We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, wonderful service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Playa Carmel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added La Playa Carmel to your Saves list
La Playa Carmel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Camino Real at 8th Ave, Carmel, CA 93921 (Formerly La Playa Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Carmel
San Francisco, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, wonderful service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We had a great weekend at La Playa recently. From the first moment the hotel staff welcomed us until we departed we were treated with excellent customer service and attention. The hotel has recently been renovated beautifully and with excellent attention to detail. Beautiful spanish/historic/estate style Lovely rugs, tiles, furniture etc. We had a nice room overlooking the pool and garden, very clean and a very comfortable bed. The breakfast is AMAZING; a beautiful spread of eggs, cereals, bread and pastries, salads, fruit, yogurt, meat and cheeses, oatmeal, champagne and good coffee. Would go back just for that! Is just a short walk to town and to the beach. Would definitely recommend!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    69
    28
    7
    5
See reviews for
44
178
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tarzana
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Loved staying at La Playa in Carmel. It is such a beautiful hotel, I did not want to leave! Can hardly wait to return. The rooms are decorated with such style and grace . The beds are so comfortable, had a great nights sleep! The brunch was delicious and I loved the view from the terrace. What a great way to start the day. The staff and front desk was so courteous and helpful.
Great location and so close to the beautiful beach and town. Great to plan wedding, anniversary or any special occasion.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise Valley, Arizona, USA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012 via mobile

This is an old converted estate with charm. Restaurant on site. Pool, no spa or exercise room or air conditioning (which you won't need anyway because of Carmel's lovely mild temps). A short walk to the beach. If you are into charm and history, this is your place. However, there is NO elevator, so book the first floor if you find stairs a challenge or if your luggage will be tough to carry up stairs. The hotel supplies a shuttle to the restaurants/shopping which are close by.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

My husband and I stayed here 13 years ago and we revisited this past week with our two small children. We paid $449 for a garden patio room with 2 queen beds. It is a beautiful location with gorgeous gardens but feels cheapened now... the extra touches all gone and replaced with cheap versions. The best part about the hotel is it's 2 blocks from the beach, but we remember it to be a 5 star service for a 3 star price - now its the other way around. There are so many places in Carmel - next time we will go elsewhere. I have NEVER written a review - but feel compelled to after our visit.

Check-in was 4pm and we arrived after a 4 hour drive with 2 little ones 30mins early to be told our room wasn't ready and we should "go to the beach" or something. The front desk staff were slow and some had a snooty attitude. Another customer was complaining at the same time his room hadn't been serviced for 2 days. We returned at 4.15pm and our room still "wasn't ready", but eventually got in by 5pm.

There is now no room service at all, the restaurant barely operates. We "discovered" the champagne brunch after our stay - no-one told us about it & for dinner was a selection of about 6 small plates. We were "told off" for our children being in the restaurant/bar area and trying to sit on the bar stools while we looked at the menu to see if we could eat there even thought there was no-one else there!

We tried one day to go in the pool - IT IS NOT HEATED - and absolutely FREEZING. My kids ran around the patio area at the back barefoot and one narrowly missed a large piece of broken glass next to one of the bench seats.

The room was boiling hot at night - but there was no air conditioning, we were told to just leave our windows open ...

We were woken at 6am by drilling on the property next to our room.

Dividing our rooms with next door were plants in black plastic pots that were starting to die - a small thing but just wasn't expected here...

We made the most of it but for the $$ spent it was a definite disappointment.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Great location. 5 minute walk to 'downtown' and beach. Recently renovated. Continental breakfast is second to none...mimosas...omelet bar...awesome. Staff was helpful getting us familiar with the area and even giving us a ride to dinner one night. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

This has always been one of my favorite places to stay in Carmel. It is now 'the' favorite by far.
The hotel is more like a country inn in Provence..small, warm and elegant. So many lovely places to sit and have a glass of wine and chat with friends or just read the newspaper or a good book.
The staff is so accommodating and, in fact, I recently checked-in and checked out the same day because my granddaughter took ill and we needed to get her home immediately. The manager made me feel like he was an old friend of the family and immediately put me at ease by telling me my family's welfare was first and not to worry...just come back. And go back, I will with that kind of old fashioned attitude and service. Indeed, the guest comes first.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

As soon as we entered Laplaya it was SOO relaxing just total decompression Everyone was so friendly and helpful. The renovation is great, elegant but not overdone, a very warm comfortable at home feeling.
With a perfect location one block from the beach and only a few blocks from town, nothing seemed too far for whatever you wanted to do. Having not been to Carmel before the Concierge was great in assisting us with planning our stay and meals. The kids enjoyed the pool as well as the oversize chess set in the garden setting. Just tremendous time and would not think twice about staying anywhere but La Playa upon our next visit to the area.

Room Tip: We had two rooms and there were both excellent you will not go wrong no matter where you are placed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Playa Carmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Playa Carmel

Address: Camino Real at 8th Ave, Carmel, CA 93921 (Formerly La Playa Hotel)
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Carmel
#3 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Playa Carmel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Playa Carmel is a 75-room historic luxury boutique hotel, newly restored to preserve its turn-of-the-century charm while updating it to modern-day standards. Located two blocks from the beach and village shops, art galleries and restaurants, the hotel is situated in the heart of Carmel and anchors its most prestigious residential neighborhood. The grounds encompass meticulously tended gardens, intimate patios, secluded courtyards and a tranquil terrace swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TravelClick, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your La Playa Carmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Playa
La Playa Carmel Ca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Playa Carmel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;