We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world charm in Carmel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Playa Carmel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added La Playa Carmel to your Saves list
La Playa Carmel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Camino Real at 8th Ave, Carmel, CA 93921 (Formerly La Playa Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
77 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Old world charm in Carmel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

They do a good job here at La Playa, and the quiet location off the beaten track is quiet and close to the beach. New furniture and some other recent renovations, make it a solid 4 star property. The pool garden area is simply beautiful ... kind of reminds me of a similar place in South of France. Charming and convenient, a good choice for Carmel and great value compared to some others nearby!

Room Tip: spend the extra bucks to get a pool/ocean view. Sunsets are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    99
    44
    9
    9
See reviews for
65
277
15
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ridgewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Hotel is well located in Carmel - a few block walk (or short drive) to downtown shops, restaurants. Just a block or two from the beach. quiet and lovely, pretty reception area, but keep in mind that this is an older property. some areas of the hotel are a bit worn, but clearly the hotel is being worked on and improved. our room was quite small and was a challenge with 3 kids. but of course having the pool readily available really counted for a lot. the one missing amenity at this hotel is a hot tub - just seemed odd that in this area, where it could be used year round, and at this level a property, that they would not have one. the breakfast was really high quality, and the staff were very pleasant.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tulsa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I recently stayed in a garden view room at the LaPlaya. On the positive side, the gardens are quite lovely, the staff members were very helpful and pleasant. Unfortunately, the room was not air-conditioned. We stayed in September, and it became very warm during the night. I called the desk and they said that I should "open a window". Since we were two women staying alone on a ground floor, it did not seem "safe" to open a window with not even a screen as protection . An intruder could easily have entered. Sleep was difficult. At one point, I found myself thinking, "I'm paying London prices for a motel 6 accommodation!" At this price range one would think that at least air conditioning, safety, and a comfortable (if not luxurious) night's sleep would be forthcoming. Yes, the grounds are lovely.... the room accommodation was disappointing.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mary c, General Manager at La Playa Carmel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
I was disappointed to hear about the discomfort caused by the temperature in your guest room during your recent stay with us. Due to Carmel’s cooler year-round temperatures, buildings in our area are typically not air conditioned. As you experienced, we did have a heat wave last week with temperatures much higher than normal. I regret any discomfort caused by this weather anomaly, and that your stay did not meet your expectations. I hope you will allow us another opportunity to serve you again should your travels return you to Carmel-by-the-Sea.
Sincerely,
Mary Crowe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

After contacting the hotel ahead of time, my wife and I planned to celebrate our anniversary at this "recently renovated, luxury hotel in Carmel". This hotel is anything but luxurious. A sloppy paint job, new carpet and a new bed is hardly an extensive renovation. We travel the world regularly and know from luxury accommodations. From the terrible room that we were initially taken to, this hotel couldn't get it right. There was a bottle of champagne and a note left for us in the first room. After requesting 3 times that the champagne be delivered to us in our changed room, it was never delivered, hence enjoyed. Furthermore, the exterior of the building needs a paint job, the wrought iron is crumbling and the windows in our ocean view room were old and substandard. When we showered, the whole room steamed up and the closet was in the very small bathroom. There were no drawers, very little counter space (much of it taken up by the TV). In addition, we gave the hotel a list of our dissatisfaction to the on site manager, Gennero. He never offered to adjust the bill and only said he would have the hotel General Manager, Mary Crowe, contact us. She never did and it's been 4 weeks.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mary c, General Manager at La Playa Carmel, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Dear Steven,

I am very disappointed to learn of your experience at La Playa Carmel. Please accept my sincere apology for our lapse in communication. Guest feedback is a priority for us as we continue to tailor the La Playa experience to meet the expectations of our guests. I regret the confusion with delivery of the complimentary champagne we sent to your room in celebration of your anniversary. I hope you will accept our apology and enjoy the wine that we have sent to your home – (cheers!). I understand the recent restoration of our historic hotel will be interpreted uniquely by each guest based on personal preferences, and regret that we did not match your expectations. I hope you will allow us another opportunity to serve you again should your travels return you to Carmel-by-the-Sea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We had a small 3 day executive retreat at La Playa this month. It was a great experience! The staff's customer service and attention to detail was outstanding. They even have a free shuttle to take you to and from downtown Carmel and nearby restaurants. Parking and internet are free, which are nice perks, and their complimentary champagne brunch was great each morning. The hotel is a short walk from downtown Carmel and an even shorter walk to the ocean. I can't wait to go back and would recommend La Playa to friends and family without hesitation!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cre8gale
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Just returned from my first visit to this property. When I read about it's recent renovations, I was expecting something exceptional. It wasn't. The staff was friendly and helpful, but for the money the rooms were nothing special. I would describe them as "pleasant". The brunch was adequate, but again, nothing extraordinary. We had a 4th floor room with ocean views, but there was no elevator - a fact that should be noted for anyone having difficulty with steps. There was some construction noise outside, which woke us up a bit sooner than we would have preferred. There are no other amenities, so for the price point, I would check other alternatives next time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Our family visited Carmel and were lucky enough to find rooms at the La Playa hotel!!! We had just stayed at the Four Seasons in San Francisco so I was a little worried having never been there before because of the three star rating. Immediately upon our arrival the staff was warm and welcoming and most helpful. The lobby and adjacent sitting room were beautiful and the loggia with its view of the Pacific was magnificent. Our rooms were perfect! I truly loved every moment that I had in heavenly Carmel and would recommend the La Playa wholeheartedly. The staff was helpful and gracious down to the very last detail. The view from our window was incredible and we were lucky enough to witness a wedding taking place in the garden below our room. Honestly, an unbelievable experience!!!

Room Tip: Have dinner at Clint Eastwood's restaurant-food okay but ambience is a over the top! Try Porta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carmel
1.3 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#11 of 23 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,252 reviews
0.2 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#6 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 264 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#7 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
0.3 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#17 of 23 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 447 reviews
4.4 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Playa Carmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Playa Carmel

Address: Camino Real at 8th Ave, Carmel, CA 93921 (Formerly La Playa Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Carmel
#4 Family Hotel in Carmel
#6 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Playa Carmel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Playa Carmel is a 75-room historic luxury boutique hotel, newly restored to preserve its turn-of-the-century charm while updating it to modern-day standards. Located two blocks from the beach and village shops, art galleries and restaurants, the hotel is situated in the heart of Carmel and anchors its most prestigious residential neighborhood. The grounds encompass meticulously tended gardens, intimate patios, secluded courtyards and a tranquil terrace swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your La Playa Carmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Playa
La Playa Carmel Ca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Playa Carmel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.