We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location - Pretty Property” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Playa Carmel

Save Saved
You added La Playa Carmel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Playa Carmel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Camino Real at 8th Ave, Carmel, CA 93921 (Formerly La Playa Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 21 hotels in Carmel
New York City, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Location - Pretty Property”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Great Location - walking distance to beach and main street. We went there looking for rest and got it. Lovely property, the rooms are definitely not large but nor is to be expected in this area. We had lovely views of the pacific from our room. The room could use a little update but overall its functional and tasteful. Bathrooms are tired and definitely use some sprucing. It's overall quiet and the only noise comes from the pool. There was a party one night and that was incredibly loud. There was no AC so closing the windows won't do. So if there are partiers there, it will be loud for a little while.The front desk people could not be more helpful and nice. On a service note - the only consistently cranky one was one of the breakfast ladies. Great breakfast BTW. The hotel has a wonderful bar. Concierge was also very helpful. Would return.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    176
    66
    24
    7
    5
See reviews for
41
167
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
northampton
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

glorious setting near beach and town. All walkable. Rooms very comfortable and some with bath and shower. Great inclusive breakfasts. Lovely pool in garden. Opportunity to do some walking rather than driving. Austin in the bar was great. Staff kind and considerate. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Try to stay away form ground floor road side rooms as these suffer some early morning road noise. Ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madisonville, LA
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This has always been one of our favorite places for breakfast or cocktails. Hope the new owners keep up the tradition. We'll be checking it out next week. Beautiful courtyard and pool. Rooms comfortable

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary C, General Manager at La Playa Carmel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Jim,

We look forward to your visit this week. I hope that I have an opportunity to say hello while you are here, I would appreciate your feedback regarding some of the new amenities we have added. Please let me know what I may do to make your stay memorable.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We were originally staying for 2 nights but extended to 4. A great hotel with character. The complimentary breakfast is amazing and the staff extremely friendly and helpful. A young man called Jovan is one of the most helpful and friendly hotel staff members we have ever experienced. I would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary C, General Manager at La Playa Carmel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Michele,

I am delighted to know that your experience at La Playa was so positive that you decided to extend your stay. Thank you for your kind words for Jovan, we feel very fortunate to have him on our service team. I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if I may be of assistance.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed two nights recently. It is a beautifully charming hotel. The grounds are stunning, the lobby is fantastic and you feel like you are staying at a large estate near the ocean. The location cant be beat. However, this is a hotel built in the early 1920's. It is beautifully restored, and my bathroom was lovely and clean. However, we did splurge for a garden room and the first night of our stay, we had three teenage boys staying above us and their loud footsteps bothered us and ruined our tranquility. I called the front desk and they were very accommodating. After the second call, they did ask them to be aware of other guests. Luckily for us, they checked out the next day. We were offered a room to move to, but we were already in bed when the boys decided to be rowdy.

If noises above your head bother you, I recommend you get a room on the top floor and not a garden room. We loved sitting on our patio, but because there is no air conditioning (it is not really needed) and most of the time everyone's windows are open, you have to take that into account when booking any room on the first floor. The pool rooms are right on the pool deck, so I imagine they would also be noisy during the day if there were kids in the pool.

Room Tip: pick a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed 2 nights in August in the premier ocean view room (paying around $650/night). Check in was easy and staff were kind and helpful. There are no elevators, but staff assist you with your bags. We checked in late and they had delicious homemade chocolate chip cookies and milk out which was nice. The location was great. We could walk to everything in town. The weather was gloomy so sadly we didn't get to use the pool or see the beautiful gardens all lit up in the sunlight. But, yes, the grounds are quite pretty. The breakfast was nice and satisfying, however, outdoor seating is quite limited.

BUT...our room. It was very tiny. The pictures on the website are not realistic. Do not splurge and get an ocean view room. Our view was more of the roof of the restaurant and then in the distance was the ocean (you could hear it a bit at night though). Additionally, there was a pair of underwear on the roof of the restaurant and our window was broken (they came to fix it, but it was still broke. They did credit us $50/night at check out for this). The TV was tiny (yes, we like to watch TV/Netflix and relax while on vacation) and there was no desk area in the room. The hotel is very pretty with gorgeous tile going up the staircases etc....but our bathroom looked like it was straight out of a Holiday Inn (that generic tan colored tile...no charm, no character). I excepted the charm of the lobby to continue into the rooms quite frankly...especially at this price tag.

My thoughts are if you get a great deal on this hotel and maybe get a garden view room or larger room with a patio, then by all means GO! Otherwise, find a cheaper, quaint B&B in town and save your money for great dinners in town.

Room Tip: Do not pay extra for an ocean view room! Go for larger space and maybe a garden view room with a pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary C, General Manager at La Playa Carmel, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Teresa,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at La Playa. Your feedback provides information important to our ongoing improvement efforts.
Thank you for your kind words regarding staff, service and amenities. I apologize for the disappointment you experienced with your guest room and I regret any inconvenience this caused. I am embarrassed by the poor impression that we left with you. Given another opportunity, I am confident that we can provide the service and memorable experience that you should expect at La Playa.
We do have seasonal rates available . Please do not hesitate to contact me directly should your future plans include a visit to Carmel. I would be most happy to personally arrange your reservation. I hope that we have an opportunity to welcome you back.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Went to this hotel after a hectic weekend in San fran. It was the perfect retreat. Lovely old school style, with fantastic gardens, a pool and views to the sea. Although we never had a room with a view this did not mar our opinion that it was a great hotel. First and foremost the staff are amazing and do everything to make your stay comfortable from the fantastic breakfast to the complimentary car taking you to the restaurant of your choice each evening. Wine tasting and chocolates delivered to your room were an added bonus!. Even our teenage daughters loved this hotel and didn't want to leave. Carmel by the sea is a lovely quaint town with fantastic restaurants and shops but not for those looking for a late night!!

Room Tip: Absolutely no noise from small residential road show in photo and not close to any bedrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Playa Carmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Playa Carmel

Address: Camino Real at 8th Ave, Carmel, CA 93921 (Formerly La Playa Hotel)
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Carmel
#3 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Playa Carmel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Playa Carmel is a 75-room historic luxury boutique hotel, newly restored to preserve its turn-of-the-century charm while updating it to modern-day standards. Located two blocks from the beach and village shops, art galleries and restaurants, the hotel is situated in the heart of Carmel and anchors its most prestigious residential neighborhood. The grounds encompass meticulously tended gardens, intimate patios, secluded courtyards and a tranquil terrace swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your La Playa Carmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Playa
La Playa Carmel Ca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Playa Carmel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.