We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pearl by the sea” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wayside Inn

Save Saved
You added Wayside Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wayside Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   7th & Mission Street, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 30 Carmel B&B and Inns
Solna, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A pearl by the sea”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

A very nice little place to stay. Stay here when you're driving the PCH. However the parking was smaller than I thought so we had to park in the street. A nice neighbourhood so I wasn't worried about the car, but we had to walk a distance with our luggage. So be early if possible:)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    68
    46
    13
    6
    3
See reviews for
26
53
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I was there for one night for business, and my visit could not have been more pleasant. My room was lovely with a terrace and fireplace. The bed was supremely comfortable. The room and bathroom were spacious and the overall decor was lovely. The front desk, Stephanie was helpful ad very accommodating. A lovely cold breakfast I delivered to your room. I have nothing bad to say!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

It was just fabulous. The hotel was so cute. We receive the breakfast in the morning and we order the day before. The restrooms are not fabulous but it's okay for one or 2 nights. NO SWIMMING POOL. NO FITNESS CENTER

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sacramento, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We always stay at the Wayside. The service is impeccable, the location superb, and it's very nice to be able to leave the car parked, and walk about town. Close to Katies for breakfast, one block off Ocean. Freshly baked cookies and coffee in the lobby is a welcome sight when you check in. Breakfasts are a wonderful touch. Staff is uniformly well-informed about events/restaurants, and wonderfully friendly.

Room Tip: We like the rooms on the back, that open onto the parking lot. Nice balonies to sit outside and have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, AZ USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I arrived in Carmel without a reservation and happened upon the Wayside Inn. It was so quaint. The front desk staff person was so friendly and helpful. I room was very nice with a fireplace. Loved the location within walking distance to shops, restaurants and beach. The breakfast basket was awesome! Would definitely stay again if they accepted small pets.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Nice small hotel with great location. Really enjoyed breakfast delivery to room. Room very clean, wonderful beds and robes. Front desk staff could have been a little friendlier.will return.The gardens are really pretty and you are walking distance to restaurants,shops,centre of town.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed a couple of nights here, arriving after a long drive from Yosemite. We found the staff all very friendly and we were given an upstairs room with a balcony, two beds, nice bathroom and a fridge. Exactly what we needed. The best part was the location, it is right where you want to be in Carmel, next to all the boutique shopping, galleries and restaurants and a short pleasant walk down hill to the beach. We would certainly stay here again. When we checked out we still had three hours to kill and when I asked about parking at the beach I was told it would be fine to leave the car in the inn car park until later. A nice friendly gesture that made a very good impression.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wayside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wayside Inn

Address: 7th & Mission Street, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wayside Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the forest just across from Carmel's premier shopping plaza, the Wayside Inn reflects the charm of the quintessential Carmel cottage. Offering 22 guest rooms and suites, special amenities may include spa tubs, full kitchens, fireplaces, and large balconies overlooking the quaint village of Carmel. Complimentary continental breakfast is delivered to your door each morning with the daily newspaper and freshly baked cookies are always available in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Wayside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wayside Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wayside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.