We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, lovely room, beautiful gardens” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Playa Carmel

Save Saved
You added La Playa Carmel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Playa Carmel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Camino Real at 8th Ave, Carmel, CA 93921 (Formerly La Playa Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 21 hotels in Carmel
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel, lovely room, beautiful gardens”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed here two nights of our drive down the PC arriving from SF and loved the beautifully kept gardens and rooms. Our room was generous and very clean with a large comfortable bed. Breakfast was a grand buffet affair with all that we needed including omelette and oatmeal but no full English. No in-hotel restaurant so we ate in Carmel in the evening. The location was ideal, halfway between the beach and the center of Carmel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    170
    62
    23
    7
    4
See reviews for
37
160
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orange County, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Recently completed a multi-night stay here. The room was small but comfortable (although far from luxurious), the staff accommodating, the setting tranquil, the grounds nicely groomed, and the breakfast quite good. However, “renovation” might be too strong a word to describe the recent work—“refresh” is more like it. While the rooms got a fresh coat of paint, new carpets and new bathroom tile, the hotel exterior was untouched (and a bit scruffy in spots) and the work seemed to be done to a somewhat sloppy standard. The biggest issue was the price--the room rates were some of the highest in town, arguably above the standard of luxury the hotel provides, resulting in a questionable value proposition. On this basis alone, will think twice before staying again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Barnstable, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Spent 4 nights at this hotel. Plusses - staff is responsive, complimentary breakfast buffet is very good, location is great, and grounds are wonderful. Our room was clean, with good bedding. On the negative side - we had a premier ocean view room. (401). No bureau in room and clothes closet was in bathroom. Tough for 4 nights as you end up living out of your suitcase. Pretty small room and view looked out over hotel rooftop. On the positive side, It is a corner room, so airy and bright.

There is a wonderful bar, but very limited menu. In fact, pretty much just 2 items - grilled chicken salad and a quesadilla. Salad good, quesadilla terrible.

Great restaurants in the area, so skip the hotel menu. Do borrow a flashlight from the front desk though as there are no street lights and very few homes have lights at end of driveways or on garage.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, NJ
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Recently stayed at La Playa in Carmel with my fiance for our PCH trip. It was a lovely hotel that was very close to the beach. Rooms were small, but recently renovated and very nice. Within walking distance to some shops and restaurants. Cute and quaint town, just very slow moving for a younger couple. The breakfast was amazing, freshly made waffles with fresh fruit and plenty of pastries and other assorted goodies to choose from. Would recommend this hotel for sure, but if ever back in Carmel would probably just pass through and maybe stop for lunch.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

They do a good job here at La Playa, and the quiet location off the beaten track is quiet and close to the beach. New furniture and some other recent renovations, make it a solid 4 star property. The pool garden area is simply beautiful ... kind of reminds me of a similar place in South of France. Charming and convenient, a good choice for Carmel and great value compared to some others nearby!

Room Tip: spend the extra bucks to get a pool/ocean view. Sunsets are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgewood, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Hotel is well located in Carmel - a few block walk (or short drive) to downtown shops, restaurants. Just a block or two from the beach. quiet and lovely, pretty reception area, but keep in mind that this is an older property. some areas of the hotel are a bit worn, but clearly the hotel is being worked on and improved. our room was quite small and was a challenge with 3 kids. but of course having the pool readily available really counted for a lot. the one missing amenity at this hotel is a hot tub - just seemed odd that in this area, where it could be used year round, and at this level a property, that they would not have one. the breakfast was really high quality, and the staff were very pleasant.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tulsa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I recently stayed in a garden view room at the LaPlaya. On the positive side, the gardens are quite lovely, the staff members were very helpful and pleasant. Unfortunately, the room was not air-conditioned. We stayed in September, and it became very warm during the night. I called the desk and they said that I should "open a window". Since we were two women staying alone on a ground floor, it did not seem "safe" to open a window with not even a screen as protection . An intruder could easily have entered. Sleep was difficult. At one point, I found myself thinking, "I'm paying London prices for a motel 6 accommodation!" At this price range one would think that at least air conditioning, safety, and a comfortable (if not luxurious) night's sleep would be forthcoming. Yes, the grounds are lovely.... the room accommodation was disappointing.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mary c, General Manager at La Playa Carmel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
I was disappointed to hear about the discomfort caused by the temperature in your guest room during your recent stay with us. Due to Carmel’s cooler year-round temperatures, buildings in our area are typically not air conditioned. As you experienced, we did have a heat wave last week with temperatures much higher than normal. I regret any discomfort caused by this weather anomaly, and that your stay did not meet your expectations. I hope you will allow us another opportunity to serve you again should your travels return you to Carmel-by-the-Sea.
Sincerely,
Mary Crowe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Playa Carmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Playa Carmel

Address: Camino Real at 8th Ave, Carmel, CA 93921 (Formerly La Playa Hotel)
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#3 Family Hotel in Carmel
#4 Business Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Playa Carmel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Playa Carmel is a 75-room historic luxury boutique hotel, newly restored to preserve its turn-of-the-century charm while updating it to modern-day standards. Located two blocks from the beach and village shops, art galleries and restaurants, the hotel is situated in the heart of Carmel and anchors its most prestigious residential neighborhood. The grounds encompass meticulously tended gardens, intimate patios, secluded courtyards and a tranquil terrace swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, TravelClick, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your La Playa Carmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Playa
La Playa Carmel Ca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Playa Carmel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.