We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint prettiness” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hofsas House Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hofsas House Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hofsas House Hotel
Between 3rd and 4th Avenues on San Carlos Street, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 21 hotels in Carmel
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Quaint prettiness”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

We arrived with our 8 and 10 year old after 2 days in Curry Village campsite in Yosemite so the sight of 2 huge rooms each with their own dressing rooms and bathrooms was very welcome! The furnishings aren't modern but the rooms are comfortable and having the kitchen area was a great advantage. The pool is small but safe and as it is so close to the rooms it was safe to let the kids swim on their own. The staff were really helpful and polite and the complimentary breakfast, had either in your room or in the lobby of the hotel, was a nice touch. It's in a great location on San Carlos street just a couple of blocks from the main shops/restaurants but it is quite a long way from the beach.
I would recommend this hotel if you are traveling with children as the rooms are fantastic.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    94
    42
    20
    10
See reviews for
55
96
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

I stayed here with my granddaughter for 4 days; originally we were staying 2 days but we enjoyed it so much we kept extending it. We were very pleased with our comfortable king-size bed, kitchenette and view of the water and sunsets. We found the pool warm enough for a pleasant swim and enjoyed the dry sauna. I stayed here when I was a teenager with my parents who always loved it; it is still owned by the same family who take pride in keeping it up and providing service. The continental breakfast was delicious including the coffee. I am so glad we chose to book this place as I enjoyed it and my walk down "Memory Lane"!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Louis
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

Carmel has changed. It used to be fun to take a couple days in Carmel and enjoy the air and scenery. Now, 17 mile drive is mostly roped off with "Private Property " signs and lots of sewage smells at the few places where stopping is now permitted. Although Ocean Avenue has always been crowded, it's now a non-stop stream of people down to the beach with nowhere to park. Like San Francisco, if you're a first time visitor it will seem interesting or charming. After several visits the charm wears off and you realize that you are only one of many wandering around with no agenda or purpose other than spending money. Maybe it's different in off, off season, but in August it's crowds of people looking for ways to spend money in mostly average restaurants or in many, many, many art galleries.

The Hofsas House Hotel was not my first choice for this visit, but the Normandy Inn was booked. The marketing for Hofsas House is sprinkled with words like "european",
"Germany", "Dutch Doors", "Bavarian Inspired" etc. with the hope that the european panache will overcome the tired physical plant and lack of updating. We were assigned to a room that had completely mismatched furniture, and a cheap rolltop desk in lieu of a dresser - see pictures. This isn't charming, it's cheap and goofy. The bed in our room was impossible to sleep on for more than three hours. When I asked the next day for a different room, they moved me immediately - apparently understanding that I was assigned to the "bad furniture" room with the rock-hard bed.

The staff was gracious, but smiles do not turn a bad experience into a good experience. This property obviously is sufferering and in a downward spiral. There are a lot of quirky, quaint properties in Carmel and that can be fun if the quirk is matched with quality - but that is not the case with the Hofsas House. Maybe they're representative of a general trend in Carmel, still selling the illusion long after the reality has set in.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2010

Great property - perfect location. Owner, Carrie Theis, is the perfect host!

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2010

Great view, wonderful charm and lovely staff. Forget about the big commercial hotels who do not care about their guests- at Hofsas House you will have a wonderful experience. The price is not too high and the quality of the rooms are terrific- most with a nice view.

Its like a little slice of Europe in California. I would highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2010

We really had a great experience when we stayed at the Hofsas house, the accommodations were excellant. This is a great hotel for the whole family including the dog.

Stayed March 2009
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

We stayed at teh Hofsas House during the US OPEN at Pebble Beach, so needless to say it was the only hotel we could get - or afford. But we were satisfied. Room decor and bedding was older but fine for 2 nights. Large bathroom and we had all the needed amenities. The pool is heated, but we didn't have time for it. The hotel is on the outskirts of carmel, but i was 20weeks pregnant and the couple of extra blocks to walk was not a problem for me. It was still within walking distance to everything and it was very quiet. We could see a bit of the ocean from our door. Parking is a bit tricky so I recommend a small car. The staff was super nice and very helpful. The free tour trolley also stops right in front of the hotel. If you're looking to stay in the lap of luxury - this is not the place. But if you just need the basics - it's perfect!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hofsas House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hofsas House Hotel

Address: Between 3rd and 4th Avenues on San Carlos Street, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 21 hotels in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casual European elegance with the warmth of family hospitality, a boutique family-owned inn with 37 uniquely decorated, spacious rooms, many with ocean views in the village of Carmel-by-the-Sea. Other amenities include: continental breakfast, heated swimming pool, dry saunas, off-street parking, free wireless Internet access & some rooms dog friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Hofsas House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hofsas Hotel Carmel
Hofsas House Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hofsas House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.