We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful grounds, great location & wonderful breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Playa Carmel

Save Saved
You added La Playa Carmel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Playa Carmel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Camino Real at 8th Ave, Carmel, CA 93921 (Formerly La Playa Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 21 hotels in Carmel
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful grounds, great location & wonderful breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

A beautiful representation of Carmel- lovely property, romantic, complimentary wine hour by the fireplace & a breakfast not to be missed! The staff is also very friendly & helpful. Will definitely return on our next trip!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    168
    62
    23
    7
    4
See reviews for
37
158
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

First the good news: the location is quiet yet only a short walk into town, there's a pleasant Spanish-mission ambience, staff are very friendly and helpful, the included breakfast is great. Overall presentation of public areas & gardens is excellent.

Unfortunately the overall experience is badly let down by the rooms which come nowhere near matching the +$600 nightly rates. Size is cosy and they’re very clean, but there’s no disguising they are old with only a superficial facelift. Bathrooms are a fair effort considering their age, but barely match hotels elsewhere for 30% of the cost. The decorators have made several nice detail touches, but the age and low grade construction means they’re still as noisy as a $120/night chain motel. Despite the outward appearance of the hotel, rooms are only of timber construction. Noise insulation is poor, with neighbours' showering nearly drowning out the TV. And – no air conditioning or ventilation apart from opening the windows. I don't recall the last time we stayed in a hotel that didn't have air conditioning available. At 30-50% of the room rate these shortcomings could possibly be accepted, but definitely not at the price levels being charged.

We'd just come from significantly superior hotels in San Francisco and immediately after in Santa Barbara. Both were around half the cost and had none of these shortcomings. One can’t help thinking there’s a hefty “Carmel premium” being charged beyond what's being offered. I can’t comment on the cost of other local alternatives, but to be classed as decent value this hotel needs to drop its rates or dramatically raise its room standards. Quite disappointing since the staff and the public areas are otherwise great.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We came here as the last part of a brief honeymoon and it was wonderful. They brought out the champagne of course. Breakfast was lovely with handmade omelets, waffles, and other goodies. And the New York Times as well to linger over on the porch outside - heated if necessary. The staff were extremely helpful. The concierge went out of her way to find us yoga, make bike reservations, and help with restaurants. Views of the ocean are lovely and the proximity to the beach is a real plus. The rooms are a little bit dated, particularly the small bathroom, but on balance, a terrific experience.

Room Tip: 3rd or 4th floor, ocean view recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for only one night on route down the west coast... wished we could have stayed longer!

This is a cosy little property in the heart of Carmel with lovely rooms, gardens and public areas. Within walking distance to everything in Carmel, very near the beach and restaurants however should you wish, the hotel also provide a free shuttle service. We made good use of the complimentary wine tasting, cookies and milk and breakfast - all were of a high standard and a really nice touch! Staff also very helpful and accommodating.
Our favourite hotel during our 16 night stay in California!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aptos, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a mother daughter getaway at this fabulous hotel. The staff is so kind and efficient. The room clean and beds super comfortable. We felt like we had gone to Europe for the night. Champagne at check in. Shuttle bus to anywhere downtown, and warm cookies at night. They also have a wine tasting and a wonderful Champagne Breakfast. You can walk everywhere so convenient. We cannot wait to go back

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary C, General Manager at La Playa Carmel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Saliee,

I am so happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Carmel is the perfect spot for a mother daughter or girlfriend getaway. We look forward to welcoming you back to La Playa on your next visit.

Best regards,

Mary C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Spent two nights with my family and enjoyed good service and excellent breakfast. Lunch at the terrace had large portions. Could easily have shared. Old style cosy hotel in a very charming location. Walking distance to everything in Carmel, the beach, the restaurants, the shops.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granville, Ohio
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I vistit Carmel often. We chose La Playa based on the location relative to the beach and the proximity to downtown Carmel. We were not dissappointed. The rooms, though somewhat sparse are impeccably clean, comfortable and being able to sleep with the windows open with temps in the upper 50's were just perfect. The breakfast buffet was included and is as good as you'll find anywhere in Carmel. The hotel lobby is very warm and inviting. They offer a shuttle service but I would suggest that walking up a few hills is worth the effort to enjoy a meal in Carmel. The staff is by far well trained and service is their priority. The pool was cold and refreshing. The afternoon wine tastings and early evening cookies are a nice touch. We have stayed at other properties that are located soutrh oif Carmel in the Carmel Highlands. This is truely a better value. We will retaurn to La Playa.

Room Tip: Ask for a Garden Room. No rooms have a balcony and only ocean views from the upper floors. The groun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary C, General Manager at La Playa Carmel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Wakemaker,

I am so happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We know that you have many choices in our area, and appreciate that you chose us. I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Best regards,

Mary Crowe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Playa Carmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Playa Carmel

Address: Camino Real at 8th Ave, Carmel, CA 93921 (Formerly La Playa Hotel)
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Carmel
#3 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#4 Business Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Playa Carmel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Playa Carmel is a 75-room historic luxury boutique hotel, newly restored to preserve its turn-of-the-century charm while updating it to modern-day standards. Located two blocks from the beach and village shops, art galleries and restaurants, the hotel is situated in the heart of Carmel and anchors its most prestigious residential neighborhood. The grounds encompass meticulously tended gardens, intimate patios, secluded courtyards and a tranquil terrace swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, TravelClick, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your La Playa Carmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Playa
La Playa Carmel Ca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Playa Carmel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.