We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location with old style graciousness!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Playa Carmel

Save Saved
You added La Playa Carmel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Travelocity
and 9 more sites!
La Playa Carmel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Camino Real at 8th Ave, Carmel, CA 93921 (Formerly La Playa Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 21 hotels in Carmel
Aptos, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great location with old style graciousness!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

A wonderful place to step back in time. Beautiful grounds, amazing Holiday brunches and overall pleasant experience out of the bustle of downtown Carmel.

Room Tip: Make sure you direct an inside room and let them know you don't want a room that is too small. S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    133
    51
    19
    7
    3
See reviews for
30
123
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

When we booked this hotel we thought it would be in the main lodge but it was actually off the property in a little group of villas(hotel's term for small separate rooms). It was an older room that was on the second floor with a drop ceiling. I felt very small in there. The room did not have anything updated. The bed was hard and the bathroom was cold with a bath/shower combination. The floor was carpet and I think it had gum stuck to it. For the amount of money spent on this I would expect better service. The only good thing about this hotel was that it was 2 blocks away from the beach and 3 blocks off Ocean drive.

Room Tip: Stay @ main hotel because the swimming pool is there and so is the room service. We ordered ours an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

We arrived in Carmel without booking ahead, found this hotel, looked around and took a room for the night. Check in was hassle free, the staff were very friendly and helpful and we found it very easy to just settle in and chillax. Parking is free.

Rooms are a good size and very comfortable, bed is excellent, the space felt luxurious, bathroom could do with an update but it's perfectly acceptable.

Indoors the common areas are homely and immediately put you at ease.

The pool is lovely, it gets the sun and a great little spot to while away the afternoon.

It's a short walk up the town (2 blocks over and up) and the beach is the other direction, no street lighting on the way back was a surprise for me.

Carmel's not a cheap place to stay however I wholeheartedly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Just check in
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

The grounds were absolutely beautiful. The staff very friendly and the rooms were like stepping back into the 50's. The room was clean and organized but no A/C. We enjoyed and have no negatives. I understand it has been closed for renovation just a few days after we stayed there in late October.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

stayed for 5 nights for a wedding. loved the location, easy to walk to the beach and to town. nicely decorated, room was very comfortable. felt it was a bit expensive but hey its Carmel, what do you expect? breakfast was excellent. i was also happy with the customer service at the hotel.

Room Tip: Garden rooms are the best values, the ocean view rooms are identical with a smaller bathroom and a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

Quaint Hotel which seems to be going through a period of change. There were rumours of the Hotrl being sold and this may have affected some of the staff. We had great service in the bar and our waiter at table for dinner was great. Some of the other staff seemed a bit grumpy.

the Rooms are well furnished, but not well sound insulated - not helped by the fact that we had an elepant who thought he could sing in the room above us.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the gardens had nice views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Playa Carmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Playa Carmel

Also Known As:
La Playa Hotel
Hotel La Playa
La Playa Carmel Ca
Address: Camino Real at 8th Ave, Carmel, CA 93921 (Formerly La Playa Hotel)
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Carmel
#3 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#5 Business Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Playa Carmel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Playa Carmel is a 75-room historic luxury boutique hotel, newly restored to preserve its turn-of-the-century charm while updating it to modern-day standards. Located two blocks from the beach and village shops, art galleries and restaurants, the hotel is situated in the heart of Carmel and anchors its most prestigious residential neighborhood. The grounds encompass meticulously tended gardens, intimate patios, secluded courtyards and a tranquil terrace swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your La Playa Carmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Playa Carmel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.