We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little But Big” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Playa Carmel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added La Playa Carmel to your Saves list
La Playa Carmel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Camino Real at 8th Ave, Carmel, CA 93921 (Formerly La Playa Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Mantoloking
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Little But Big”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Two night stay in Carmel after a destination wedding in Big Sur. This is a terrific boutique hotel with an attentive staff, convenient walk to town, included mimosa,full breakfast, free shuttle to suggested restaurants and sites. Garden rooms are delightful and it's a short walk to the ocean. THIS IS A WONDERFUL CHOICE .

Room Tip: Be sure to attend their nightly wine tasting
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    71
    33
    7
    6
See reviews for
46
198
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

My husband and I spent 2 nights at La Playa and couldn't have been happier with our experience. The staff was 150% in tune with our needs. Every detail was looked after, from a change in room to overlook the gardens, to a quick trip to town a few minutes before dinner to exchange a dress shirt my husband had bought for dinner that turned out to have a stain. I will definitely stay again, and you shouldn't hesitate to stay at this wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary C, General Manager at La Playa Carmel, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear Kathy,

Thank you for your kind words. Knowing that we have provided a great service experience is what makes our job a joy. I am so happy to know that you will be returning to stay with us, we look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

The bed, breakfast and decor were excellent. The staff A +. Walking distance to Carmel centre. We would definitely go back for a few more nights next time. Free wine tasting- a welcoming lounge - free shuttle to the town are all little touches which make this an excellent hotel.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

For rest, relaxation, superb service and beautiful surroundings there is nothing better in Carmel. Casual yet elegant. Flowers abound in the garden and throughout hotel. Personalized service. Located in heart of Carmel by the Sea, just 200 yards from the ocean, on a quiet residential street, but just a four-minute walk from the famous and charming Carmel shopping district. Privacy for relaxing, proximity for shopping and dining. And no better place to get a healthy or hearty breakfast in all of Carmel.

Room Tip: Ask for room with view of the ocean, but all views are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

we stayed here for 3 nights on our road trip down the Pacific Highway, and it was a Secret Escapes deal. Easy parking right outside as it's in a residential location. Gardens at the rear well maintained and smelled beautiful!! Small pool with loungers, towels and parasols. Beautiful beach only 5 minutes walk away, and very close to the Carmel entrance to the 17 mile drive. Pebble Beach golf course was very close by, visible from the beach. Sparkling wine (they called it champagne) given out liberally from reception, including on check in. Daily cookies and milk at reception in the evening. Free shuttle into town on request after 5pm which was handy for drops offs and tips on local places to eat. Concierge was very helpful and arranged meal reservations. Breakfast was self service with option to eat inside or out, and omelette/waffle chef made fresh to your order. Room was fair size, ours was on the residential side of the hotel... Others enjoyed their own patios onto the garden or pool.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

The 8th stop on our USA road trip. This is a beautiful hotel in Carmel and although it lacks a lift, separate shower, restaurant, and was at the top end of what we paid throughout - we LOVED it, it is a happy, sunny, cheerful place. We had a double queen room with an ocean view - just incredible views as the sun set. A glass of champagne as we arrived, lots of cheerful, accommodating staff with lots of recommendations where to eat and a simply, beautifully executed breakfast. Carmel is An expensive area, so the hotel prices reflect that - but I would whole heartedly recommend a visit. Pool looks great, and a shuttle in to town if necessary, but a very easy walk. A big thanks for carrying our bags up and down the two flights of stairs - that must keep you fit :-)

Room Tip: You MUST get an ocean view and watch sunset!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Great place and a great location. It was only a 5-10 minute walk into the town, Carmel-by-the-Sea. They also offer a free shuttle which will take you into town and bring you back to the hotel which was a really nice touch.
The hotel property was very nice and well maintained. Nice sized room with a couch and a little table outside on the front patio to sit.
There's only on-street parking and the hotel is located in a residential area so parking can be tricky, but there is an area to pull up for loading and unloading.
Overall, it was a very nice stay and we'd stay here again when in Carmel.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Playa Carmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Playa Carmel

Address: Camino Real at 8th Ave, Carmel, CA 93921 (Formerly La Playa Hotel)
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Carmel
#4 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Playa Carmel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Playa Carmel is a 75-room historic luxury boutique hotel, newly restored to preserve its turn-of-the-century charm while updating it to modern-day standards. Located two blocks from the beach and village shops, art galleries and restaurants, the hotel is situated in the heart of Carmel and anchors its most prestigious residential neighborhood. The grounds encompass meticulously tended gardens, intimate patios, secluded courtyards and a tranquil terrace swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your La Playa Carmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Playa
La Playa Carmel Ca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Playa Carmel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.