We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting, walking distance to Carmel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Playa Carmel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added La Playa Carmel to your Saves list
La Playa Carmel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Camino Real at 8th Ave, Carmel, CA 93921 (Formerly La Playa Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting, walking distance to Carmel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

We were originally staying for 2 nights but extended to 4. A great hotel with character. The complimentary breakfast is amazing and the staff extremely friendly and helpful. A young man called Jovan is one of the most helpful and friendly hotel staff members we have ever experienced. I would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary C, General Manager at La Playa Carmel, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Michele,

I am delighted to know that your experience at La Playa was so positive that you decided to extend your stay. Thank you for your kind words for Jovan, we feel very fortunate to have him on our service team. I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if I may be of assistance.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    71
    33
    7
    6
See reviews for
46
198
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

We stayed two nights recently. It is a beautifully charming hotel. The grounds are stunning, the lobby is fantastic and you feel like you are staying at a large estate near the ocean. The location cant be beat. However, this is a hotel built in the early 1920's. It is beautifully restored, and my bathroom was lovely and clean. However, we did splurge for a garden room and the first night of our stay, we had three teenage boys staying above us and their loud footsteps bothered us and ruined our tranquility. I called the front desk and they were very accommodating. After the second call, they did ask them to be aware of other guests. Luckily for us, they checked out the next day. We were offered a room to move to, but we were already in bed when the boys decided to be rowdy.

If noises above your head bother you, I recommend you get a room on the top floor and not a garden room. We loved sitting on our patio, but because there is no air conditioning (it is not really needed) and most of the time everyone's windows are open, you have to take that into account when booking any room on the first floor. The pool rooms are right on the pool deck, so I imagine they would also be noisy during the day if there were kids in the pool.

Room Tip: pick a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We stayed 2 nights in August in the premier ocean view room (paying around $650/night). Check in was easy and staff were kind and helpful. There are no elevators, but staff assist you with your bags. We checked in late and they had delicious homemade chocolate chip cookies and milk out which was nice. The location was great. We could walk to everything in town. The weather was gloomy so sadly we didn't get to use the pool or see the beautiful gardens all lit up in the sunlight. But, yes, the grounds are quite pretty. The breakfast was nice and satisfying, however, outdoor seating is quite limited.

BUT...our room. It was very tiny. The pictures on the website are not realistic. Do not splurge and get an ocean view room. Our view was more of the roof of the restaurant and then in the distance was the ocean (you could hear it a bit at night though). Additionally, there was a pair of underwear on the roof of the restaurant and our window was broken (they came to fix it, but it was still broke. They did credit us $50/night at check out for this). The TV was tiny (yes, we like to watch TV/Netflix and relax while on vacation) and there was no desk area in the room. The hotel is very pretty with gorgeous tile going up the staircases etc....but our bathroom looked like it was straight out of a Holiday Inn (that generic tan colored tile...no charm, no character). I excepted the charm of the lobby to continue into the rooms quite frankly...especially at this price tag.

My thoughts are if you get a great deal on this hotel and maybe get a garden view room or larger room with a patio, then by all means GO! Otherwise, find a cheaper, quaint B&B in town and save your money for great dinners in town.

Room Tip: Do not pay extra for an ocean view room! Go for larger space and maybe a garden view room with a pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary C, General Manager at La Playa Carmel, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear Teresa,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at La Playa. Your feedback provides information important to our ongoing improvement efforts.
Thank you for your kind words regarding staff, service and amenities. I apologize for the disappointment you experienced with your guest room and I regret any inconvenience this caused. I am embarrassed by the poor impression that we left with you. Given another opportunity, I am confident that we can provide the service and memorable experience that you should expect at La Playa.
We do have seasonal rates available . Please do not hesitate to contact me directly should your future plans include a visit to Carmel. I would be most happy to personally arrange your reservation. I hope that we have an opportunity to welcome you back.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Went to this hotel after a hectic weekend in San fran. It was the perfect retreat. Lovely old school style, with fantastic gardens, a pool and views to the sea. Although we never had a room with a view this did not mar our opinion that it was a great hotel. First and foremost the staff are amazing and do everything to make your stay comfortable from the fantastic breakfast to the complimentary car taking you to the restaurant of your choice each evening. Wine tasting and chocolates delivered to your room were an added bonus!. Even our teenage daughters loved this hotel and didn't want to leave. Carmel by the sea is a lovely quaint town with fantastic restaurants and shops but not for those looking for a late night!!

Room Tip: Absolutely no noise from small residential road show in photo and not close to any bedrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

This beachside hotel was in the perfect spot for a summer vacation. The room was perfect with sounds of the waves day and night. The breakfast was wonderful and the cocktail lounge was intimate and fun.
The beach is only steps away and so is the shopping. We took the complimentary shuttle to dinner which was perfect!
We had dinner as CASANOVA a must in town, recommended by your lovely hotel.
Thanks for a great few days of bliss!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

What a disappointment! What is portrayed on the web site is not at all what you get! I was sooooo excited to spend the weekend at this beautiful, grand, fancy hotel (based on website). however, once checked in, my heart dropped when I walked into our tiny, stinky room! I felt like I was at a cheap motel! when I voiced my concerns to the front desk, she said she'd be glad to give us a different room but there would be a rate change!! We already spent a lot of $$$ on this room and I wasn't about to spend more. The room was uncomfortable, small, stinky and loud! The bathroom was not much better. Our romantic weekend get away turned into a huge dissapointment! I would NEVER stay here again nor would I recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary C, General Manager at La Playa Carmel, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear Joanna,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments after your recent stay at La Playa. Your feedback provides information important to our ongoing improvement efforts. We endeavor to provide all of our guests with an exceptional experience, and we clearly failed to do so during your recent stay with us.

I was sorry to learn of your disappointment with your guest room and I am embarrassed by the poor impression that we left with you. La Playa has a number of different types and sizes of guest rooms. Given another opportunity, I am confident that we can provide the memorable experience that you should expect at La Playa.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly should your future plans include a visit to Carmel. I would be most happy to personally arrange a reservation. I hope that we have an opportunity to welcome you back.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Carmel exudes class! And we thought we had chosen the best hotel here by far! Elegant, old-style Californian charm. The rooms and bathrooms are quite small (especially after spending last week at the Bellagio,Las Vegas!) but you have to remember that this an historic hotel. Carmel tries to keep its town residential and discourages large scale commercialism. The residents live on the beautiful coast road overlooking the ocean and one of the best beaches I have had the pleasure to walk. We were only one block back but had a lovely ocean view as the road rises steeply from the ocean to the main little charming, quaint town. One thing to bear in mind is that although there a quite a few bars and restaurants everything closes down early and there are no street lights! We got in a pickle one night trying to eat at 8.30/9.00 and then got lost trying to find our way back in total darkness! Take a torchlight if you go into town!

The hotel staff are exceptional for such a young team - courteous and could not do enough for us. They run a complimentary shuttle to take you hither and thither and you can ask for some great beach chairs to take to the beach. Complimentary wine hour from 5.30 to 6.30 with a beautiful terrace to drink in the sunset. There is always a fire going in the lounge for the chillier evenings - and even in July it does get chilly so take warm casual elegant clothing and wraps and scarves and leave your maxi dressy dresses at home ladies - Leave those for the med!

Dolphins were in the bay while we were there so keep a look out!

Oh and the breakfasts here are fantastic - best omelettes in a long time and lots of choices - try the waffles and make your own yoghurt parfait with the beautiful fruit selection - there is always a bottle of champagne also to help yourself along with fresh orange juice .... Or you just might want it neat!

Room Tip: Ocean view every time!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Playa Carmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Playa Carmel

Address: Camino Real at 8th Ave, Carmel, CA 93921 (Formerly La Playa Hotel)
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Carmel
#4 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Playa Carmel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Playa Carmel is a 75-room historic luxury boutique hotel, newly restored to preserve its turn-of-the-century charm while updating it to modern-day standards. Located two blocks from the beach and village shops, art galleries and restaurants, the hotel is situated in the heart of Carmel and anchors its most prestigious residential neighborhood. The grounds encompass meticulously tended gardens, intimate patios, secluded courtyards and a tranquil terrace swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your La Playa Carmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Playa
La Playa Carmel Ca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Playa Carmel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.