We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hospitality!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hofsas House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hofsas House Hotel to your Saves list
Hofsas House Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Between 3rd and 4th Avenues on San Carlos Street, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
illinois
Level Contributor
90 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Great hospitality!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

The welcome as we walked in was warm and most friendly...and it got better. Attractive rooms in Carmel for budget chain pricing. The staff was always quick to help with dining/to-do recommendations and were right on. Will return if ever back in the area!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    119
    49
    23
    11
See reviews for
67
126
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
126 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2010

We stayed for one night at Hofsas House and it was great. The hotel is just at the edge of the main area so I think that’s why the price is cheaper then other places in the area. The walk is very nice and not a problem at all. We arrived just before dinner time and the reception lady was very nice and showed us maps of where to go, etc. We noticed that there wasn’t that much parking behind the hotel so felt lucky to have found a spot. We were pleased to find a heated pool so we took a quick dip in it before dinner. We’re glad we brought our own towels because we couldn’t find the pool towels. Our room was on the top floor at the end of the floor so it was quite quiet. The room was very nice and clean. Bathroom was large with a bathtub and was equipped with toiletries. For breakfast you had to pick it up in the lobby. They had coffee, juice, pastries, yogurt, and fruit. So we filled up our tray and brought it back to our room to eat. It was too cold to sit outside though it would’ve been nice because there were tables just outside our room on the large deck. We also took some extra pastries and fruit for snacks for our road trip.

Carmel is a gorgeous and unique town and we didn’t know what to expect when we arrived. We’ve never been to a place quite like it. I didn’t realize how nice the shopping and restaurant area is and the beach is beautiful. It was nice to walk down there, a bit of a trek though, and watch the crashing waves. One of the highlights of our short stay was dinner at the Dametra Café. It is very busy so you definitely need to make a reservation in advance. The owner was the most charismatic and accommodating restaurateurs I have ever encountered. He asked for our names and apologized and thanked us profusely that we had to wait, and offered us free wine as we waited. As the evening grew late he even gave people that were waiting a really long time free appetizer samples. He introduced us to his staff and remembered our names. As well whenever guests left there were hugs and kisses all around. We both had the Istanbul kebabs which were excellent and had a bottle of chianti which was very inexpensive. During dinner he performed on the guitar while one of his kitchen staff sang. And after dinner he gave us complimentary baklava. A great experience.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
89 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

I understand that when you book last minute you can get the leftovers, but OMG when I walked in this room, it looked like the wallpaper was put up by Mrs Cleaver from Leave it to Beaver. The "dutch" door was so flimsy, the walls not sound proof at all, I could hear EVERYONE walking on the walkway on the second floor and the carpet smelled.
The area is fine (3 blocks to Ocean Ave). The staff was very nice. The pool was small, but who goes to Carmel to swim.
My point is there are many other places to stay in this same price range. I will not stay here again and it is my fault for booking something so last minute, but just know the rooms are old and dated.
Also parking is a big problem.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

We arrived with our 8 and 10 year old after 2 days in Curry Village campsite in Yosemite so the sight of 2 huge rooms each with their own dressing rooms and bathrooms was very welcome! The furnishings aren't modern but the rooms are comfortable and having the kitchen area was a great advantage. The pool is small but safe and as it is so close to the rooms it was safe to let the kids swim on their own. The staff were really helpful and polite and the complimentary breakfast, had either in your room or in the lobby of the hotel, was a nice touch. It's in a great location on San Carlos street just a couple of blocks from the main shops/restaurants but it is quite a long way from the beach.
I would recommend this hotel if you are traveling with children as the rooms are fantastic.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

I stayed here with my granddaughter for 4 days; originally we were staying 2 days but we enjoyed it so much we kept extending it. We were very pleased with our comfortable king-size bed, kitchenette and view of the water and sunsets. We found the pool warm enough for a pleasant swim and enjoyed the dry sauna. I stayed here when I was a teenager with my parents who always loved it; it is still owned by the same family who take pride in keeping it up and providing service. The continental breakfast was delicious including the coffee. I am so glad we chose to book this place as I enjoyed it and my walk down "Memory Lane"!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Louis
Level Contributor
123 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

Carmel has changed. It used to be fun to take a couple days in Carmel and enjoy the air and scenery. Now, 17 mile drive is mostly roped off with "Private Property " signs and lots of sewage smells at the few places where stopping is now permitted. Although Ocean Avenue has always been crowded, it's now a non-stop stream of people down to the beach with nowhere to park. Like San Francisco, if you're a first time visitor it will seem interesting or charming. After several visits the charm wears off and you realize that you are only one of many wandering around with no agenda or purpose other than spending money. Maybe it's different in off, off season, but in August it's crowds of people looking for ways to spend money in mostly average restaurants or in many, many, many art galleries.

The Hofsas House Hotel was not my first choice for this visit, but the Normandy Inn was booked. The marketing for Hofsas House is sprinkled with words like "european",
"Germany", "Dutch Doors", "Bavarian Inspired" etc. with the hope that the european panache will overcome the tired physical plant and lack of updating. We were assigned to a room that had completely mismatched furniture, and a cheap rolltop desk in lieu of a dresser - see pictures. This isn't charming, it's cheap and goofy. The bed in our room was impossible to sleep on for more than three hours. When I asked the next day for a different room, they moved me immediately - apparently understanding that I was assigned to the "bad furniture" room with the rock-hard bed.

The staff was gracious, but smiles do not turn a bad experience into a good experience. This property obviously is sufferering and in a downward spiral. There are a lot of quirky, quaint properties in Carmel and that can be fun if the quirk is matched with quality - but that is not the case with the Hofsas House. Maybe they're representative of a general trend in Carmel, still selling the illusion long after the reality has set in.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2010

Great property - perfect location. Owner, Carrie Theis, is the perfect host!

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hofsas House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hofsas House Hotel

Address: Between 3rd and 4th Avenues on San Carlos Street, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hofsas House Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casual European elegance with the warmth of family hospitality, a boutique family-owned inn with 37 uniquely decorated, spacious rooms, many with ocean views in the village of Carmel-by-the-Sea. Other amenities include: continental breakfast, heated swimming pool, dry saunas, off-street parking, free wireless Internet access & some rooms dog friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hofsas House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hofsas Hotel Carmel
Hofsas House Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hofsas House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.