We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel, Good Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Playa Carmel

Save Saved
You added La Playa Carmel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Playa Carmel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Camino Real at 8th Ave, Carmel, CA 93921 (Formerly La Playa Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 21 hotels in Carmel
Newark, New Jersey
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good Hotel, Good Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Close to the Ocean makes its location ideal. The gardens and grounds were lovely. Room was very clean but small. One drew back is that rooms that face the front of Hotel get noisy from auto traffic to the Hotel. Breakfast was excellent. Overall, a good value.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    164
    60
    22
    7
    4
See reviews for
35
153
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Il
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

First time we stayed at La Playa Hotel. Nice older building recently redone. Surprised at NO parking at the hotel, door man said just park anywhere on the street, in fairness we found a spot fairly quickly.

Could not believe in the morning that they only had decafe coffee. I asked the waitress and she said they ordered to late. Went to the front desk who knew nothing about the decafe only, I told them they could go Nelson Brothers Deli nearby and buy 10lbs for the morning. Went back a bit later and they had my coffee.

Hotel was nice but overall service was not as we expected.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merced, CA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I must say I was really looking forward to staying at this hotel. As it turns out, it was a major disappointment. The ambience of the grounds and lobby are lovely. However, the garden room was not. Let me begin by saying that the rate was $385/nt. We were kept up for a few hours with children running down a hallway somewhere. We were not sure where, it shouldn't have been in the "library" above us at that hour, but the rooms are angled and we weren't sure where it was coming from. In addition, the bathroom light was on a motion sensor. Every time I turned over in bed, the light would go on. Finally, the temperature got very warm. The thermostat did not work in our room. All of this for a room at that rate is unacceptable.

Room Tip: Do not go with a garden-view room 105-109 were not good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Although comfortable enough, I certainly wouldn't call this a boutique hotel. It's a fairly run of the mill upmarket seaside hotel without any unique quirks. Stayed for 3 nights recently and quite enjoyed my time there, though I would probably choose another option next time around.

We stayed in a standard room which was fine but very small. There was no mini-bar and lacked some of the regular features one would expect to find at hotels that charges mid-high end rates. The bed was quite comfortable though.

Breakfast was disappointed and it got very (too) busy on the weekend mornings.

That said, the hotel has a relaxed atmosphere and the lobby, reception and garden etc are lovely. Also liked the free wifi.

The staff was very friendly though.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Karen and I were married in the La Playa patio Garden Gazebo area 22 years ago and the setting is still perfect for weddings. The spacious patio area is beautifully landscaped and can be viewed by several charming guest rooms. All rooms are appointed very nicely with modern upgrades and located either on the garden level as well as from upper level floors. The upper rooms have views of the Pacific Ocean and the Hotel is within walking distance of the World Class Carmel Beach. The quaint Carmel downtown area is only a few blocks away and the hotel management offers shuttle service to and from downtown. The Bar area is old world charming and comfortable, service is great. The bar menu offers various appetizers and small bites. Complimentary breakfast is available as well as "Bud's" Happy Hour. We just spent our 22nd Anniversary there and stayed in room 116 which is one of the wonderful rooms located within the fenced heated swimming pool area. The pool rooms are spacious and lovely with gas fired fireplaces. Checking in and out is a breeze, staff members and all services are professionally overseen by General Manager Mary Crowe. You will enjoy your stay, The La Playa is great!

Room Tip: Let the Bellman or one of the staff know what you prefer and they will usually offer a room that is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Murieta, California, Usa
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

It is one of my preferred places for complete relaxation. First of all, I love Carmel, and second , hotel La Playa has the most spectacular view of the ocean and the gardens. Life is perfect. I like what the restoration did to the hotel. Though the rooms are still unique, I enjoyed all modern updates. Usually I do not eat breakfast; however, I cannot refuse Champagne Breakfast Buffet while admiring the breathtaking ocean and garden views. After the day full of leisure events like golfing and shopping, I like to relax and sip on a cocktail, and indulge myself on great appetizers. What a perfect place.

Room Tip: King room with the ocean view is
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

A most beautiful hotel, near the ocean, with friendly helpful staff. We've gone there for many years and always enjoyed it. Under new management, there are some changes. The staff is friendlier, but the former staff were on the sidewalk outside protesting the loss of their jobs. That concerned us, even though we appreciated the readiness of current staff to respond to our requests. The restaurant is closed although they still serve some food in the bar. We missed being able to eat there, and hope the restaurant will reopen. We love the buildings, the architecture, the abundance of flowers, the welcoming fire in the fireplace and the ambiance, so we will return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Playa Carmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Playa Carmel

Address: Camino Real at 8th Ave, Carmel, CA 93921 (Formerly La Playa Hotel)
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Carmel
#3 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#4 Business Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Playa Carmel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Playa Carmel is a 75-room historic luxury boutique hotel, newly restored to preserve its turn-of-the-century charm while updating it to modern-day standards. Located two blocks from the beach and village shops, art galleries and restaurants, the hotel is situated in the heart of Carmel and anchors its most prestigious residential neighborhood. The grounds encompass meticulously tended gardens, intimate patios, secluded courtyards and a tranquil terrace swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, TravelClick, Jetsetter, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your La Playa Carmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Playa
La Playa Carmel Ca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Playa Carmel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.