We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, thin walls, budget-oriented, wonderful desk staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hofsas House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hofsas House Hotel to your Saves list
Hofsas House Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Between 3rd and 4th Avenues on San Carlos Street, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
San Francisco
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great location, thin walls, budget-oriented, wonderful desk staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2009

The website makes this hotel appear to be a little more upscale than it is -- a mistake that leads to disappointment. This is a budget hotel with poor quality carpeting and very thin walls that transmit all noise. However, efforts to make this a comfortable hotel are evident everywhere (reasonably firm beds, decent quality sitting chairs in the rooms, reasonably updated showers), as are some of the results of cutting corners (shower door that doesn't open properly, depressing kitchenette area). The location is excellent ... the heart of downtown Carmel, and good restaurants, are 2-3 blocks away. The beach is a long, but pleasant, walk. The office staff are very friendly and helpful. The continental "breakfast" featured very tasty pastries and a VERY limited selection of fruit ... some cereal or hardboiled eggs would be a very welcome option. The exterior of the hotel is classic Carmel kitsch. While it is nice that they permit pets, the pet fee is disproportionately high for the property ($25/day). The free internet worked fine from my room, which was relatively close to the front office.

Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    130
    50
    24
    11
See reviews for
74
135
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2009

My husband and I drove the Central Coast and wanted to stay in Carmel-by-the-Sea over Monterey. We were correct, Carmel is an adorable and romantic little village and Monterey is somewhat of a concrete jungle by the ocean (unless you're staying at Pebble Beach).

Anyways, we read the reviews and I was a little skeptical but booked nonetheless. The walls were in fact very thin. I could hear our neighbor coughing. However, we didn't spend much time in the hotel. We spent most of our time hiking and walking around town. We used the hotel for sleeping and showering. And it served its purpose very comfortably. Our bed was fine and I'm a lover of expensive mattresses and fine linens with high thread counts. It wasn't the Westin, but it was still nice. The pillows were nice down and varied in firmness. The sheets were soft and the mattress was pretty good.

The room was quaint - yes, it hasn't been updated in a long time, but it's cute in a retro sort of way. We had a refrigerator to keep our champagne cool and the strawberries that we picked up on the side of the road from the actual farm. I highly recommend the strawberries if you drive by a stand south of Big Sur.

They have fresh-baked pastries delivered from a bakery in the morning. The staff was SUPER friendly and gave excellent restaurant recommendations.

Personally, I'd rather spend the money on activities than hotels. If you share this mantra and are a heavy sleeper, then book here.

Also, unlike some of the more "high end" hotels we stayed at during our week long trip, they did not nickel and dime us. Parking was free. We could use the refrigerator (no sensors). Wireless internet was free. Coffee and bakery pastries were free. Etc.

If you are the type of person that always manages to find a reason to complain, rather than actually enjoying your vacation, then this is not the hotel for you.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2009

On our recent trip up to northern California we decided to add an extra night in the quiet city of Carmel. We did not have a reservation at our usual favorite because we had not planned to stop there on this trip so we disappointed to find it booked. We knew finding a pet friendly place would not be difficult in this town so we were happy to find a vacentcy at the Hosas House Hotel. Let me tell you, this is Now our favorite place. Not only did we get a lovely room with a ocean view but it was also a pet lovers dream. The room was street level and large enough for him not to feel closed in. The room came with cont. breakfast that is more then generous and the staff is very knowledgable about the town. It is family owned and the people seen very happy to work there it is passed on to the guests. As a pet lover and ex-hotel hospitality trainer my hat is off to the owners and staff of this establishment. Hope to see them again soon.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sacramento
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2009

We loved our stay at the Hofsas House. The staff was friendly and helpful and the room was spotless and cheerful. We loved that it was walking distance to the shops and the ocean. We stay there atleast once a year.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2009

We only decided to take a short weekend trip to Carmel. Since we were only staying Saturday night, we didn't expect we would get a whole lot of choices. Hofsas House was available and was very reasonable priced. So, we booked.

We were pleasantly surprised and delighted how centrally located Hofsas House and yet it was in a very quiet part of town. When we checked in, we were told by Carrie that we were upgraded to a suite. Don't expect too much. It's not a suite as you would expect at a traditional hotel. However, I was awed by the view and added amenities in our "suite".

Overall, my companion and I had a great experience, especially waking up to the beautiful sun and view of the ocean outside our window.

Yes, indeed, it's a motel, inn, lodge, bed and breakfast, etc. It's basically not a hotel. But in Carmel-by-the-Sea, it's pretty awesome without paying an arm and a leg.

I would definitely recommend it if you are not looking for anything fancy.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2009

This visit was our second visit to Hofsas House. We returned because of the affordability, the proximity to the delights of Carmel, and the gracious hospitality of the staff. We enjoyed the views as well, and took a short walk to eat at The Forge (which we found quite affordable with very good food).

Carrie and the entire staff work very hard to make their guest's stay a pleasant experience...we appreciate them for ensuring our stay was pleasantly memorable.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2009

We arrived in Carmel without any reservations and the Hofsas House was the first hotel we came to. They offered us a king room for $99 or a larger room with fireplace and view of the ocean for $130 which we accepted.

Although we were there in July it was quite chilly at night so we did actually use the fire. The room was ok but the bathroom could do with being updated.

There is no breakfast room so you have to go to reception to collect breakfast and take it to your room which was ok as there was a large table in the room. Breakfast consisted of pastries, fruit, juice and coffee. Basic but ok although it would be nice to have an alternative to the high fat/high calorie pastries e.g. bread or bagels.

For the price we paid, it was good value. Not sure how it compares to other hotels in Carmel.

Carmel is amazing but the restaurants are very expensive. We had a good value meal in Brophy's sports bar, just across the road from the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
1.5 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#11 of 23 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,289 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
0.5 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#20 of 23 in Carmel
3.5 of 5 stars 332 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#17 of 23 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 466 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#7 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hofsas House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hofsas House Hotel

Address: Between 3rd and 4th Avenues on San Carlos Street, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hofsas House Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casual European elegance with the warmth of family hospitality, a boutique family-owned inn with 37 uniquely decorated, spacious rooms, many with ocean views in the village of Carmel-by-the-Sea. Other amenities include: continental breakfast, heated swimming pool, dry saunas, off-street parking, free wireless Internet access & some rooms dog friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hofsas House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hofsas Hotel Carmel
Hofsas House Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hofsas House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.