We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Playa Carmel

Save Saved
You added La Playa Carmel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Playa Carmel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Camino Real at 8th Ave, Carmel, CA 93921 (Formerly La Playa Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 21 hotels in Carmel
Scotland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Stayed for only one night on route down the west coast... wished we could have stayed longer!

This is a cosy little property in the heart of Carmel with lovely rooms, gardens and public areas. Within walking distance to everything in Carmel, very near the beach and restaurants however should you wish, the hotel also provide a free shuttle service. We made good use of the complimentary wine tasting, cookies and milk and breakfast - all were of a high standard and a really nice touch! Staff also very helpful and accommodating.
Our favourite hotel during our 16 night stay in California!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    176
    66
    26
    7
    5
See reviews for
41
169
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aptos, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We had a mother daughter getaway at this fabulous hotel. The staff is so kind and efficient. The room clean and beds super comfortable. We felt like we had gone to Europe for the night. Champagne at check in. Shuttle bus to anywhere downtown, and warm cookies at night. They also have a wine tasting and a wonderful Champagne Breakfast. You can walk everywhere so convenient. We cannot wait to go back

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary C, General Manager at La Playa Carmel, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear Saliee,

I am so happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Carmel is the perfect spot for a mother daughter or girlfriend getaway. We look forward to welcoming you back to La Playa on your next visit.

Best regards,

Mary C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Spent two nights with my family and enjoyed good service and excellent breakfast. Lunch at the terrace had large portions. Could easily have shared. Old style cosy hotel in a very charming location. Walking distance to everything in Carmel, the beach, the restaurants, the shops.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granville, Ohio
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

My wife and I vistit Carmel often. We chose La Playa based on the location relative to the beach and the proximity to downtown Carmel. We were not dissappointed. The rooms, though somewhat sparse are impeccably clean, comfortable and being able to sleep with the windows open with temps in the upper 50's were just perfect. The breakfast buffet was included and is as good as you'll find anywhere in Carmel. The hotel lobby is very warm and inviting. They offer a shuttle service but I would suggest that walking up a few hills is worth the effort to enjoy a meal in Carmel. The staff is by far well trained and service is their priority. The pool was cold and refreshing. The afternoon wine tastings and early evening cookies are a nice touch. We have stayed at other properties that are located soutrh oif Carmel in the Carmel Highlands. This is truely a better value. We will retaurn to La Playa.

Room Tip: Ask for a Garden Room. No rooms have a balcony and only ocean views from the upper floors. The groun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary C, General Manager at La Playa Carmel, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear Wakemaker,

I am so happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We know that you have many choices in our area, and appreciate that you chose us. I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Best regards,

Mary Crowe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantoloking
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Two night stay in Carmel after a destination wedding in Big Sur. This is a terrific boutique hotel with an attentive staff, convenient walk to town, included mimosa,full breakfast, free shuttle to suggested restaurants and sites. Garden rooms are delightful and it's a short walk to the ocean. THIS IS A WONDERFUL CHOICE .

Room Tip: Be sure to attend their nightly wine tasting
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

My husband and I spent 2 nights at La Playa and couldn't have been happier with our experience. The staff was 150% in tune with our needs. Every detail was looked after, from a change in room to overlook the gardens, to a quick trip to town a few minutes before dinner to exchange a dress shirt my husband had bought for dinner that turned out to have a stain. I will definitely stay again, and you shouldn't hesitate to stay at this wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary C, General Manager at La Playa Carmel, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear Kathy,

Thank you for your kind words. Knowing that we have provided a great service experience is what makes our job a joy. I am so happy to know that you will be returning to stay with us, we look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

The bed, breakfast and decor were excellent. The staff A +. Walking distance to Carmel centre. We would definitely go back for a few more nights next time. Free wine tasting- a welcoming lounge - free shuttle to the town are all little touches which make this an excellent hotel.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Playa Carmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Playa Carmel

Address: Camino Real at 8th Ave, Carmel, CA 93921 (Formerly La Playa Hotel)
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Carmel
#3 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Playa Carmel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Playa Carmel is a 75-room historic luxury boutique hotel, newly restored to preserve its turn-of-the-century charm while updating it to modern-day standards. Located two blocks from the beach and village shops, art galleries and restaurants, the hotel is situated in the heart of Carmel and anchors its most prestigious residential neighborhood. The grounds encompass meticulously tended gardens, intimate patios, secluded courtyards and a tranquil terrace swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your La Playa Carmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Playa
La Playa Carmel Ca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Playa Carmel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.