We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“+ Vintage charm, + beautiful grounds, +perfect for a romantic getaway, - thin walls, - small bathrooms, cheap interior” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Playa Carmel

Save Saved
You added La Playa Carmel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Playa Carmel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Camino Real at 8th Ave, Carmel, CA 93921 (Formerly La Playa Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 21 hotels in Carmel
Santa Cruz, California
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“+ Vintage charm, + beautiful grounds, +perfect for a romantic getaway, - thin walls, - small bathrooms, cheap interior”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The La Playa is a beautiful small hotel with a vintage charm. It is located 2 blocks away from Carmel Beach and within walking distance to Ocean Ave with many galleries, boutiques, and restaurants.

The historic hotel with its marquees and lovely grounds gives you the feeling of being at Lake Como or at Cote d’Azur. Coming here I recommend staying in a room facing the inner courtyard. First floor rooms offer small patios facing the garden. From the upper floor rooms you can expect nice views over the grounds, the heated pool, and the ocean. The rooms come with free Internet, colorful wall paints, hand-carved furniture, and tropical flower fabrics. Along the hallways and in the lobby historic maps, photos and paintings tell stories about Carmel’s history and the former tenants of the property.

The hotel is perfect for a romantic and relaxing getaway but also has some flaws that could have some impact of your booking, in particular if you are weighing its price-performance ratio against other accommodations in Carmel.

As already mentioned in other reviews the walls are very thin and you are definitely hearing other hotel guests. If someone is walking above your room it is really loud, same applies to people talking outside. So I highly recommended earplugs. Although the hotel positions itself as a luxurious get-away the bathrooms are outdated. I didn’t have a problem with the size but the interior. Unfortunately it has a charm like a Motel 6 I wouldn’t expect for a $170 - 300 (depending on the season) per night. One last thing I would deliberate whether staying here or not is the missing breakfast in the basic rate. Nowadays this is a standard and included at other higher priced accommodations in Carmel.

Nevertheless if you get a super value deal you should go for it.

+ Vintage charm,
+ beautiful grounds, furniture
+ perfect for a romantic getaway,
- thin walls,
- small bathrooms with cheap interior,
- no breakfast
- without a special deal the hotel is pricey

Room Tip: Reserve a ocean view room, bring earplugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mary c, General Manager at La Playa Carmel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We will use the information that you provided in our ongoing imorovement efforts. I was dissapointed to learn that you missed our complimentary Champagne Brunch during your visit, which is provided daily in our library and terrace. I hope that we will have an opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Please contact me directly should your future plans include a visit to Carmel, so that I may personally assist with your reservation.
Best regards,
Mary Crowe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    170
    62
    23
    7
    4
See reviews for
37
160
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
U.S.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We were pleased with everything, just wish they had a restaurant. HOWEVER, the complimentary breakfast buffet (everyday) is excellent and adds custom-cooked eggs, etc. on weekends.

This property is recently renovated. We did not stay here in the past, so have no point of comparison. We did overhear someone saying that they come every year in October; they love the hotel.

The setting is beautiful, very close to the water/beach.

Our room was perfect, ample size, with a view over the pool and we also could see the water. The only complaint about our room is that there is very little counter space in the bathroom.

The staff were all terrific. We needed something fixed in the room and it was handled immediately.

The only parking is on the street. We opted not to use our car at all and just left it. The hotel is located within easy walking distance of all of Carmel, so that was not a problem. We enjoyed walking everywhere we went.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask about room size and view. We initially booked a room on the top floor which we tho...
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed at La Playa Carmel for two nights in October. The hotel was pretty quiet, but our room was not. We had room 100 (village view, King). The room was comfortably appointed and spacious. The street noise was significant even on a quiet Monday in October because the bus line, street sweeper, various and sundry trucks all come to a stop at the 4 way stop spitting distance from the room. There is radiator heat, but no A/C, so you open your windows for the breeze and sounds of the ocean, but alas. . . . At night, there was a rhythmic thumping which apparently came from the mechanical room down the hall. Despite complaints, it was there throughout our stay.
The hotel is old, without elevators and some narrow, uneven steps connect areas. Be careful if you're not steady on your feet. Complimentary breakfast was nice. They knew it was our anniversary and provided a bottle of champagne that we took to the State Beach to drink during sunset. Very relaxing grounds, and beautiful landscaping with very helpful staff. We will go back -- but get a different room.

Room Tip: Consider a garden view or upper level room, they may be smaller but will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mary c, General Manager at La Playa Carmel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. I was sorry to learn of the noise disturbance you experienced and regret any inconvenience this may have caused to you. We are so pleased that you enjoyed breakfast and the grounds. We look forward to welcoming you back. Please contact me directly when you are ready to return so that I may personally arrange your reservation.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed here two nights of our drive down the PC arriving from SF and loved the beautifully kept gardens and rooms. Our room was generous and very clean with a large comfortable bed. Breakfast was a grand buffet affair with all that we needed including omelette and oatmeal but no full English. No in-hotel restaurant so we ate in Carmel in the evening. The location was ideal, halfway between the beach and the center of Carmel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Recently completed a multi-night stay here. The room was small but comfortable (although far from luxurious), the staff accommodating, the setting tranquil, the grounds nicely groomed, and the breakfast quite good. However, “renovation” might be too strong a word to describe the recent work—“refresh” is more like it. While the rooms got a fresh coat of paint, new carpets and new bathroom tile, the hotel exterior was untouched (and a bit scruffy in spots) and the work seemed to be done to a somewhat sloppy standard. The biggest issue was the price--the room rates were some of the highest in town, arguably above the standard of luxury the hotel provides, resulting in a questionable value proposition. On this basis alone, will think twice before staying again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Barnstable, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Spent 4 nights at this hotel. Plusses - staff is responsive, complimentary breakfast buffet is very good, location is great, and grounds are wonderful. Our room was clean, with good bedding. On the negative side - we had a premier ocean view room. (401). No bureau in room and clothes closet was in bathroom. Tough for 4 nights as you end up living out of your suitcase. Pretty small room and view looked out over hotel rooftop. On the positive side, It is a corner room, so airy and bright.

There is a wonderful bar, but very limited menu. In fact, pretty much just 2 items - grilled chicken salad and a quesadilla. Salad good, quesadilla terrible.

Great restaurants in the area, so skip the hotel menu. Do borrow a flashlight from the front desk though as there are no street lights and very few homes have lights at end of driveways or on garage.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, NJ
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Recently stayed at La Playa in Carmel with my fiance for our PCH trip. It was a lovely hotel that was very close to the beach. Rooms were small, but recently renovated and very nice. Within walking distance to some shops and restaurants. Cute and quaint town, just very slow moving for a younger couple. The breakfast was amazing, freshly made waffles with fresh fruit and plenty of pastries and other assorted goodies to choose from. Would recommend this hotel for sure, but if ever back in Carmel would probably just pass through and maybe stop for lunch.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carmel
Quiet, Mid-rang...
Show More
1.3 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#11 of 21 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 993 reviews
Quiet, Free Par...
Show More
4.3 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
Romantic, Free...
Show More
0.5 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#8 of 21 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Romantic, Free...
Show More
0.1 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#6 of 21 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 188 reviews
Mid-range, Pool...
Show More
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
Boutique, Free...
Show More
0.2 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#17 of 21 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Playa Carmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Playa Carmel

Address: Camino Real at 8th Ave, Carmel, CA 93921 (Formerly La Playa Hotel)
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Carmel
#3 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#4 Business Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Playa Carmel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Playa Carmel is a 75-room historic luxury boutique hotel, newly restored to preserve its turn-of-the-century charm while updating it to modern-day standards. Located two blocks from the beach and village shops, art galleries and restaurants, the hotel is situated in the heart of Carmel and anchors its most prestigious residential neighborhood. The grounds encompass meticulously tended gardens, intimate patios, secluded courtyards and a tranquil terrace swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, TravelClick, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your La Playa Carmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Playa
La Playa Carmel Ca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Playa Carmel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.