We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy + Convenient!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wayside Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Wayside Inn to your Saves list
Wayside Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   7th & Mission Street, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 29 Carmel B&B and Inns
Mill Valley, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Cozy + Convenient!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I've stayed at the Wayside Inn twice now, this last time over Thanksgiving 2012. The location is perfect, quiet yet walking distance to everything in Carmel. The beds are fabulous and the rooms with Living Room and fireplace really make it feel like a home away from home. Bathrooms are small, but updated with marble, etc. Charming curb appeal with flower boxes, etc. Property has parking which is a big plus in Carmel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    50
    14
    6
    3
See reviews for
33
63
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Bilancia2012 has it spot on -- the positives are its location and room size; negatives are dated décor and no view. The boxed breakfast thing is a feature of several of the Inns By The Sea (e.g. Svendsgaard) but at least at this place you can easily opt out of the breakfast, which we did.

Also, the beds all have feather mattress-top covers. My wife finds these uncomfortable to sleep on; we requested they remove it but the message got mixed up with housekeeping and they removed the feather quilt instead.

Even with all that, if you stay at any of the Inns By The Sea once, they'll send you special off-season rate deals which definitely increase the value of the location and diminish the other negatives.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Gables, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Positives: hotel has a center of town location with parking and a good staff.

Negatives: breakfast in a box consisting of a cartoon of milk, plastic cereal box and a fruit.
No view
Dated decor
Next time we will look for another place

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed 5 days over Thanksgiving holiday. Our room had a separate bedroom, living room & kitchen. Each rooms were not big but cozy. Bathroom was small but clean and updated, also has jet bath. Beds were very comfortable. Location was perfect. There are many great restaurants steps away. Very convenience location. I liked the morning breakfast delivery, simple but enough. We really enjoyed staying this inn.

PS. It's true you can hear noise upstairs but most old inn and b&b, they have same issues.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stayed at the Wayside the night before thanksgiving. The room was beautiful, the bed was extremely comfortable and the people we encountered at the front desk were incredibly helpful with questions we had about our stay and about the town of carmel. the hotel is located right in the middle of town. i recommend parking in their lot and then walking around town rather then finding a metered spot on the street.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

This establishment has been designed to obtain the best possible return on investment for shareholders with the minimum amount of management input.

The staff on site are friendly and efficient and there is parking on site. The rooms are clean, comfortable and large enough. The Inn is only a close walk from some delightful restaurants, cafés and bars.

On arrival it was not obvious where the reception was. There is no dining room, breakfast is ordered on a card in the room and is delivered in a picnic pack early in the morning. There are no suitable table or chairs in the room where you can sit and eat your breakfast and although the breakfast menu gives you the choice of toast only a slice of bread is included in the pack but no toaster is provided!

There is coffee, biscuits and fruit available in reception and there is also a coffee making machine in the room with two sachets of coffee, one of which is decaffeinated; each sachet making one pot of coffee.

It's the lack of effort from management that lets this place down. If you're looking for a genuine B&B I'd suggest you look for somewhere run by the owner rather than this corporate inn.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Stayed two nights in celebration of our 15th wedding anniversary. The location is nice -- right in town, and there's an ATM and a market very close. The room was clean, though it did have an odd smell. Sort of musty...but not really. Couldn't really label it. Sort of like going over to someone's house and noticing it just smells different from your house. (Is it just me??) Aired out fast enough and we wouldn't notice it again until after being out for a while and then coming back. Anyway, it was that way in two rooms. We switched out of our first just because of the layout. The sitting room was nice, but the bedroom totally separate, like at home. Which is because the property used to be apartments, according to the gal at the desk. Just personal preference, I like a more open room, esp if the room has a fire place (which it did). I want what I don't have at home: a fireplace in my bedroom! The manager was very gracious and switched us to the only other available room, which was a bit more open. Couldn't really see the fireplace while lying in bed unless you sat up, but you got the feeling at least. Sort of a "partial fireplace view." She also gave us a bottle of local wine, which was very kind. In addition to two TV's (one of ours didn't work the first night and the staffer on duty couldn't solve it, but they fixed the next day), the room also had a microwave, small frig, a couple of plates (didn't see any flatware), and small Keurig coffee maker. The breakfast offerings seemed meager on paper, so we opted to eat at several of the places in town instead. The bed was comfy, if a bit soft for my tastes. Feathers or something that I sunk down into. I move around a bit at night and having somewhat of a shallow pit makes that difficult. Overall, I'd say the room was "nice." The two biggest negatives to me were the noise and the parking. It's an older building (at least the part we stayed in -- I think there are newer (and, I think, nicer) rooms) and we were on the bottom. Nothing outrageous, but we could hear the creaks as the people above us moved about. From the description I assumed there would be enough parking for ALL the guests. Not so. We had to park on the street several times, including one of the nights. The woman at the desk told us if we couldn't fine parking nearby on the street to head over to a parking lot and she'd see about getting us a pass or something. Not positive on exactly how they assist with that because we found a spot across the street. Not the end of the world, but it's nice when parking at night to not have to worry about finding a spot. Overall, our stay was pleasant but, given that it was such a special occasion, I wish we'd stayed elsewhere for the same money and given up the location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wayside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wayside Inn

Address: 7th & Mission Street, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wayside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the forest just across from Carmel's premier shopping plaza, the Wayside Inn reflects the charm of the quintessential Carmel cottage. Offering 22 guest rooms and suites, special amenities may include spa tubs, full kitchens, fireplaces, and large balconies overlooking the quaint village of Carmel. Complimentary continental breakfast is delivered to your door each morning with the daily newspaper and freshly baked cookies are always available in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wayside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wayside Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wayside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.