of cultures”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

The food here is an eclectic Mediterranean mix, carefully prepared and beautifully presented. We had a Greek appetizer and an Italian entree served by a Serbian waiter. The setting is lovely and the price reasonable (considering that the restaurant is in Carmel). It's on my list for a return visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nico Restaurant also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Nico Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nico Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.