We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem in Carmel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Playa Carmel

Save Saved
You added La Playa Carmel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Playa Carmel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Camino Real at 8th Ave, Carmel, CA 93921 (Formerly La Playa Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 21 hotels in Carmel
Grande Prairie
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A Gem in Carmel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

We have stayed here before about 20 years ago...it is still great value, a full service hotel in central Carmel, with some rooms offering glimpses of the sea. The gardens are beautiful, fragrant and extensive.
The food was great, we had lunch and breakfast and both were "moreish"...well presented, well prepared and served.
the staff at the front and n the restaurants and bars were friendly and caring...

would stay again, would recommend the friends and family...
Hotel was renovated recently

downside: the room we had was small, and the bath was akin to an airline bathroom...

Room Tip: a sea view room was very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    168
    62
    23
    7
    4
See reviews for
37
158
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

My husband and I stayed here last weekend. It was my first time staying in Carmel, and we enjoyed every minute of it. The hotel is perfectly situated on a quiet block about two blocks from the ocean and just a short walk from main street. The staff was superb, the king room we got was spacious, clean and quite comfortable, and the breakfast was a treat! We will definitely plan to stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Old world Spanish Gardens, patio off room, two blocks from the beach provide a good start. The hotel is well staffed with friendly, bright ,well trained men and women from Europe and America. The quality of the breakfast that is included in the rate is a pleasant surprise. The pool is heated. Views f the ocean are spectacular.

Room Tip: Get a room with a patio on the ocean side
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary C, General Manager at La Playa Carmel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Paul,
Thank you for your kind words. We are so happy to know that your stay with us was a "best"! Feedback such as yours is what makes our work a joy. We hope to welcome you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We took our 2 adults children and their spouses to Carmel for a pre holiday vacation. La Playa is an excellent place to stay. The warm surroundings, great staff, excellent rooms and brunch made this a very special 3 day stop. Only a couple of blocks from the ocean and all of the great shopping and restaurants downtown. Would definitely stay again. Staff is exceptional and so helpful.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We checked in late yet the hotel had a nice room ready for us. And there was still a person to help us with our bags. And they offered to take us by shuttle van to a restaurant for a late dinner as well as pick us up afterwards. The room was cozy, clean, comfortable and spacious. The breakfast the next morning was complimentary and better than most restaurants I have had to pay for breakfast over many years. Wow! The location is walking distance to the main shopping area of Carmel yet I like the residential quietness. I told the person who checked me out: "please don't change a thing. I will be back again I hope soon."

Room Tip: Try a garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary C, General Manager at La Playa Carmel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
We are so happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. La Playa was built in 1905 as a home for Artist Christian Jorgenson and his wife Angela Ghirardelli (of the Ghirardelli Chocolate family) although La Playa has been a hotel for almost 100 years, we strive to to maintain the residential charm that makes it such a unique experience. We are delighted to hear that our guests enjoy our breakfast and shuttle service. I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

This was a wonderful and warm hotel. Beautiful setting on an expansive property in Carmel. Great location to the beach and the sunsets, or watch from the bar overlooking the water (but 2 blocks away) great breakfasts, friendly service. and a pool

Room Tip: loved the rooms facing the pool/sunset
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

A very friendly feeling when the guests gather around the fireplace and sip a glass of wine supplied without cost by the hotel. Also, if you are eating out, they have a shuttle car which will take you to and from the hotel.

Room Tip: Fourth floor with ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Playa Carmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Playa Carmel

Address: Camino Real at 8th Ave, Carmel, CA 93921 (Formerly La Playa Hotel)
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Carmel
#3 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#4 Business Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Playa Carmel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Playa Carmel is a 75-room historic luxury boutique hotel, newly restored to preserve its turn-of-the-century charm while updating it to modern-day standards. Located two blocks from the beach and village shops, art galleries and restaurants, the hotel is situated in the heart of Carmel and anchors its most prestigious residential neighborhood. The grounds encompass meticulously tended gardens, intimate patios, secluded courtyards and a tranquil terrace swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, TravelClick, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your La Playa Carmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Playa
La Playa Carmel Ca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Playa Carmel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.