We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Property” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wayside Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Wayside Inn to your Saves list
Wayside Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   7th & Mission Street, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 28 Carmel B&B and Inns
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Charming Property”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We found this Inn by chance and so glad that we did. It was one of the most charming places we stayed on our trip. Close to the shops we were able to enjoy an evening stroll in the downtown area. The room and bathroom were very large and the bed was super comfy. I can't say enough good things about this property.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    50
    14
    6
    3
See reviews for
33
66
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sonoma
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

My wife and I have stayed twice at the Wayside Inn and have had great experiences both times. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The staff is very friendly and helpful with all your needs. They have a great little breakfast delivered to your room with the newspaper. The location is central to all things that are fun and enjoyable to do in Carmel. The rates are very reasonable. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We returned to the Wayside for the second time for a four day visit of Carmel. We once again enjoyed our stay completely. You can ignore the few negative comments here. The furnishings are top of the line. The decor pleasing. Everything is spotless and well maintained. We loved the soft bed with fine sheets. The pillows were a bit big, so next time I will bring my own. But, really this is a delightful bed.

We asked for a room with a kitchen based on comments here. But, when we arrive to our up stairs room, we noticed that when the window was open, we heard the air conditioner of the building next door. My wife likes it quiet. The room was elegant, with a kitchen, living area with fireplace and separate bedroom. But, we asked for a quieter room.

The attentive reception woman immediately tried to help find us another room. We chose a lover level room with french doors opening to a small patio with metal table and chairs with flowers in bloom everywhere. We loved this room. With the shades pulled it was completely dark. And very quiet and comfy. We heard kids running occasionally upstairs, but really not a bother at night at all.

We didn't miss the kitchen, since there is a single cup coffee maker -- always stocked with coffee and toaster. Hey, we came to Carmel to enjoy the fine places to eat.

Some comment here that they didn't like the cold breakfast provided on request. That is silly. The Wayside gives you a choice of items and we choose fruit and yogurt for an afternoon and evening snack, since we found wonderful places for breakfast a few blocks away.

The best part of the Wayside is the location. You are just a few steps away from all that Carmel has to offer, restaurants, art galleries, and the beach. To be totally relaxed we reserved two days without driving our rental car and focused on long walks, afternoon naps and figuring out our biggest problem -- where to eat.

Lunch at Casanovas and dinner and breakfast at Le Bicycle produced a "have we every had anything better?: reaction. No kidding, some of the best food we have enjoyed.

One day we drove ten minutes to the Point Lobos State Park for a day hike and some of the most beautiful scenery anywhere.

The first two days were warm, the last two days were windy and cold, so bring warm clothes. In any weather, Carmel's Wayside should be your destination.

Room Tip: Lower level with patio means you won't have to climb stairs. Upstairs room with balcony means be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pleasant hill,ca
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

we stayed 3 nights,celebrating our 30th anniversary. it was a great choice for us; very large room with nice extras like dining table, refrig, microwave. so convienient to shops and restaurant. a good value with the "inns by the sea" special.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

There are only positive things to say about Wayside Inn. We loved our stay. The view from our balcony was lovely. We enjoyed the fireplace in our room along with the great furnishings. The Wayside Inn is located near many restaurants mad the walk to the beach is not difficult.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiburon, CA
Top Contributor
271 reviews 271 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Our room was huge, and included a couch and matching chair , a desk, a separate jacuzzi area, a fireplace, a balcony, a comfortable king bed, a bathroom with basin and nice shower, and a well-equipped "kitchenette" area with microwave and fridge, and a second basin. The room was very clean, on the upper level, accessed via steps.
A basic continental breakfast is delivered to your door in the morning in an insulated bag, with your choice of items made from a listing that you leave outside in the evening.
there are 8 fewer parking spots than rooms , so the Inn has arranged for free parking at the end of the block in a municipal parking lot. This means that some will have to unload first, then move their car, and the reverse in departing.
location is very convenient for accessing downtown Carmel.
front desk was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms on the southern quadrangle had better, easier parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

A bit pricey but, location, room, breakfast, staff. All perfect. Walk out to the stores and short walk to the beach. The room was beautiful, and buatifully kept. It is near everything, but on the side so it is in a quiet spot. Breakfast in the room is a fantastic idea and quality was very good. Will definitively go again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wayside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wayside Inn

Address: 7th & Mission Street, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wayside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the forest just across from Carmel's premier shopping plaza, the Wayside Inn reflects the charm of the quintessential Carmel cottage. Offering 22 guest rooms and suites, special amenities may include spa tubs, full kitchens, fireplaces, and large balconies overlooking the quaint village of Carmel. Complimentary continental breakfast is delivered to your door each morning with the daily newspaper and freshly baked cookies are always available in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wayside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wayside Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wayside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.