We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wayside Inn

Save Saved
You added Wayside Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Wayside Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   7th & Mission Street, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
$20 off room rate
Ranked #24 of 31 Carmel B&B and Inns
Scottsdale, AZ USA
1 review
“Charming hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I arrived in Carmel without a reservation and happened upon the Wayside Inn. It was so quaint. The front desk staff person was so friendly and helpful. I room was very nice with a fireplace. Loved the location within walking distance to shops, restaurants and beach. The breakfast basket was awesome! Would definitely stay again if they accepted small pets.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    45
    13
    6
    3
See reviews for
26
51
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Nice small hotel with great location. Really enjoyed breakfast delivery to room. Room very clean, wonderful beds and robes. Front desk staff could have been a little friendlier.will return.The gardens are really pretty and you are walking distance to restaurants,shops,centre of town.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed a couple of nights here, arriving after a long drive from Yosemite. We found the staff all very friendly and we were given an upstairs room with a balcony, two beds, nice bathroom and a fridge. Exactly what we needed. The best part was the location, it is right where you want to be in Carmel, next to all the boutique shopping, galleries and restaurants and a short pleasant walk down hill to the beach. We would certainly stay here again. When we checked out we still had three hours to kill and when I asked about parking at the beach I was told it would be fine to leave the car in the inn car park until later. A nice friendly gesture that made a very good impression.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Good location for people who want to be in the centre of things. Spacious rooms with s superb separate living area. Bed was awesome, really the best ever and service was excellent. Clean, quiet and extremely comfortable. Definitely would stay again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

We arrived in Carmel after traveling from Vancouver via San Francisco. We we to be at a wedding at 2:00 PM and arrived at the hotel at 12:30. The disinterested staff member behind the counter said no rooms would be ready until 3. She uttered something about a guarantee. When I said we needed an alternative because we had to get dressed for the wedding and needed an ironing board, she simply slumped her shoulders and repeated something about a guarantee and 3 o'clock. She could not have been less helpful in what could easily have been an opportunity for her. It was only after I walked out to find another hotel that I was told that one of the rooms was available. I am free to assume that this is the standard this hotel wishes to strive for. In a world of choices, I say choose somewhere else. There is nothing special about this hotel and the service is deplorable.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FelinaSmith, Operations Manager at Wayside Inn, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
First, we want to thank this guest for taking the time to share their experience, which allows us an opportunity to improve our service.

It was very disappointing to learn of this guest’s frustration and poor impression of our staff. It is our goal to provide a high level of service, and there was a failure on our part to handle this situation in a gracious and proactive manner. Based on this guest’s experience, we have reviewed the situation with the management and front desk staff at the inn.

This reservation was made through a third party, and regrettably the request for an early check-in was not communicated to us. We therefore did not have an opportunity to make advance arrangements for an early arrival of 12:30pm. We understood their predicament, but sometimes early check-ins at such a small property are difficult, if not impossible, given many departing guests have not checked out until almost noon.

We have made an attempt to contact this guest via TripAdvisor, and are hopeful to hear back, so we might have a further dialog and reach a positive outcome.

Felina Smith
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodside, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

nice little inn with a great location. They have spacious rooms and reasonably updated bathrooms, etc. The only real drawback is the sqeaky old floors that make al ot of noise as the neighbors upstairs walk around.. all night on occasion. That could be a big issue for some visitors who may have to specify an upstairs unit to ensure a good night's sleep!?!

The manager and staff were very friendly too.

Room Tip: see above comments on the squeaky floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Healdsburg, California
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

In the heart of Carmel, steps away from best restaurants and shops. Clean, quiet and comfortable, with free parking. I would definitely stay there again. The studio has a small kitchen, with a fridge. Complimentary Wi-Fi.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wayside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wayside Inn

Also Known As:
Wayside Hotel Carmel
Wayside Hotel
Address: 7th & Mission Street, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wayside Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the forest just across from Carmel's premier shopping plaza, the Wayside Inn reflects the charm of the quintessential Carmel cottage. Offering 22 guest rooms and suites, special amenities may include spa tubs, full kitchens, fireplaces, and large balconies overlooking the quaint village of Carmel. Complimentary continental breakfast is delivered to your door each morning with the daily newspaper and freshly baked cookies are always available in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Wayside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wayside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.