We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit tired but a great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Playa Carmel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added La Playa Carmel to your Saves list
La Playa Carmel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Camino Real at 8th Ave, Carmel, CA 93921 (Formerly La Playa Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Chearsley
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“A bit tired but a great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I stayed at La Playa with a large group of fellow golfers and had previously stayed there a couple of years ago. The location is great, with the beach only a short walk away and with an extra 20 minutes walk you can reach the shoreline holes of Pebble Beach golf course. Carmel shopping centre and most of the local restaurants are also only a short walk away. As for the hotel itself, the staff were very friendly and attentive, with nothing too much trouble. The bedroom was fine, if somewhat on the small side, but was always cleaned thoroughly and freshened each day. The only 2 downsides - firstly the walls in the rooms were paper which meant that you could hear everything from adjoining rooms and indeed further up the corridor! Secondly the fridge in the room was particularly noisy and had to be switched off at night. My colleagues all found the same 2 problems so this was nothing to do with my over sensitive hearing! The only food I sampled was a breakfast time. There was plenty of fresh fruit, cereals and an omelette station. Slightly disappointing that there was no other cooked food - it must be the only hotel in USA that didn't have any bacon, sausage, tomato etc! Overall a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: As there were 40 + of us staying at the hotel we occupied all sorts of rooms. Subject to cost, the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    71
    33
    7
    6
See reviews for
46
199
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Helena, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Our recent stay with La Playa was awesome from the front door of the hotel the moment we arrived! The staff were all extremely helpful, knowledgable, and friendly. Our room was perfect and the view was amazing! The grounds and the pool are beautiful. Wine hour, cookie hour, and champagne brunch a great touch. The shuttle to take you to town is such a bonus even though you can walk a few blocks to the beach or shops and restaurants! I think this is the best hotel in Carmel and we will be back!!

Room Tip: Loved the ocean view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwynedd, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We recently returned to the LaPlaya Hotel in Carmel by the Sea. The hotel has been upgraded with renovations and refreshed with new ownership. Been going for 30 years and just love the quant accomadations that are perfect for this amazing town. Nice walk to Ocean Drive and the beach. The staff is amazing. Breakfast was perfect. The views from most rooms are truly beautiful with golden sunsets. We can't wait to return to Carmel and the fabulous LaPlaya Hotel.

Room Tip: Try and get a room overlooking pool and coastline for sunsets and best views. 2nd and 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Tennessee
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

From concept to reality something continued drawing us to La Playa Carmel. We researched area hotels, called and talked to the Concierges about their hotel and amenities. We kept coming back to La Playa. The location was great because you had the best of all worlds in Carmel. The ocean/beach was close as well as the view, enjoyable walking distance to town but not in the main streamline, the history of the hotel and and the friendliness of the staff and willingness to help us arrange our trip (from the best room for us, dinner reservations at suggested restaurants which were all fabulous recommendations). Upon arriving at the Hotel to the morning of our departure we felt very special and fell in love with the hotel, its charm and staff. My wife and I had the perfect holiday due to La Playa and Carmel the City. Our room was always clean and freshened up for us when we returned from an outing. The Complimentary Champagne Breakfast was first class. The Valet Service was exceptional. The Concierge assistance was exceptional. The grounds and gardens were lovely. This hotel understands guest relations and obviously takes very much pride in providing excellent guest relations and service. La Playa is highly recommended on our list to stay for relaxation, the convenince, the staff, the services and overall was a wonderful hotel and experience for my wife and I.

Room Tip: - Analyze what kind of trip you want for yourself first - Research hotels in the area of your disti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alamo
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

this dear old spanish hotel now is a bed and breakfast --- sheer genius as it now feels like your are a house guest at a lovely old home - the grounds reflect decades of love -- the serene feeling begs you sit down and become part of the peace of la playa and carmel

Room Tip: get a room facing the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Beautiful grounds. My daughter took some pics with her phone and all of them are great because everywhere you turn is such a pretty sight. The room was smallish, but the quaintness of it completely makes up for it. I've stayed in nice hotels with much bigger rooms and I would choose this one over some of those. It just felt really nice and cozy. A quick walk to the shopping area--not far at all. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Wonderful hotel in the heart of Carmel, short walk to restaurants, shops and beach. Hotel updated to its glory days, outstanding staff and grounds. Daily breakfast buffet had varied and delicious selections. Great stay and we will be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Playa Carmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Playa Carmel

Address: Camino Real at 8th Ave, Carmel, CA 93921 (Formerly La Playa Hotel)
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Carmel
#4 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Playa Carmel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Playa Carmel is a 75-room historic luxury boutique hotel, newly restored to preserve its turn-of-the-century charm while updating it to modern-day standards. Located two blocks from the beach and village shops, art galleries and restaurants, the hotel is situated in the heart of Carmel and anchors its most prestigious residential neighborhood. The grounds encompass meticulously tended gardens, intimate patios, secluded courtyards and a tranquil terrace swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your La Playa Carmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Playa
La Playa Carmel Ca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Playa Carmel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.