We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Playa Carmel

Save Saved
You added La Playa Carmel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Playa Carmel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Camino Real at 8th Ave, Carmel, CA 93921 (Formerly La Playa Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Carmel
Minneapolis
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My husband and I spent two nights here and loved it. Very friendly and helpful staff. Loved our room. It was on the fourth floor with ocean view and also faced the beautiful gardens and the pool. Quiet and relaxing and clean. Only a couple blocks from the ocean which is a perfect place to catch the sunset each evening. Close to town and all the great places to dine. They host a free wine tasting each night which we loved of course! Parking was not a problem as there really are no parking restrictions. If you have any mobility issues be sure to make use of the helpful bellmen. There is no elevator but they are more then willing to help you with luggage, dinner reservations etc. They do serve breakfast but it's nothing to rave about. We loved this place and hope to return again one day!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    66
    27
    7
    5
See reviews for
42
172
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nicosia, Cyprus
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

My husband and I stayed at the hotel for 2 nights in Aug 2014. It was absolutely wonderfull!!! The hotel is very romantic, very quiet, and is located near the beach but also within walking distance from the town's center where are all the restaurants and shops! Loved the gardens and the pool! Extremely friendly stuff and amazing free morning breakfast (& mimosas!) served on the veranda overlooking the gardens! Nice touch the surprise cup cakes we received for my birthday (which was 2 days before checking-in)!!! As far as the airconditioning goes, I don't think is necessary since the climate is so mild, even in Aug! We would LOVE to stay here again!!! Totally recomend it!!!
PS: Just 2 small things for improvement: A safe box in the room is really usefull!!!! Also VALET PARKING is a must since pkg in Carmel is really limited and only on the streets!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

La Playa Carmel offers a gorgeous setting, ideal location, and exceptional service. It's a beautiful historic hotel in the European tradition. Our stay could not have been better.

Our third-floor room overlooked the exquisite gardens and pool with an ocean view beyond the trees. We left our windows open each night and slept to the sounds of waves crashing on the beach.

The hotel is located two short blocks up from the beach. We walked on the beach for an hour each morning before breakfast. We watched dolphins, seals, sea otters and sea birds fishing in the surf. Other beach walkers played catch with their dogs or watched the sunrise.

The hotel is also two short blocks down from the tree-lined streets of the Carmel business district. Every street, shop, art gallery, restaurant and home in downtown Carmel looks like it came from the pages of a storybook. The whole town is just perfect, almost too good to be true.

Despite its convenient location, the hotel feels private, a little oasis from the world. The Saturday courtyard wedding we observed could not have had a prettier setting.

We received absolutely outstanding service at La Playa Carmel. The staff was not just polite but friendly. They seemed delighted to have us staying with them. A shuttle took us to the restaurant of our choice each evening and picked us up again within five minutes of our call. Warm chocolate chip cookies and cold milk were available in the lobby each evening. Nightly turndown service included a Ghirardelli chocolate on our pillows.

Each morning breakfast was served on a covered patio overlooking the pool (or in the adjoining dining room). A chef cooked Beligian waffles and made-to-order omelets. The variety of food was incredible, from fruits to pastries to steel-cut oatmeal to fresh tomato and mozzarella salad.

While quite expensive by American standards, I imagine La Playa Carmel especially appeals to European guests whose currency exchange rates would make room charges quite affordable.

La Playa Carmel was built in 1905. While completely renovated with modern comforts, the hotel retains its historic charm. There is no elevator. Our room and bathroom were small but perfectly furnished and exceptionally comfortable. This is not a cookie-cutter American chain hotel. This is a gem of a hotel, a one-of-a-kind beauty in a one-of-a-kind setting.

Room Tip: Choose a courtyard or ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary C, General Manager at La Playa Carmel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Connie,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at La Playa. I was delighted to know how much you enjoyed the unique experience of La Playa and of Carmel by the Sea. Thank you also for your kind words about our service and staff . Knowing that we have left our guests with a positive impression gives us all of us at La Playa the greatest pleasure. I hope that we have an opportunity to welcome you back.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed here for five nights while attending the Concours d'Elegance. We had an ocean view room and it was about $659 night. There's no valet when you arrive so you're on your own to find a parking place for your car, not an easy thing because their parking lot has only sixteen spots.. When we entered the room, it was stuffy and I immediately tried to turn on the air. No such thing. You're supposed to just open the windows if you're hot. Great. So for all five days, the windows were open, the only way it was bearable. Although the nights were cool, the air was damp so in the morning, everything felt damp, even the bedding. The bathroom was so tiny. You couldn't fit two oranges in the sink if you tried. The staff was great, the grounds beautifully manicured and the breakfast was lovely. But other than that, I doubt we'd stay here again. From there, we went to the Ritz Carlton in San Fran for about $100 less a night and WAY nicer. Sorry, La Playa.

Room Tip: None of the rooms have AC so be sure to get an ocean front room but warning, you'll pay for it b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary C, General Manager at La Playa Carmel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear DK,

Thank you for your comments regarding La Playa Carmel. I was happy to know that you enjoyed our champagne brunch and service staff. I was sorry to learn of your disappointment in the temperature and size of your guest room. Our mild coastal climate seldom reaches temperatures that require air cooling, very few buildings in the Carmel area are air conditioned. La Playa was built in 1905 and indeed room sizes vary. While available rooms were very limited during the busy Concourse week, I would be happy to offer a larger room in the future. We would welcome the opportunity to have you return to La Playa.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed in the La Playa Carmel for three days and felt quite comfortable. The house is old and would need some renovation (rooms especially) but is still beautiful and well taken care about.

We have seen both - pool villa and standard room - and have not been impressed by the rooms. The standard rooms are very small, two persons in the bathroom is impossible. If you have two or more pieces of luggage it will be difficult to find place to store them. Overall rooms are very basic.

Pool villa is much bigger but basic at all with the exception of a fireplace which is a very nice thing.

Lobby and garden are very nice, bar as well. Great food and nice service.

Breakfast is the highlight. While it does not have the huge variety as some of the big houses provide it offers outstanding quality. What has impressed us most is the 'refill' policy. If breakfast ends at 11am and you show up 5min before that you will find the full choice of everything. Even the smallest thing is replaced immediately; if part of the cheese plater is gone -> they bring a new one. Very fine and huge impact on this 'feel good' mood.

Overall a nice place in a good location but very expensive.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary C, General Manager at La Playa Carmel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Christian W

Thank you for your kind words regarding your recent experience at La Playa. I am delighted to know that you enjoyed the brunch and the grounds. La Playa retains a unique quality true to it's 1905 residential charm. We endeavor to maintain that special feeling for our guests. We hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palm desert
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a premier king view room. The rate was $699.00 per night. The view was nice, but not great. There was a lot noise both inside and out. Room small and in need of some maintenance. No safe in room nor elevator. Nice courtyard, but noise from pool, chess set and late night talkers takes away the beauty. It is a short walk to the beach, but a real uphill climb to downtown. Staff very nice and helpful. Complimentary breakfast very nice.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary C, General Manager at La Playa Carmel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Jtsleo,
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. I was happy to know that you enjoyed our staff, service and champagne brunch. We do offer a complimentary shuttle service in the evening to our local restaurants. Please let me know if your future plans included a visit to Carmel, I would be happy to personally arrange your reservation. I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back.
Best regards,
Mary Crowe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great Location - walking distance to beach and main street. We went there looking for rest and got it. Lovely property, the rooms are definitely not large but nor is to be expected in this area. We had lovely views of the pacific from our room. The room could use a little update but overall its functional and tasteful. Bathrooms are tired and definitely use some sprucing. It's overall quiet and the only noise comes from the pool. There was a party one night and that was incredibly loud. There was no AC so closing the windows won't do. So if there are partiers there, it will be loud for a little while.The front desk people could not be more helpful and nice. On a service note - the only consistently cranky one was one of the breakfast ladies. Great breakfast BTW. The hotel has a wonderful bar. Concierge was also very helpful. Would return.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Playa Carmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Playa Carmel

Address: Camino Real at 8th Ave, Carmel, CA 93921 (Formerly La Playa Hotel)
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#4 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Playa Carmel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Playa Carmel is a 75-room historic luxury boutique hotel, newly restored to preserve its turn-of-the-century charm while updating it to modern-day standards. Located two blocks from the beach and village shops, art galleries and restaurants, the hotel is situated in the heart of Carmel and anchors its most prestigious residential neighborhood. The grounds encompass meticulously tended gardens, intimate patios, secluded courtyards and a tranquil terrace swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, TravelClick, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your La Playa Carmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Playa
La Playa Carmel Ca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Playa Carmel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.