We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is super, service was very friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wayside Inn

Save Saved
You added Wayside Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wayside Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   7th & Mission Street, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 30 Carmel B&B and Inns
Rotterdam, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Location is super, service was very friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed a couple of nights here, arriving after a long drive from Yosemite. We found the staff all very friendly and we were given an upstairs room with a balcony, two beds, nice bathroom and a fridge. Exactly what we needed. The best part was the location, it is right where you want to be in Carmel, next to all the boutique shopping, galleries and restaurants and a short pleasant walk down hill to the beach. We would certainly stay here again. When we checked out we still had three hours to kill and when I asked about parking at the beach I was told it would be fine to leave the car in the inn car park until later. A nice friendly gesture that made a very good impression.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    68
    46
    13
    6
    3
See reviews for
26
53
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Good location for people who want to be in the centre of things. Spacious rooms with s superb separate living area. Bed was awesome, really the best ever and service was excellent. Clean, quiet and extremely comfortable. Definitely would stay again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

We arrived in Carmel after traveling from Vancouver via San Francisco. We we to be at a wedding at 2:00 PM and arrived at the hotel at 12:30. The disinterested staff member behind the counter said no rooms would be ready until 3. She uttered something about a guarantee. When I said we needed an alternative because we had to get dressed for the wedding and needed an ironing board, she simply slumped her shoulders and repeated something about a guarantee and 3 o'clock. She could not have been less helpful in what could easily have been an opportunity for her. It was only after I walked out to find another hotel that I was told that one of the rooms was available. I am free to assume that this is the standard this hotel wishes to strive for. In a world of choices, I say choose somewhere else. There is nothing special about this hotel and the service is deplorable.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FelinaSmith, Operations Manager at Wayside Inn, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
First, we want to thank this guest for taking the time to share their experience, which allows us an opportunity to improve our service.

It was very disappointing to learn of this guest’s frustration and poor impression of our staff. It is our goal to provide a high level of service, and there was a failure on our part to handle this situation in a gracious and proactive manner. Based on this guest’s experience, we have reviewed the situation with the management and front desk staff at the inn.

This reservation was made through a third party, and regrettably the request for an early check-in was not communicated to us. We therefore did not have an opportunity to make advance arrangements for an early arrival of 12:30pm. We understood their predicament, but sometimes early check-ins at such a small property are difficult, if not impossible, given many departing guests have not checked out until almost noon.

We have made an attempt to contact this guest via TripAdvisor, and are hopeful to hear back, so we might have a further dialog and reach a positive outcome.

Felina Smith
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodside, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

nice little inn with a great location. They have spacious rooms and reasonably updated bathrooms, etc. The only real drawback is the sqeaky old floors that make al ot of noise as the neighbors upstairs walk around.. all night on occasion. That could be a big issue for some visitors who may have to specify an upstairs unit to ensure a good night's sleep!?!

The manager and staff were very friendly too.

Room Tip: see above comments on the squeaky floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Healdsburg, California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

In the heart of Carmel, steps away from best restaurants and shops. Clean, quiet and comfortable, with free parking. I would definitely stay there again. The studio has a small kitchen, with a fridge. Complimentary Wi-Fi.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We unexpectedly stopped at Carmel and had no place to stay. We called all around and found a suite at this very nice place, which is centrally located in the heart of Carmel. It has kind of a motel set up and the room we had, which was ground floor, picked up noise from people in the room above us and people walking on the street. However, it was a very clean, comfortable room. The bed was especially nice. We didn't get to stay for the continental breakfast we offered but I am sure that was nice as well. I don't know if I would want to spend an entire vacation here as I usually like to stay in a hotel with some amenities (i.e. a lobby) but this was very nice and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

The only really great thing about Wayside Inn in Carmel is that it is very centrally located in the heart of Carmel and close too all the great shops and restaurants. The beds are very comfortable but if you plan on sleeping in and getting rest, think again about staying here. Walls are paper thin. The older structure is quant but needs insulation and a bit more updating. Old wall heater really makes a lot of noise when on and the gas fireplace smells of gas. You do not know really if the gas is off or not. Staff is friendly and helpful. Our room was overall clean but found many spider webs. I don't think we would stay here again solely based on not being able to get a good nights sleep do to the talking of the other guests. We could hear the whole entire conversation in the next room!.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that isn't next to someone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wayside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wayside Inn

Address: 7th & Mission Street, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wayside Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the forest just across from Carmel's premier shopping plaza, the Wayside Inn reflects the charm of the quintessential Carmel cottage. Offering 22 guest rooms and suites, special amenities may include spa tubs, full kitchens, fireplaces, and large balconies overlooking the quaint village of Carmel. Complimentary continental breakfast is delivered to your door each morning with the daily newspaper and freshly baked cookies are always available in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Wayside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wayside Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wayside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.