We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A charming experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Playa Carmel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added La Playa Carmel to your Saves list
La Playa Carmel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Camino Real at 8th Ave, Carmel, CA 93921 (Formerly La Playa Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A charming experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

We arrived in Carmel without booking ahead, found this hotel, looked around and took a room for the night. Check in was hassle free, the staff were very friendly and helpful and we found it very easy to just settle in and chillax. Parking is free.

Rooms are a good size and very comfortable, bed is excellent, the space felt luxurious, bathroom could do with an update but it's perfectly acceptable.

Indoors the common areas are homely and immediately put you at ease.

The pool is lovely, it gets the sun and a great little spot to while away the afternoon.

It's a short walk up the town (2 blocks over and up) and the beach is the other direction, no street lighting on the way back was a surprise for me.

Carmel's not a cheap place to stay however I wholeheartedly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Just check in
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rokan72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Kentucky
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

The grounds were absolutely beautiful. The staff very friendly and the rooms were like stepping back into the 50's. The room was clean and organized but no A/C. We enjoyed and have no negatives. I understand it has been closed for renovation just a few days after we stayed there in late October.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarryGrif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

stayed for 5 nights for a wedding. loved the location, easy to walk to the beach and to town. nicely decorated, room was very comfortable. felt it was a bit expensive but hey its Carmel, what do you expect? breakfast was excellent. i was also happy with the customer service at the hotel.

Room Tip: Garden rooms are the best values, the ocean view rooms are identical with a smaller bathroom and a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Aphishionado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
255 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

Quaint Hotel which seems to be going through a period of change. There were rumours of the Hotrl being sold and this may have affected some of the staff. We had great service in the bar and our waiter at table for dinner was great. Some of the other staff seemed a bit grumpy.

the Rooms are well furnished, but not well sound insulated - not helped by the fact that we had an elepant who thought he could sing in the room above us.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the gardens had nice views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Martin and Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carmel
0.2 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#6 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 282 reviews
1.3 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#11 of 23 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,392 reviews
4.4 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#2 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 757 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#8 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 399 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Playa Carmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Playa Carmel

Address: Camino Real at 8th Ave, Carmel, CA 93921 (Formerly La Playa Hotel)
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Carmel
#2 Family Hotel in Carmel
#2 Business Hotel in Carmel
#6 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — La Playa Carmel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Playa Carmel is a 75-room historic luxury boutique hotel, newly restored to preserve its turn-of-the-century charm while updating it to modern-day standards. Located two blocks from the beach and village shops, art galleries and restaurants, the hotel is situated in the heart of Carmel and anchors its most prestigious residential neighborhood. The grounds encompass meticulously tended gardens, intimate patios, secluded courtyards and a tranquil terrace swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Otel, Odigeo, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Venere, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your La Playa Carmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Playa
La Playa Carmel Ca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing