We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Playa Carmel

Save Saved
You added La Playa Carmel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Playa Carmel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Camino Real at 8th Ave, Carmel, CA 93921 (Formerly La Playa Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Carmel
Longview, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

A great location in Carmel. 3 blocks to the beautiful Pacific Ocean, and about 4 to the central retail district. Very charming hotel, with a great daily buffet breakfast. Friendly employees in all areas of the hotel. Beautiful gardens, and outside patio makes it great for enjoying the beautiful weather while enjoying a beverage and/or meal.

There is no elevator in the hotel so I would recommend trying to get a room on the first floor. We were on the third floor, and after waiting 20 minutes for the bellman to arrive to start his shift we decided to tote our luggage down the various flights of stairs in order to ensure we made our scheduled departure out of San Jose.

We would definitely go back to LaPlaya.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    66
    27
    7
    5
See reviews for
42
172
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at La Playa during the Concourse de Elegance for many years. It was difficult to get a room in the past due to repeat guests priority, popularity and affordable rates. We started in the chauffeurs room and each year worked our way up to a beautiful garden room. We had the same room available to us each year as repeat guests. We loved this hotel. The same guests came each year and we made many friends. The restaurant was fabulous staff were courteous and very knowledgeable about Carmel. Many staff had worked at La Playa for a long time and familiar faces greeted us year after year.
Last year we had our usual room because we had payed a deposit and booked the year before. The hotel had to honor it. The hotel staff and garden were quite different and prices had skyrocketed. The extensive renovation the hotel claimed to have done consisted of partially remodeled bathrooms, some paint, carpet and poorly done upgrades. All the charm this hotel once possessed is gone as well as the wonderful staff. As if that we're not bad enough we were told we could not make prior reservations for 2013 and someone would call us later in the year. We did receive a call from customer service in Arizona in Feb who left a message and never returned any of our calls back. When we called the hotel to make reservations the room rate had increased by $300 a night and a 5 night minimum was required. We chose to stay home.
In July we received a call from Hotel manger Mary Crow apologizing for not accommodating us and offering a special rate with no minimum night stay. Obviously they realized how much business had been lost and were now scrambling to fill rooms during the biggest event of the year. So we accepted and went on our annual trip. We were just as disappointed as last year. We had a room with a view of the busy street and construction next door. We woke to hammering and power tools daily at 8am. Very inexperienced staff and a hotel that had lost its lively charm. The ferrari owners party was no longer there, the lobby was dead as well as the bar. None of the same guests were there. In fact the hotel seemed only half full.
La Playa will never be the same. We were told to call Monday to book for next year. Out of curiosity we did. The room rate for 2014 will be $599 per night with a 5 night minimum. The 5 nights must be payed for in full now with a NON REFUNDABLE deposit! I don't know who these people think they are but this is no Four Seasons. $599 a night is outrageous for a hotel with no amenities except location. This is at best a 3 star hotel. So so sad.
Next year we will be at The Pine Inn and be sure to tell everyone we know about the mismanagement happening at La Playa.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

What a fabulous hotel, set in magnificent gardens, two blocks from the beach and walking distance from all the restaurants and shops. The staff were amazingly helpful and friendly. We were travelling with two small children (aged 8 and 5), and they loved it too - especially the milk and cookies laid out out at reception each evening. The heated pool and giant garden chess board where also highlights for them. The breakfasts were fantastic, great selection, lovely sitting out on the covered patio overlooking the gardens. All in all the hotel made out first trip to Carmel a very memorable one, and we will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room with two queen beds, which saw quite tight. Next time we will request a garden p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

This was an unexpected pleasure. Rooms are comfortable, not fancy but beds were very comfy although some rooms are way to small and they had to change us. There is no AC but Carmel is cool anyway. They serve a lovely breakfast including homemade waffles among the rest of the buffet. At 5 they serve wine and cheese and later wonderful cookies. Staff were very nice and accommodating and offered excellent dining suggestions. The location was great and the grounds are absolutely beautiful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

My sister and I checked into La Playa in the charming town of Carmel. We stayed for two nights and were delighted by the hotel. My daughter had gotten engaged there and recomended it to us.
The staff was friendly and helpful,parking on the street readily available, and breakfast was a delight with fresh Belgian waffles.Our corner room had a view of the ocean down the street,and we slept with open windows to feel the ocean breeze.Please note there is no ac,but it was not a problem with the ocean air.Loved the small town itself,lots of interesting shops and restaurants.The only odd note was the town folds up at 9:30 PM.Would absolutely return to Carmel and this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view so you get the breeze. Beds are heavenly!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monaghan,ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Here we have a hotel with the owner no doubt having a passion for hotels- service was very good and staff had been recruited from Europe giving the hotel an international flavour- the family rooms were good and adequate- pool are was small- it's name of playa is a little extreme given the walking distances to the beach- the ambiance in the hotel was first class and many's a pleasant conversation with staff and guests- they highlight the quality of breakfast's - but if they truly want to compare to 4/5 star hotels internationally it falls short - also it's prices for a family room is too expensive given the choice out there- it was easy to get a room this month and negotiate a reduction in price with pleasant staff-

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed in this amazing hotel in an amazing location in the beginning of July. A quick quaint walk into town for some great restaurants and shopping. The town not only reminded me of England but so did the hotel. The lobby is so beautiful and boasts the most beautiful mantle piece. The staff were very nice and very helpful. Our room was amazing. We were on the third floor looking out to the ocean and down to the English style gardens and pool. We opened the (very old but very English) windows and slept with them open to hear the ocean. The bed was extremely comfortable. After a little lunch on our first day we sat outside under heater lamps and had a few glasses of wine. It was so relaxing. The breakfast was wonderful and if you don't want to eat out on the veranda then there is a large charming breakfast room. The front of the hotel is so cute with bikes displayed with basest of flowers! Made for some great pictures! There is also free parking... we parked right in front of the hotel! No need for passes or valet. We were so thrilled with this hotel and I hated to leave it. Don't book anywhere else in Carmel.... You have to experience La Playa Carmel!!!!

Room Tip: Oceanfront for sure!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Playa Carmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Playa Carmel

Address: Camino Real at 8th Ave, Carmel, CA 93921 (Formerly La Playa Hotel)
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#4 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Playa Carmel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Playa Carmel is a 75-room historic luxury boutique hotel, newly restored to preserve its turn-of-the-century charm while updating it to modern-day standards. Located two blocks from the beach and village shops, art galleries and restaurants, the hotel is situated in the heart of Carmel and anchors its most prestigious residential neighborhood. The grounds encompass meticulously tended gardens, intimate patios, secluded courtyards and a tranquil terrace swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, TravelClick, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your La Playa Carmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Playa
La Playa Carmel Ca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Playa Carmel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.